Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

14-11-2011, 23:10   #1
pudzey101

Tool Set Help?

Well Lads iv lost/broken most of my tools
Which of these 2 would ye reccomend from argos for doing the odd jobs on the car? eg servicing etc
http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/p...3ETOOL+SET.htm

&

14-11-2011, 23:16   #2
Nissan doctor

Quote:
Originally Posted by pudzey101 View Post
Well Lads iv lost/broken most of my tools
Which of these 2 would ye reccomend from argos for doing the odd jobs on the car? eg servicing etc

&

If I were you I'd pay out the extra for one of the sets from Halfords at least. They are decent long lasting tools for the home DIYer.

IMO a full set like the above argos thing for only €24? You might as well use the knives and forks from your kitchen.
14-11-2011, 23:20   #3
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

Halfords do a decent socket set for 120

Those yokes you linked are junk
14-11-2011, 23:23   #4
Please Kill Me

I have to agree with the 2 lads here. An Argos tool set for twenty quid isn't gonna be worth a sh!te. Go to Halfords and get a proper tool set. OK so it's going to cost you the guts of a hundred quid of not more, but you'll have it for years!!
14-11-2011, 23:29   #5
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

The beauty of a bigger set is all the extensions, variety of socket sizes, hex key sockets, torx heads, big and small ratchets, having pairs of a particular size.
14-11-2011, 23:29   #6
Skullsri

Dont go for the argos one halfords would be the best option on a budget and no hsssle if a ratchet starts sliping etc thay will replace it without any hastle...
15-11-2011, 16:17   #7
Chimaera

Those Argos ones are no good. Spend the money on something decent.

Something like this would be money far better spent: http://www.drapertools.com/b2c/b2cit...pp_skmno=02365

Plus this set for all the torx, xzn and hex fasteners: http://www.drapertools.com/b2c/b2cit...pp_skmno=21932
15-11-2011, 17:25   #8
Tea drinker

Some diy or old hardware shops have some good tools.
I have a few different sets, but the ones I paid a few bob for served me well. You don't need to spend mad money either.
I did buy some bad ones before, the sockets or adaptors break under pressure.
16-11-2011, 00:33   #9
Guy:Incognito

I want this http://www.superpowertools.co.uk/pro.../?promoid=6027
16-11-2011, 00:36   #10
Nissan doctor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy:Incognito View Post

Nah, you want this..

http://www.teng.co.uk/tcmm1001n-teng...it_1324_pd.asp
16-11-2011, 00:38   #11
Guy:Incognito

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nissan doctor View Post
Should maybe have qualified it by sayign my possible budget in the coming months combined with my wishlist will allow me toget this........

If I'm just letting myself loose for anything I think we could be in to 6 figures

http://www.teng.co.uk/tcmm1001p-teng...k_56802_pd.asp

That seems to be the same eng set only in black and you can personalise it, for £300 cheaper.
Was looking at those sets earlier
16-11-2011, 00:49   #12
cormie

I posted a similar thread recently but got caught in the sphere of not being able to find the right kit so haven't done anything about it since.

I'm more looking for an assembly/disassembly set myself, for the likes of furniture, doors frames, pianos etc.

Looking for a high quality set, so I'm guessing stanley and the likes as they seem to be the highest quality?

My thread was here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...php?p=74499538
16-11-2011, 15:15   #13
Mar4ix

I have halfords set, done number cars, changed engines, gearboxes etc. they grand, if i not mistaken, 120 quid for set. not bad quality vs price.
Thanks from:
16-11-2011, 18:58   #14
colm_mcm
cars cars cars...

This one I presume

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/st...egoryId_212410

Have the same one and it's taken dogs abuse
16-11-2011, 20:48   #15
okane1

I got this one from halfords,

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/st...egoryId_212410

but only paid half that price. Halfords often have 1/2 price on their tools kits, nearly every 2months.
Find the set excellent, from servicing cars, stripping motorbike, etc. Also has a life time guarantee for piece of mind.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion