Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Forum Closed  

30-10-2011, 19:13   #1
Galwaaygirl

CAREER HELP! I'm an unemployed social care worker!

Hi all,

I just wanted to ask if there is anyone on boards.ie who is currently working in social care setting in Toronto? I am looking for some help getting an interview.

I have a Masters degree and 6 years experience and have had only two interviews since I arrived three months ago. I am trying really hard to network, am applying for all positions that I am qualified for etc but nothing is happening for me.

Some Canadian people have suggested that I am not being "aggressive" enough. While I can appreciate that job searching here is very different to what we are used to, I find it difficult to pick up the phone and call to ask how my application is going, especially considering almost every posting (I use charityvillage.com) specifically says no phone calls please.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Advertisement
30-10-2011, 19:17   #2
Tonto86

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galwaaygirl View Post
Hi all,

I just wanted to ask if there is anyone on boards.ie who is currently working in social care setting in Toronto? I am looking for some help getting into a locum position.

I have a Masters degree and 6 years experience and have had only two interviews since I arrived three months ago. I am trying really hard to network, am applying for positions that I am both over and under qualified for etc but nothing is happening for me.

Some Canadian people have suggested that I am not being "aggressive" enough. While I can appreciate that job searching here is very different to what we are used to, I find it difficult to pick up the phone and call to ask how my application is going, especially considering almost every posting (I use charityvillage.com) specifically says no phone calls please.