Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

10-10-2011, 20:15   #1
Lovelyguy

3D Games Grafton Street closed down??

Hi all - Sorry if this has been covered already, but I was passing there today about 10:00am and it had its shutters down?

Anyone shed some light? I hope not, though it was/is horrifically overpriced.
10-10-2011, 20:19   #2
o1s1n

Mod: Sega
There's no way that place could stay open where it was. I'd be more suprised if it hadn't closed down to be honest.
10-10-2011, 20:22   #3
Mr Vengeance

I wouldn't be surprised to be honest - he didn't really have anything to differentiate himself from the competition.

The one time I was in I noted that all his games were "gutted". Buying new games that have been opened really irks a lot of gamers as they can end up scrated in the drawer (see this month's games tm magazine' American columnist for example). If he had of sold factory sealed games that might have helped him do something to attract in gamers for example.

The name of the shop was also rather unimaginative too. There didn't seem to be much effort put into the shop at all. I really wasn't impressed but if he is closed its sad for the man in question. However, I get the impression the business wasn't thought out too well. Perhaps the shop was only set up to trade on a short term basis?
10-10-2011, 20:22   #4
Retr0gamer

It's a shame but a place like that just can't compete. Gamestop, HMV and Game are big enough that when they want to clear stock they lower the price to silly prices and the publisher takes the hit. I very much doubt that a publisher would do the same for a small independent. They were never going to match on price because of this.
10-10-2011, 20:26   #5
o1s1n

Mod: Sega
I'm pretty sure that was an American franchise and not an independant store. It's probably the only reason it was able to stay open so long.
Thanks from:
10-10-2011, 20:31   #6
Pyongyang
Closed Account

I'm surprised RAGE is still open. Then I discovered these lads were the brains of the business.

(4) thanks from:
10-10-2011, 21:03   #7
Lovelyguy

Haha - is that "DA" Rage of Fade Street? Even more of a rip off!!
10-10-2011, 21:09   #8
johnny_ultimate
Production Model EVA-02

I still don't get this Da Rage is a rip-off business. Sure, you might pay a euro or two (basically the shipping costs) more than your average ebay auction, but you have various added benefits. You can inspect the package, find a random impulse buy, enjoy the fine art of browsing...

It's a small shop, run by a couple of guys trying to do something difference. I'm cool with that.

3D Games, though, is crazy expensive bar the occasional (very occasional) bargain. Good selection of slightly obscure titles, but that bit too high. I did hear that the franchise owners were pumping a lot into it as a flagship Irish store, but I don't get why given that it's a vastly overpriced store in a city full of much cheaper alternatives (one less than twenty seconds walk away). Good intentions, perhaps suitable for a quieter area.
10-10-2011, 21:13   #9
Lovelyguy

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny_ultimate View Post
I still don't get this Da Rage is a rip-off business. Sure, you might pay a euro or two (basically the shipping costs) more than your average ebay auction, but you have various added benefits. You can inspect the package, find a random impulse buy, enjoy the fine art of browsing...
Fair point ,and I wish them well but to me, Links Awakening for the Snes with no map and box very damaged for €50 is a disgrace.
Thanks from:
10-10-2011, 21:15   #10
Pyongyang
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny_ultimate View Post
It's a small shop, run by a couple of guys trying to do something difference. I'm cool with that.
As am I. Fair play to them for taking a chance with a niche business and running with it. But even still... when collecting anything be it video games of old copies of Newsweek, it's difficult to pay retail prices.

A small markup is grand. A markup based on no knowledge of what your selling that would bail Ireland out of recession though is bordering ridiculous. I guess this is what may have happened with 3D Games (if these rumours of closure reveal themselves as truth). RAGE would do well to take notice...
Thanks from:
10-10-2011, 21:16   #11
johnny_ultimate
Production Model EVA-02

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovelyguy View Post
Fair point ,and I wish them well but to me, Links Awakening for the Snes with no map and box very damaged for €50 is a disgrace.
I have seen the odd overpriced item, but they tend to be fair. I'd say the overpriced ones are an exception rather than the rule. The only significantly expensive ones I've personally seen - Death and Return of Superman, Conkers, Mega Man - are ones that are actually worth the price they're charging.
Thanks from:
10-10-2011, 21:24   #12
sugarman

Quote:
Originally Posted by o1s1n View Post
I'm pretty sure that was an American franchise and not an independant store. It's probably the only reason it was able to stay open so long.
Tis yeh, www.3dgamescorp.com

For such a big company, & there first store of outside the states, i'd have expected competitive pricing. €20 for bleedin Tombraider 1 etc... mental stuff.

Tho on new games, they did hav some cheaper upon release.
Thanks from:
10-10-2011, 22:00   #13
paperwork

I hold 3Dgames personally responcible for the fact that I don't currently own Starfox64 3D.
My boyfriend went in to get me a 3DS game for my birthday, all the guy behind the counter did was go on a mad rant about what a **** console it is, and how there are no, and will be no good games for it...
Thanks from:
10-10-2011, 22:17   #14
Pyongyang
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by paperwork View Post
all the guy behind the counter did was go on a mad rant about what a **** console it is, and how there are no, and will be no good games for it...
I dunno, the guy might have a valid point.
10-10-2011, 22:35   #15
Retr0gamer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyongyang View Post
I dunno, the guy might have a valid point.
Devil Survivor Overclock.... not currently available in europe though

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion