Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

12-01-2012, 11:01   #61
tayto lover

The poster has an agenda here. He must be mad it wasn't actually a Garda at all.
Thanks from:
12-01-2012, 12:57   #62
Dermot Illogical

Quote:
Originally Posted by SerialComplaint View Post
So here's another Garda (off-duty I reckon) demonstrating his poor driving skills around a cyclist on camera.

How do you know he's a garda?
Thanks from:
12-01-2012, 16:11   #63
cocoshovel
Closed Account

Its that kind of attitude from cyclists I hate. "Wait till you see yourself on youtube!! ~ rambles off license plate number". Deal with it, as both a cyclist and a driver cars do dangerous crap to me the whole time.
I usually just think "F*cking gob****e" and move along and forget about it.
That youtube user seems to be a bit obsessed with 40 something videos of the same thing. I just hope he isnt trying to give them a stern talking over in the rest of them.
(3) thanks from:
12-01-2012, 16:42   #64
monument

“Reasonable people adapt themselves to the world. Unreasonable people attempt to adapt the world to themselves. All progress, therefore, depends on unreasonable people.”
(2) thanks from:
12-01-2012, 19:30   #65
SerialComplaint

Thanks for the feedback folks (well, for most of it anyway). I see what you're saying about the colour of the shirt. Maybe it was a bit dark for a Garda. But why would a Dublin Bus driver flash his uniform at me? The only person I can think of who might have a reason to flash their uniform would be a Garda.

I've changed the vid title on Youtube to reflect this lack of certainty.
Thanks from:
12-01-2012, 20:30   #66
source

Send a message via Skype™ to source
Quote:
Thanks for the feedback folks (well, for most of it anyway). I see what you're saying about the colour of the shirt. Maybe it was a bit dark for a Garda. But why would a Dublin Bus driver flash his uniform at me? The only person I can think of who might have a reason to flash their uniform would be a Garda.

As I said on youtube, it'd be better if you called it "motorist cuts off cyclist". Anything else is just speculation and conjecture.
Thanks from:
12-01-2012, 20:59   #67
tayto lover

Quote:

You just need to get your facts right before you post allegations about other people's professions. That uniform is more like a Security Guards. Also there are good and bad people in every profession, some having good days and some bad.
Thanks from:
12-01-2012, 21:42   #68
goldie fish

Looks like road rage on the part of the cyclist. What was the point in putting himself in danger, between traffic at a busy junction to "have a go" at the motorist?
Its recorded, yhey have the number, go to the gardai and make a complaint.
Also.. be aware of your surroundings at all times. Presume the other vehicle has not seen you and act accordingly.

No point being "in the right" if you are dead.
(5) thanks from:
12-01-2012, 22:03   #69
monument

Quote:
Originally Posted by goldie fish View Post
Looks like road rage on the part of the cyclist. What was the point in putting himself in danger, between traffic at a busy junction to "have a go" at the motorist?
Its recorded, yhey have the number, go to the gardai and make a complaint.
Also.. be aware of your surroundings at all times. Presume the other vehicle has not seen you and act accordingly.

No point being "in the right" if you are dead.
What part of the actions of the cyclist looks like the aggressive or angry behaviour you get with road rage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tayto lover View Post
You just need to get your facts right before you post allegations about other people's professions. That uniform is more like a Security Guards. Also there are good and bad people in every profession, some having good days and some bad.
You're 100% sure it's a security guard?

And others 100% sure it's a Dublin Bus driver?

It seems like there may be more than one person wrong here.
12-01-2012, 22:50   #70
source

Send a message via Skype™ to source
Quote:
Originally Posted by monument View Post

Yeah but the point is we're all 100% sure it's not a Garda uniform.
12-01-2012, 22:59   #71
goldie fish

Quote:
What part of the actions of the cyclist looks like the aggressive or angry behaviour you get with road rage?
If anyone came up to me when im in the car in traffic hammering on the window and shouting, I would consider that road rage. It is unacceptable, and unnecessary. If they cut you up, the legal route is via the gardai, you are not the enforcer of the road traffic act.
Thanks from:
12-01-2012, 23:01   #72
monument

Quote:
Originally Posted by source View Post
Yeah but the point is we're all 100% sure it's not a Garda uniform.
Yes, I agree with your last point on speculation and conjecture, and that the renaming of the video could be better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by goldie fish View Post
If anyone came up to me when im in the car in traffic hammering on the window and shouting, I would consider that road rage. It is unacceptable, and unnecessary. If they cut you up, the legal route is via the gardai, you are not the enforcer of the road traffic act.
I don't think he is shouting, he clearly did not hammer on the window, and he's trying to highlight to the person that they did something wrong, that's not enforcing the road traffic act.

Last edited by monument; 12-01-2012 at 23:05.
12-01-2012, 23:09   #73
goldie fish

Quote:

I don't think he is shouting, he clearly did not hammer on the window, and he's trying to highlight to the person that they did something wrong, that's not enforcing the road traffic act.
Whats the point? Do you go up to bank robbers saying "Hey, do you know you are robbing a bank?"
12-01-2012, 23:12   #74
tayto lover

Quote:

Its too blue for a garda uniform but I know security men with that colour of shirt. He also looks too old for a garda.
Thanks from:
12-01-2012, 23:22   #75
dublinstevie

whoever filmed that is a total tosspot by the way,a fanny
Thanks from:
Thread Closed