Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

24-08-2011, 20:45   #61
unitedrover

And in a week or two there'll be no mention of mark's connection with the bishops...
24-08-2011, 20:47   #62
unitedrover

Caoimhe certainly looked a hottie in that yellow dress tonight
24-08-2011, 20:48   #63
123balltv

Whats wrong with fair city they build us up
and for what I know they hav'nt got much money like Corrie/Eastenders etc but for come on nothing happened Gary waved a
gun around
24-08-2011, 20:59   #64
Kerrydude1981

Fair City was comedy gold tonight was so bad you had to laugh at it
(3) thanks from:
24-08-2011, 21:09   #65
JonathanAnon

Quote:
Originally Posted by 123balltv View Post
but for come on nothing happened Gary waved a
gun around
The chap looked like he was waving round a hairdryer..
Thanks from:
24-08-2011, 21:14   #66
unitedrover

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanAnon View Post
The chap looked like he was waving round a hairdryer..
It barely looked like a gun.

Reminded me of the way denzo acts when hes flustered
24-08-2011, 21:28   #67
misschoo

I had read in the paper today that Barry was supposed to get shot! Have to say they really built it up with everyone being there, Damien ringing Dolores to see if Mark was there & rushing to the bar, etc - bit sh*te in the end
24-08-2011, 23:41   #68
jos28

My friend's son is in a band called Le Galaxie. Have a look at this link
http://stranded.ie/2011/08/19/irish-...for-fair-city/
Fame at last !
24-08-2011, 23:49   #69
Laois_Man

Quote:
Originally Posted by 123balltv View Post
Whats wrong with fair city they build us up
and for what I know they hav'nt got much money like Corrie/Eastenders etc but for come on nothing happened Gary waved a
gun around
Writing some decent dialogue and giving some decent direction doesn't cost anything extra.

Barry putting the gun to his heart was just feckin embarrassingly stupid!
25-08-2011, 00:18   #70
nice_very

Sash was looking well in the station tonight.. lucky Finn got to "lob the gob" on her.

was a bit unreal though, the scene with the gun should have been more frenetic, with more camera movement to emphasise the panic.. I thought Denzo did ok in his panicky role as an about-to-be-found-out acompliss to murder
25-08-2011, 03:02   #71
Chinafoot
Closed Account

The following tweet from DarraghMc (he of Come Dine With Me Ireland fame) sums up, for me, the problem with tonight's episode:

Quote:
This psycho guy with the pony tail would make a much more convincing game workshop staff member than a Dublin career criminal #faircity
He was BRUTAL! So, so bad. When he came out with the gun above his head I actually laughed out loud.
(2) thanks from:
25-08-2011, 03:59   #72
SuperInfinity

Meh, I knew you guys would be saying this but I thought it was decent, especially for Fair City. I thought the guy with the pony tail was okay.... he didn't have much to do or rate him on, why not give him a chance...

The only obscenely stupid thing about it was Barry going in front of the gun and talking to him like he was a school child. That's a start for Fair City, having just one obscenely stupid thing in a scene like this.

Sash's part was really unrealistic as well, she should have been a lot more frentic, but she is a sexy bitch so we'll let that go. I know we were supposed to believe Sash was so experienced with seeing guns etc., but wow... just a bit too ridiculous for me.

Imagine if you were a very young person growing up thinking Fair City is a reflection of the world...

Last edited by SuperInfinity; 25-08-2011 at 04:03.
25-08-2011, 08:12   #73
deelite

Sash and Finn as a couple now I like that idea a lot.

Like the Gary character although brandishing the gun about was silly - if only he made the gun sign with his fingers - would have been much more menacing and realistic.

Where's Keith gone he'd better hurry back - I was giving Decco the "glad eye" last night......
Thanks from:
25-08-2011, 08:21   #74
Long Room Hubba

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperInfinity View Post
Imagine if you were a very young person growing up thinking Fair City is a reflection of the world...
What are you talking about? Fair City is exactly like real life. I can prove it too, after I leave the house to have breakfast with my family in a chip shop, start an affair with my best friend's wife, pick up my long-lost adopted son from the airport, have lunch with my wife in a pub two doors from my house, rescue my long-lost adopted son from teenage gangsters, start an affair with my best friend's mother, accidentally kill my accountant with a stapler, have a late snack in a tapas bar full of builders, start an affair with one of the teenage gangsters, bury my accountant in a nearby park, stop off to buy a bottle of wine in a shop with two hundred bottles of shampoo and no bread, overhear my wife having an affair with my long-lost adopted son, and go to bed in a room that didn't exist two months ago.

God, the days just melt into each other, don't they?
25-08-2011, 08:25   #75
Long Room Hubba

Quote:
Originally Posted by deelite View Post
Like the Gary character although brandishing the gun about was silly - if only he made the gun sign with his fingers - would have been much more menacing and realistic
"Pull my finger, Halpin. I said PULL MY FINGER!"
"Don't do it, Mark, it's a trick!"

Then Barry steps in, pulls his finger, and inhales deeply. Taking one for the community.

Seriously, I enjoyed last night's episode. I thought it was unusually fast and tense. They did fluff the big climax, unfortunately. It was great to get everyone in one place, and I like the idea of Barry committing suicide by skanger. He is vain enough to want to kill himself in a way that makes him look like a hero. But we should have seen the lad pull the trigger. I had to rewind to make sure I heard the soft click of the gun.

Great point about the gangster too. He was a good actor, I thought, but he really did seem too gentle and likeable. Game shop assistant is spot on.
Thread Closed