Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

22-06-2011, 00:44   #106
Latchy

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevejr View Post
Excellent point. Maybe she'll be head-hunted by the Catholic Church.

Her world-view seems to right on par with that of a certain element within that Organisation.
She does come across as somebody cold and of a certain mindset , with who the idea of having even a little humility is beneath them and it begs the question , how did she ever get the senior position she held ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amacachi View Post
To be honest she comes across as the ultimate beaurocrat who sees nothing outside the beaurocracy as relevant.
And just like employess af the catholic church , hides behind that same beaurocracy as the ultimate 'get out of responsibility ' clause '.

Last edited by Latchy; 22-06-2011 at 00:55.
Thanks from:
22-06-2011, 01:26   #107
stevejr

Quote:
Originally Posted by Latchy View Post
She does come across as somebody cold and of a certain mindset , with who the idea of having even a little humility is beneath them and it begs the question , how did she ever get the senior position she held.
An idealist without morals will always go far. Nothing wrong with that...well deserved.

Sadly this woman's ideals were directed at self preservation rather than child prtection.

Hopefully this not the ethos of all those within that profession.
Thanks from:
22-06-2011, 01:32   #108
Overheal

Send a message via Skype™ to Overheal
Whats really sad here is she would have gone to the hospital right away if she wasnt violating her probation.

Which makes it even sadder that she put herself above her child. Really, really despicable.
22-06-2011, 01:41   #109
stevejr

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overheal View Post
Whats really sad here is she would have gone to the hospital right away if she wasnt violating her probation.

Which makes it even sadder that she put herself above her child. Really, really despicable.

Hi Overheal, you're a US Citizen right.

Could you shed some light on this woman's situation. You talk about her violating her probation for example, a concept that I'm not really familiar with. How would that have impacted on her particular situation in real terms?

Could shed any light on the social situation that may have had an impact on this tragedy?
22-06-2011, 02:57   #110
Duggy747

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevejr View Post
Could you shed some light on this woman's situation. You talk about her violating her probation for example, a concept that I'm not really familiar with. How would that have impacted on her particular situation in real terms?
She violates her probation she gets jail.

She put a few months behind bars over her child's life, no words can really describe what this excuse of a human being is.
(2) thanks from:
22-06-2011, 04:05   #111
Overheal

Quote:
You talk about her violating her probation for example, a concept that I'm not really familiar with.
Because your legal system is weak. The closest equivalent is a Suspended Sentence, which is an utter joke.
Thanks from:
22-06-2011, 04:08   #112
amacachi
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overheal View Post
Because your legal system is weak. The closest equivalent is a Suspended Sentence, which is an utter joke.
True, though I like having a murder rate 1/4 of yours.
Thanks from:
22-06-2011, 05:17   #113
Overheal

To each their own!
22-06-2011, 08:27   #114
Ellis Dee

What I find strange about this is that the woman has not yet come to trial? Why, then, are so many details of the alleged offence being revealed in public? I know that is possible under the US system, but it couldn't happen here in Ireland or in the UK. Why can't people wait for the trial and see what evidence, if any, of psychological problems, possibly coupled with substance abuse and/or abuse suffered earlier by the alleged perpetrator herself, emerges?

Every poster here who has called for the perpetrator to be raped or violently assaulted in prison is IMHO displaying psychopathic urges and should seek professional help asap. Rape is a violent crime, second only to murder in its reprehensiveness, and can never be condoned or advocated under any circumstances, no matter who the victim is and may have done. Anyone who calls for another human being to be raped becomes himself a vicarious accomplice to a grave crime.

Rather than calling for people to be raped and beaten in prisons, let us be happy that Ireland, as a more or less civilised country, has signed up to this convention. What goes round comes round, and any of us may one day need its protection. Besides, how many of you would actually be prepared to rape or torture someone, even someone who has done terrible things? And what does it make you if the answer is 'yes'?

http://www.hrweb.org/legal/cat.html

Article 3 of the European Convention on Human Rights (to which Ireland has voluntarily acceded) provides that "no one shall be subjected to torture or to inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment."

http://www.coe.int/lportal/web/coe-p...ion-of-torture

I wonder does anyone really want to go back to the days when savagery was the order of the day? And did children have better lives then?
22-06-2011, 09:35   #115
mackg

This was an atrocious crime and deserves serious punishment, life in prision. I have never been to prision and have no intention of paying a visit but I imagine spending your entire life in there is a pretty horrible punishment, worthy of the worst crimes. The removal of all free choice in your life is punishment enough without the need for people to be raped or violently assaulted. Not everyone is going to jail for life and what way do we expect them to come out if we are relying on them to be raping/beating people you feel deserve it in prision. If you were in jail would you take it upon yourself to "punish" these types of criminals?

Quote:
Not fit to be a parent? I think that might be the biggest understatement ever. I mean you hear stories and think people deserve to have their kids taken off them, I hear this and think I hope she lives to be 102 and suffers for every second of it.
This is my original post which in the context of this topic looks like I want her to be raped and beaten...come on now lads

Quote:
I wonder how many of those who express such self-rightness indignation at this crime and wallow in pleasure at the thought of the punishment they would like to inflict on that wretch would howl almost as loudly at the thought of more funding being provided for preventive work to alleviate social deprivation and the many evil ways in which its symptoms manifests themselves.
Obviously everything that can be done should be done to prevent these types of tradgedies and I doubt many people would disagree. Obviously the ideal scenario would be that the child was never harmed...but whats done is done...let the sentence fit the crime.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by mackg; 22-06-2011 at 09:57.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion