Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

20-08-2012, 00:20   #121
shakin

was supposed to hear back after interview mid-august...nothing as of yet
22-08-2012, 05:30   #122
NinjaK

I interested in doing an apprenticeship, is it too late now and how do you contact them?
22-08-2012, 09:25   #123
Nearly40

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaK View Post
I interested in doing an apprenticeship, is it too late now and how do you contact them?
The closing date for this year was in April, but as far as I know they run this every year, so keep an eye on their website early next year for the next run.
Thanks from:
22-08-2012, 17:27   #124
shakin

got the rejection email today
23-08-2012, 21:23   #125
Moxy111

Quote:
Originally Posted by shakin View Post
got the rejection email today
Hi...do ye no wen people wil no if they get it??
08-09-2012, 08:02   #126
deano1990

hey im after getting my interview for limerick next thursday.anyone else here anything back
11-09-2012, 20:11   #127
Andy cbr250

Hi, I had the medical exam for the apprentice mechanic in Dublin 2 weeks ago, but haven't heard anything else since, has anybody else done the medical and heard anything? Thanks
12-09-2012, 16:47   #128
deano1990

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy cbr250 View Post
Hi, I had the medical exam for the apprentice mechanic in Dublin 2 weeks ago, but haven't heard anything else since, has anybody else done the medical and heard anything? Thanks

fairplay lad.just wondering on what the questions ar like,i have mine tmrw now in limerick and it would b highly appreciated if you could give us the heads up?

from what i read over other threads that after the medical it should b from 2 to 3 weeks you sould here back,because there suppose to b starting the first week of novembr.

besta luck with it anyway
12-09-2012, 20:43   #129
Andy cbr250

Quote:
Originally Posted by deano1990 View Post
fairplay lad.just wondering on what the questions ar like,i have mine tmrw now in limerick and it would b highly appreciated if you could give us the heads up?

from what i read over other threads that after the medical it should b from 2 to 3 weeks you sould here back,because there suppose to b starting the first week of novembr.

besta luck with it anyway
Thanks hopefully they'll get back to me soon, the waiting is killing me hah!

Well when i did the interview back in May they asked me questions like:

''What subjects did you do in school and what was your favorite/ least favorite?'' just tell them what you preferred, i said engineering

''What have you been doing since you left school?'' just tell them about any previous jobs or travelling abroad etc handy enough

''What are your hobbies?'' tell them what your interested in, sports, etc ... but i threw in relevant stuff to the trade such as driving, working on my own car, reading mechanic related books such as haynes manuals etc

''why do you want to do Heavy Vehicle mechanics and not light vehicle mechanics ie cars?'' ... i answered because i have an interest in driving heavy vehicles and how they work and would like to make a career working on buses in particular as with the price of fuel going up there will be more of a demand for public transport so therefore there will be more buses on the road in the future as more people will not be using their cars because of the cost to run them.

''Have you any previous experience working on cars etc? make sure you have something to say that you know about because he will scrutinize what you say so dont bull**** them!! i told them about servicing my own car and bike and doing oil changes and brakes etc ..if your not sure just google something!

''Have you worked as a team with other people?'' they like to see that you can work well with a group of people so say that you were part of a team in sports or a previous job and that you communicated well with everyone

they ask about health and safety too but its common sense!!

at the end they'll ask you, if you would like to ask them any questions? ... make sure you ask something as it will show your keen and interesed! i asked about what garages you could possibly be put into, what benifits come with the job and what are the hours...

hope that helped a bit, just go into the interview confident and show your keen and have a genuine interest in getting the job!! also be there nice and early as i got called in 20mins before my actual time slot,
well best of luck, let me know how you get on!
12-09-2012, 22:46   #130
deano1990

thanks very much bud well appreciated
.will do and again thanks very much and besta luck hopefully theyl get back to ya and you get
13-09-2012, 07:50   #131
Andy cbr250

Quote:
Originally Posted by deano1990 View Post
thanks very much bud well appreciated
.will do and again thanks very much and besta luck hopefully theyl get back to ya and you get
Thanks, hope everything go's well this morning!
13-09-2012, 12:31   #132
deano1990

wel got on good very short interview .there was a lad before who was only in there for 15 mins same as myself realy.but when i came out there was no one else there witch is unusual.found out theres two positions going.they seid theyd b back to me buiy the end of sept and that there will b a further supervised aptitude test and a medical so hopefully..did you here anything back.he mentioned then there al supose to b starting inn the first week of novembr.:)so fingeres crossed
19-09-2012, 13:53   #133
tossy94

i done the medical and got word back that the job was mine. just signed a contract to say i wanted it. still have no idea where ill be based (dublin hopefully) or what wages are like. hope yous all get what yous want lads good luck.
Thanks from:
25-09-2012, 13:30   #134
Nearly40

Got called for medical in Dublin on Monday, so fingers crossed, they said that's it, I am selected as long as the medical goes ok. Good luck to everyone else waiting.
26-09-2012, 12:47   #135
Nearly40

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy cbr250 View Post
Hi Andy, did you get news from them yet? Best of luck.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion