Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

16-02-2011, 21:41   #61
quidestveritas?

Send a message via Skype™ to quidestveritas?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballalley View Post
Cant see FG taking 3 seats ..... think it will be 2FG 2FF and 1 Lab
You have got to be the only person I have seen predicting TWO Fianna Fáil seats here! Or anywhere! (OK - maybe Laois-Offaly, but only maybe)
16-02-2011, 23:17   #62
Rebel1977

I think it's gas looking at different opinion polls and what they predict. On here boards.ie have david mccarthy in 4th for 1st preferences, yet on the examiner poll he is rock bottom. I still give Ml Mcgrath a chance to get the last seat.
16-02-2011, 23:22   #63
GymJim

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel1977 View Post
I think it's gas looking at different opinion polls and what they predict. On here boards.ie have david mccarthy in 4th for 1st preferences, yet on the examiner poll he is rock bottom. I still give Ml Mcgrath a chance to get the last seat.
Think that's a lot to do with the differing age demographics between the examiners phone poll (older people - more likely voters) and boards poll (younger less likely voters)
17-02-2011, 01:13   #64
Goldstein

Quote:
Originally Posted by GymJim View Post
To be fair, I cannot see how Michael McGrath can be blamed for the flaws in the local planning process.
Michael McGrath:
  • Passage West town council: 1999 - 2007
  • Cork County Council for Carrigaline area: 2004 - 2007
  • TD for CSC: 2007 - 2011 (Previous post went to his brother, who's also his secretary now)

Then there was the promise of a light rail system for Carrigaline...which he subsequently shelved as "impossible"...after the election of course.

He was also pushing the N28 Ringaskiddy-Cork Dual Carriageway through the final phases of approval but has since run for the hills on that one too. There have been several tragic fatalities along that relatively short stretch of extremely congested road since 2007 (At least 3 in the last year alone) and doubtless we haven't seen the last one.

To say nothing of his questionable involvement in the rezoning of ~€100m of lands owned by Castlelands construction in Bishopstown.
http://politico.ie/index.php?option=...ent&Itemid=890

Broken promises, cronyism, spin and a big smile. The worst kind of politician imo.

We will get exactly what we deserve if we put that guy back in.
(2) thanks from:
17-02-2011, 10:05   #65
GymJim

You have clearly quoted me out of context there. My point was Michael McGrath cannot be solely blamed for all the procedural issues with the planning process itself.

I am not talking about any specific development and his involvement therein but the fact that I don't see how he's any more culpable for questionable planning decisions than any other TD (or local councillor for that matter).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldstein View Post
Broken promises, cronyism, spin and a big smile. The worst kind of politician imo.
We will get exactly what we deserve if we put that guy back in.
Again, my point is would these sentiments not apply to all the other TDs?! I am not defending Michael McGrath per se just trying to highlight that this is what our political system has become and you will find someone with examples just like yours there for each TD in the constituency.

You seem to be implying that because the other candidates have had no involvement at all in your area they would be more deserving of a vote as you've no specific issues with them.
17-02-2011, 10:33   #66
Goldstein

Quote:
You have clearly quoted me out of context there. My point was Michael McGrath cannot be solely blamed for all the procedural issues with the planning process itself.

I am not talking about any specific development and his involvement therein
That's fair enough, I thought you were pointing out that because he's a TD, he should be more nationally focused. Based on that, I was indicating in turn that he had many years before in various other posts so shouldn't get off the hook so easily.

Quote:
Again, my point is would these sentiments not apply to all the other TDs?!

You seem to be implying that because the other candidates have had no involvement at all in your area they would be more deserving of a vote as you've no specific issues with them.
I take your point but the key difference in this instance is that the others didn't make direct local promises they couldn't keep just to get elected before subsequently washing their hands of the issues. I know they all do it to some extent but these were just so blatant that I felt he deserves to be held accountable in the election.

The mere fact that he's FF should be reason enough for people not to even think about re-electing him and coupled with the local failures I don't see how anyone could in good conscience vote for him.

One thing's for sure, it'll be an interesting contest for the last seat or two.
17-02-2011, 11:40   #67
GymJim

Quote:
The mere fact that he's FF should be reason enough for people not to even think about re-electing him and coupled with the local failures I don't see how anyone could in good conscience vote for him.

Agreed. This is the reason I myself could not vote for him. Probably should not be forgotten that he's been in the Dept of Finance aswell the last few years.

Unfortunately, I do think the fact that Mr McGrath has been somewhat more active (whether that be good or bad) than others from a local perspective may see him sneak in due to what I see as his general popularity among local issue voters...perhaps those you would term ill-informed as I don't doubt the examples of empty promises by Mr McGrath which you provided relating to your area.
17-02-2011, 12:07   #68
JP Liz V1

Just heard on 96fm Martin isnt attending their debate
17-02-2011, 12:13   #69
foresthill

Mcgraths Legacy, what a Joke!

mcgraths Legacy, what a Joke!
17-02-2011, 13:40   #70
mirm

Quote:
Originally Posted by JP Liz V1 View Post
Just heard on 96fm Martin isnt attending their debate
When is their debate scheduled for and who will be in attendance??
17-02-2011, 13:54   #71
JP Liz V1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mirm View Post
When is their debate scheduled for and who will be in attendance??
All Cork South Central candidates except Martin I think not sure when it is one
Thanks from:
17-02-2011, 14:01   #72
mirm

Quote:
Originally Posted by JP Liz V1 View Post
All Cork South Central candidates except Martin I think not sure when it is one
Well Martin is definitely shooting himself in the foot, he could easily pick up floating votes from listeners since this is his back yard.
17-02-2011, 14:23   #73
mikeym

http://www.independent.ie/national-n...s-2480910.html

Jerry Buttimer must be flying by concord to get to the dail, €50,000 is disgraceful and this man should not be elected!
17-02-2011, 22:44   #74
Buceph

Quote:
That's fair enough, I thought you were pointing out that because he's a TD, he should be more nationally focused. Based on that, I was indicating in turn that he had many years before in various other posts so shouldn't get off the hook so easily.

I take your point but the key difference in this instance is that the others didn't make direct local promises they couldn't keep just to get elected before subsequently washing their hands of the issues. I know they all do it to some extent but these were just so blatant that I felt he deserves to be held accountable in the election.

On the one hand you're giving out that he is too local, then you're giving out for not being local enough?

And if you don't think he's done anything but sit on the backbenches reading newspapers I don't know what to say to you. He's been on numerous TV shows, radio shows and all over the papers. He headed the public accounts committee and sent committee investigations and findings to the guards and the DPP.

For all the people voting for Martin, if you're going to vote FF McGrath looks like a much better proposition. Less blood on his hands and far more outspoken about the banking situation than most FFers.

All you seem to care about is an unfeasible dual carriageway for a couple of car ferries, on a road that can't even support a petrol station.
18-02-2011, 00:34   #75
Dob74

Is it me or do the numbers add up to two left wing seats.

O'Leary to get the last seat.

Still cant figure out how Coveney is the front runner. Never comes across as that sharp.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion