RTE Player/BBC iPlayer/4OD et al - Page 6 - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
26-01-2011, 18:22   #76
flyer88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 53
Thanks man
flyer88 is offline  
Advertisement
27-01-2011, 02:05   #77
funkyouup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 223
4oD on ps3 in Ireland

Is this possible, have had a look on the net and it says it is in several places but doesnt go into any detail on how to set it up.
funkyouup is offline  
27-01-2011, 02:13   #78
donmeister
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,061
Just create a new user, then create a new PSN account then select UK instead of Ireland for country. Once thats all done sign into your new account and 4oD should be there were RTE player was.
donmeister is offline  
27-01-2011, 02:16   #79
ollie1
Registered User
 
ollie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,701
Or you could just go to this website on the PS3 browser its the 4Od playstation page http://ps3.channel4.com/
ollie1 is offline  
(3) thanks from:
27-01-2011, 02:24   #80
funkyouup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 223
Good stuff, thanks guys.
funkyouup is offline  
Advertisement
27-01-2011, 13:16   #81
Deedsie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lár na Tíre
Posts: 3,499
Send a message via Skype™ to Deedsie
Ignore me I figured it out.

Last edited by Deedsie; 27-01-2011 at 13:26. Reason: No need for original post
Deedsie is offline  
27-01-2011, 16:09   #82
Leiva
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,641
Is there any way of getting all available channels shown on the PS3 XMB ?
Leiva is offline  
27-01-2011, 17:27   #83
flyer88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mixednuts View Post
Is there any way of getting all available channels shown on the PS3 XMB ?
No you have to create different accounts for different countries
flyer88 is offline  
30-01-2011, 03:39   #84
damianmcr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 276
I have a UK PS3 but you can just type in the address for 4OD and UTV player in the broswer.

I got RTE player working by going to http://www.rte.ie/playerxl
damianmcr is offline  
Advertisement
04-02-2011, 19:52   #85
Deedsie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lár na Tíre
Posts: 3,499
Send a message via Skype™ to Deedsie
Will the TG4 Beo player ever be available like the RTÉ player?
Deedsie is offline  
04-02-2011, 19:53   #86
Minstrel27
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7,686
I hope it is. TG4 uses a superb quality stream
Minstrel27 is offline  
07-02-2011, 20:57   #87
Klair88
Registered User
 
Klair88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Terra
Posts: 691
just set up a UK account and BBC, ITV, 4od all appeared after i reset my system, but 4od is the only one that works. The BBC have copped it and realised because an error show's up saying it cannot broadcast outside of the UK, it would seem they know the score. ITV player has an error message appear saying that the programme cannot be found, maybe they've copped on too. 4od works fine with good quality streaming although me personally i dislike it because of the lack of programmes that interest me.
Klair88 is offline  
12-02-2011, 13:02   #88
hdowney
Registered User
 
hdowney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wicklow
Posts: 10,988
no BBC or ITV players :(

Sucks. I ain't too bothered about 4oD to b honest, don't watch THAT much on Channel4, and I think most of what I watch wouldn't be as high a priority for 4oD as other stuff, so I ain't to bothered bout creating a UK account if 4oD is the only one that works.

I really want BBC and ITV players. I watch a lot of stuff on them, and when I miss stuff - like my darn Sky box switched over and the dvd of an ITV programme I was recording the other nite got an hour of a MTV channel instead! - I wanna be able to watch them on the players. I think it would be really good if we can get them.

As to the RTE one, the quality is crap, and they don't show much of anything. The one thing I missed once and went looking for on the player they were not showing, and I really thought they would have. It was an RTE created programme, and very popular etc but nope no dice. So I don't bother with the RTE player.

The BBC player is the same on the Wii. You can't get it at all if you are set to Irish. If you change your settings to UK you can get it, you can see what programmes are offered and all, but when you try to watch one it says not available in your area or some such. So no dice their either

No fair
hdowney is offline  
15-02-2011, 20:12   #89
rabbitinlights
Registered User
 
rabbitinlights's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,665
Everytime I try to load a video on the 4OD app (UK account) it just goes back to the main screen, anyone else having this issue or know a way around it?

S.
rabbitinlights is offline  
26-02-2011, 10:43   #90
chris139ryan
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 313
love 4od on the ps3
chris139ryan is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet