Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
23-11-2010, 10:39   #1
stannyboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Watching RTE Programmes Abroad

Does anyone know how I can send my sister in Australia episodes of TV programmes that are broadcast on RTE or TV3? The RTE player on the website doesn't work abroad. Is there any way to download them or burn them to DVD from either the website or from the UPC box? Cheers
stannyboy is offline  
Advertisement
23-11-2010, 12:46   #2
garrycann78
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 145
she can watch the rte player abroad if she uses an irish proxy (irish ip address)
garrycann78 is offline  
23-11-2010, 12:52   #3
r3nu4l
Administrator
 
r3nu4l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In a world of technological devices
Posts: 15,074
Send a message via MSN to r3nu4l
RTÉ player DOES work abroad but rights restrictions means that we can only see certain programmes (Late Late Show, Saturday Night Show, News, Nationwide etc).

As for finding an Irish proxy that actually works, good luck Proxies are slow at the best of times but an Irish proxy that works is rare!!
r3nu4l is offline  
23-11-2010, 13:00   #4
stannyboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks for that, I appreciate it. I take it there's no way that I can get them on DVD myself and send them over to her then?
stannyboy is offline  
23-11-2010, 13:03   #5
r3nu4l
Administrator
 
r3nu4l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In a world of technological devices
Posts: 15,074
Send a message via MSN to r3nu4l
That would be facilitating piracy, ( I know, I know!) and we can't allow that here.

There's quite a few shows I'd like to see myself but can't because the player isn't open to everyone.
r3nu4l is offline  
Advertisement
23-11-2010, 13:03   #6
maggy_thatcher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by stannyboy View Post
Thanks for that, I appreciate it. I take it there's no way that I can get them on DVD myself and send them over to her then?
You could get a regular DVD recorder and record them that way (the same way that the old VCR's used to work). I know Sky has a "Copy" function that is explicitly designed for that (you select the programs you want to copy to DVD; hit record on the player and set it off). It's not ideal, but will work.

I'm not sure of the legality of distributing programmes you record from TV though - I think it's only supposed to be for your own personal use.
maggy_thatcher is offline  
23-11-2010, 23:06   #7
shinobi
Registered User
 
shinobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kildare
Posts: 427
Send a message via MSN to shinobi
Possible alternative would be the Slingbox. Its really to allow you remote access to your TV channels at home from abroad by sending the channel over the internet. I don't have one & have only heard them mentioned here.
shinobi is offline  
24-11-2010, 17:03   #8
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,403
you need a minimum of 512k upload. Eats cap too.
Any decent PC with USB DTT stick can do the same thing, maybe better.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
24-11-2010, 17:07   #9
r3nu4l
Administrator
 
r3nu4l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In a world of technological devices
Posts: 15,074
Send a message via MSN to r3nu4l
Quote:
Originally Posted by watty View Post
you need a minimum of 512k upload. Eats cap too.
Any decent PC with USB DTT stick can do the same thing, maybe better.
Do you mean that a USB DTT stick can act as a slingbox Also, I'm right in saying that a USB DTT wouldn't allow you to watch RTÉ abroad...aren't I?*



*No sarcasm intended, just that I'm no expert whereas you definitely are!
r3nu4l is offline  
Advertisement
02-12-2010, 19:04   #10
pkmember
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Watch TV Abroad

Quote:
Originally Posted by stannyboy View Post
Does anyone know how I can send my sister in Australia episodes of TV programmes that are broadcast on RTE or TV3? The RTE player on the website doesn't work abroad. Is there any way to download them or burn them to DVD from either the website or from the UPC box? Cheers
Watch TV Abroad
Hi - your sister simply needs to set up a private proxy connection to an Irish server. She get get a free 'step by step' guide at this site Watch TV Abroad

Thanks
Paul
pkmember is offline  
04-12-2010, 10:35   #11
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3nu4l View Post
Do you mean that a USB DTT stick can act as a slingbox Also, I'm right in saying that a USB DTT wouldn't allow you to watch RTÉ abroad...aren't I?*



*No sarcasm intended, just that I'm no expert whereas you definitely are!
You setup VLC or MS WME, or Unreal Server or what ever to re-encode the BDA tuner source to desired UPLOAD bandwidth of your PC. It uses the DTT stick as tuner/Digital source via BDA driver.

Then at remote location on Internet you connect to your private password protected personal stream.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
07-12-2010, 10:18   #12
philahern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 148
I have used Orb to watch my live tv and recorded tv while travelling. It is a novice friendly setup I think and It even works quite well on the iphone over 3g.

Just install orb on the pc with the dtt tuner, then log on to orb.com to access your media in a browser. The iphone app is not free but everything else is.
philahern is offline  
Thanks from:
07-12-2010, 10:40   #13
enfant terrible
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by watty View Post
you need a minimumof 512k upload. Eats cap too.
Any decent PC with USB DTT stick can do the same thing, maybe better.
you don't i have 384k upload speed and the picture is great.
enfant terrible is offline  
08-12-2010, 13:36   #14
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,403
Your tolerance is more than mine. I've tested and found 512K the minimum I would endure. But as low as 64K (at lower frame rate, say 12.5 fps) and lower resolution is possible.

I've streamed live RTE over dialup 28K to London. Pretty dire I'm told but appreciated.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
08-12-2010, 13:37   #15
r3nu4l
Administrator
 
r3nu4l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In a world of technological devices
Posts: 15,074
Send a message via MSN to r3nu4l
Most of these setups require having access in Ireland already, what about for those who live outside the country and want to watch RTÉ, isn't a proxy the only way?
r3nu4l is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet