Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

18-09-2010, 15:31   #31
anonymous_joe

Send a message via MSN to anonymous_joe
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfceiling View Post
At 6ft and 14-15 stone he was hardly a fcuking monster - jamie roberts certainly fits that bill!!

Again i have to say i don't/didn't rate him - all style and no substance.
I suppose other posters will argue their case but that is my point of view.

He scored no tries in the 6 nations and apart from a couple of big kicks and tackles you couldn't really say he was "world class"

As for the passion for playing for wales....i stand by my earlier comment.
Gareth thomas and shane williams for me epitomise the sheer desire and pride to play for their country......players for who that red jersey means more than any cap, sum of money etc.......henson didn't have that "fire" to wear that jersey no matter what.

Again posters this is just my opinion...don't slate me....it's what keps this forum alive and well!!
Thought he was a little bit bigger than that. And no 12 scores tries. D'Arcy has about 6 in 60 caps. All style and no substance is basically wheeled out because he has silly hair and likes fake tan. O'Driscoll had silly hair for a large part of his career, as do the entire Australian backline and so on. He rarely missed tackles, he kicked well, and he passed the ball cleverly and carried with strength. In terms of style over substance, can you think of him actually playing in such a way?

Either way, it's bigger than the likes of D'ARcy, Wallace, Giteau, Flood, etc.
Thanks from:
18-09-2010, 16:59   #32
mfceiling

Quote:
Originally Posted by anonymous_joe View Post
Thought he was a little bit bigger than that. And no 12 scores tries. D'Arcy has about 6 in 60 caps. All style and no substance is basically wheeled out because he has silly hair and likes fake tan. O'Driscoll had silly hair for a large part of his career, as do the entire Australian backline and so on. He rarely missed tackles, he kicked well, and he passed the ball cleverly and carried with strength. In terms of style over substance, can you think of him actually playing in such a way?

Either way, it's bigger than the likes of D'ARcy, Wallace, Giteau, Flood, etc.
Flood is a bigger and heavier player, d'arcy carries more weight, and giteau is head and shoulders above any of those players (henson included).

I can't recall any matches were henson was outstanding or stamped his authority on it.

He is/was a decent tackler but he never made major yards or line breaks - most centres are either line breakers/bash merchants and very quick over 30-40 metres - henson got praise for having speed but i never saw him destroy anyone with genuine pace..........remember bowe tore him to pieces in "that" game in the grand slam year!!
19-09-2010, 14:09   #33
anonymous_joe

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfceiling View Post
Flood is a bigger and heavier player, d'arcy carries more weight, and giteau is head and shoulders above any of those players (henson included).

I can't recall any matches were henson was outstanding or stamped his authority on it.

He is/was a decent tackler but he never made major yards or line breaks - most centres are either line breakers/bash merchants and very quick over 30-40 metres - henson got praise for having speed but i never saw him destroy anyone with genuine pace..........remember bowe tore him to pieces in "that" game in the grand slam year!!
You really can't?

The guy was immense on form. He's bigger and heavier than D'Arcy, and he's more effective, stronger and more talented than flood. As for Giteau, he's been shíte all season.

Henson wasn't about genuine speed, he's a 12 ffs. He was fast enough for 12 or 15, where he usually played.

The guy's hugely unpopular, and with good reason, I don't like him either, but he was a very very good player.
20-09-2010, 14:05   #34
Noffles

Quote:
Originally Posted by anonymous_joe View Post
You really can't?

The guy was immense on form. He's bigger and heavier than D'Arcy, and he's more effective, stronger and more talented than flood. As for Giteau, he's been shíte all season.

Henson wasn't about genuine speed, he's a 12 ffs. He was fast enough for 12 or 15, where he usually played.

The guy's hugely unpopular, and with good reason, I don't like him either, but he was a very very good player.
Being welsh I "had" a lot of time for him and when he was good he was very good... Sadly as I have now seen him speak a lot more on these entertainment shows that he seems to be all over at the moment, I have come to the conclusion that he is a monumental knob... his arrogance is mind blowing and as smug as f*ck too...
Having seen him say last week that he would like to get fit and playing again and get back in the squad for the RWC I'll eat my hat (it doesn't look tasty either) if he gets in the squad..!
If he'd of stayed on the pitch and shut up we wouldn't be having this discussion... but he didn't!
Thanks from:
20-09-2010, 22:59   #35
anonymous_joe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noffles View Post
Being welsh I "had" a lot of time for him and when he was good he was very good... Sadly as I have now seen him speak a lot more on these entertainment shows that he seems to be all over at the moment, I have come to the conclusion that he is a monumental knob... his arrogance is mind blowing and as smug as f*ck too...
Having seen him say last week that he would like to get fit and playing again and get back in the squad for the RWC I'll eat my hat (it doesn't look tasty either) if he gets in the squad..!
If he'd of stayed on the pitch and shut up we wouldn't be having this discussion... but he didn't!
I don't disagree.

But the reason we still talk about him is because he was that good, and if someone could get him fixed again mentally, he'd be a world beater, and who wouldn't want one?
20-10-2010, 11:37   #36
thomond2006

Saracens have confirmed Gavin Henson is one of a number of players they are looking at to bolster their fly-half options.

So far only RFU Championship outfit London Welsh had talked seriously about signing the Wales international, who wants to move to London to be closer to his children.

However Saracens have now official expressed their interest in Henson, who has not played for the Ospreys for 19 months, after Derick Hougaard has ruptured an Achilles tendon.

Hougaard is facing six months on the sidelines, leaving Alex Goode as the only experienced No.10 at Vicarage Road.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...454902,00.html
20-10-2010, 12:12   #37
bamboozle

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomond2006 View Post
Saracens have confirmed Gavin Henson is one of a number of players they are looking at to bolster their fly-half options.

So far only RFU Championship outfit London Welsh had talked seriously about signing the Wales international, who wants to move to London to be closer to his children.

However Saracens have now official expressed their interest in Henson, who has not played for the Ospreys for 19 months, after Derick Hougaard has ruptured an Achilles tendon.

Hougaard is facing six months on the sidelines, leaving Alex Goode as the only experienced No.10 at Vicarage Road.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...454902,00.html
he'd fit in well in a team of mercenaries..assuming his dancing lessons/ego permit
20-10-2010, 16:14   #38
CIARAN_BOYLE

All well and good but he is contracted with the BBC for a while more and Saracens want to replace an injured player asap not whenever he gets kicked out of Strictly and conditioned himself for Rugby.
20-10-2010, 16:40   #39
thomond2006

In the short term they're ok at 10, Alex Goode can play there as can Wigglesworth.

Bringing in an unknown quantity like Henson is a risk.
20-10-2010, 17:47   #40
durkadurka

Quote:
Originally Posted by CIARAN_BOYLE View Post
All well and good but he is contracted with the BBC for a while more and Saracens want to replace an injured player asap not whenever he gets kicked out of Strictly and conditioned himself for Rugby.

I just can't believe we are discussing when he gets booted out of some feckin dancing show as a factor in this.

He should be ashamed of himself.
Thanks from:
20-10-2010, 20:29   #41
Junior

I was listening to ROG give an interview on The Last Word this evening and it was mentioned that Henson was down to 11 Stone ? ROG said straight off he'd need to put on about 3 stone of muscle if he want's to play, I can't see that happening over night ?
20-10-2010, 23:33   #42
Robbo
Witchfinder General

Quote:
Originally Posted by durkadurka View Post
I just can't believe we are discussing when he gets booted out of some feckin dancing show as a factor in this.

He should be ashamed of himself.
Have some heart here. According to Popbitch, this is the first year the participants on Dancing on Stars with the Ice are paid per appearance, rather than on a fixed fee. I'd imagine he needs the money for his marina fees and the like.

Regarding O'Gara saying he was down to 11 stone, that could be the result of two things (a) a rubbish researcher taking the first result from Google instant or (b) O'Gara taking the first result from Google instant. Which is kind of amusing given O'Gara's previous experience with internet scuttlebutt...
21-10-2010, 08:15   #43
Junior

It was Matt Cooper that stated his weight, not Rog.
(2) thanks from:
27-10-2010, 13:45   #44
buck65

That might be a fact but surely should not get in the way of having a cut at O Gara

anyway found this article re Saracens. Ospreys are furious with the dancing one.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2010...preys-saracens
27-10-2010, 15:54   #45
LeinsterDub

Quote:
Originally Posted by buck65 View Post
That might be a fact but surely should not get in the way of having a cut at O Gara

anyway found this article re Saracens. Ospreys are furious with the dancing one.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2010...preys-saracens
Can't see why . Would of thought they would be glad to see the back of him.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion