Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
15-01-2012, 22:04   #1516
PGL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGL View Post
When quizzing a shop attendant yesterday (as well as quizzing Krusty and everyone else here for the past week!) about garmin watches, he warned me that if I buy one off a non-Irish website, neither the website or Garmin will fix/replace the watch if anything goes wrong. I am obviously mindful that the shop attendant is a sales person hoping to convince me to buy one off him instead, so I thought the best thing would be to ask you lot if anyone has had a similar experience?

thanks a million folks
the lack of responses suggests no-one had any issues with their garmin watches, which is postive..... is that the case?
PGL is offline  
Advertisement
16-01-2012, 09:24   #1517
RayCun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9,310
I bought my Garmin from Amazon. When it stopped working (about 6 months later) I contacted Garmin support directly, and they replaced it.
RayCun is offline  
Thanks from:
16-01-2012, 12:49   #1518
PGL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayCun View Post
I bought my Garmin from Amazon. When it stopped working (about 6 months later) I contacted Garmin support directly, and they replaced it.
Thanks for that RayCun

Out of interest, was Garmin the actual seller in this case, or will they stand over their products regardless of who sells them?

cheers!
PGL is offline  
16-01-2012, 13:00   #1519
RayCun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9,310
I bought from Amazon, not directly from Garmin. I think there's a general warranty period, no matter who you buy from.
RayCun is offline  
Thanks from:
17-01-2012, 15:33   #1520
HardyEustace
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krusty_Clown View Post
Did you setup an Advanced workout in Garmin Training Centre, or set it up on the watch? You need to make sure that it is not using the HR zones (which are pretty crap in my opinion), instead using 'custom', which I assume uses your min and max HR values (never tried it, to be honest). Also, might be worth your while making sure your 'beep' is still working.

I have set-up workouts in Garmin Connect ([Workouts] tab), with Min/Max pace, and the alerts worked fine. Too fine, in fact. They were bloody annoying! The only problem with Workouts created in Garmin Connect, is that you only seem to be able to send one to your device (405) at any one time. It seems to erase/overwrite existing work-outs. But maybe that's been fixed since I last tried.
Discovered the problem. I did hit Do Workout but welllll, <deep breath>, apparently you've to hit start as well to get the workout to um, start. <blush>

<wanders off to find the pointy hat with the big D on it>
HardyEustace is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
19-01-2012, 19:30   #1521
jackyback
Registered User
 
jackyback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Swimming/Cycling/Running
Posts: 7,225
My home laptop is completly buggered and whilst i can upload my forerunner 305 files to my work laptop it is not recognising the edge 500 device. I have tried updating the drivers etc and it keeps coming up with "This is an unsupported OS version. Must be Windows XP SP3 or better"

Help please, the work laptop is Windows XP and as i mentioned recognises the 305 and file downloads.
jackyback is offline  
19-01-2012, 19:31   #1522
Krusty_Clown
Registered User
 
Krusty_Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 16,361
Send a message via AIM to Krusty_Clown
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackyback View Post
My home laptop is completly buggered and whilst i can upload my forerunner 305 files to my work laptop it is not recognising the edge 500 device. I have tried updating the drivers etc and it keeps coming up with "This is an unsupported OS version. Must be Windows XP SP3 or better"

Help please, the work laptop is Windows XP and as i mentioned recognises the 305 and file downloads.
Does it have SP3 installed?
Krusty_Clown is offline  
19-01-2012, 19:59   #1523
jackyback
Registered User
 
jackyback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Swimming/Cycling/Running
Posts: 7,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krusty_Clown View Post
Does it have SP3 installed?
It should have i would have thought as automatic updates is switched on I have an SP3 windows update running to be sure so will soon find out if thats an issue.
jackyback is offline  
19-01-2012, 21:57   #1524
Krusty_Clown
Registered User
 
Krusty_Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 16,361
Send a message via AIM to Krusty_Clown
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackyback View Post
It should have i would have thought as automatic updates is switched on I have an SP3 windows update running to be sure so will soon find out if thats an issue.
[Start] [Control Panel] [System] should tell you which SP you have installed.
Krusty_Clown is offline  
Advertisement
20-01-2012, 00:26   #1525
jackyback
Registered User
 
jackyback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Swimming/Cycling/Running
Posts: 7,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krusty_Clown View Post
[Start] [Control Panel] [System] should tell you which SP you have installed.
SP3 updated on windows, communicator plug in updated, usd drivers updated and i am still getting this message on the Garmin test page...very frustrating

"Communicator Plugin is properly installed and up to date, version 3.0.1.0.

Garmin GPS device is NOT detected. To complete test, connect device and refresh page. If a Garmin device is connected and you're still having problems, download and install the latest Garmin USB drivers."
jackyback is offline  
20-01-2012, 12:20   #1526
Krusty_Clown
Registered User
 
Krusty_Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 16,361
Send a message via AIM to Krusty_Clown
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackyback View Post
SP3 updated on windows, communicator plug in updated, usd drivers updated and i am still getting this message on the Garmin test page...very frustrating

"Communicator Plugin is properly installed and up to date, version 3.0.1.0.

Garmin GPS device is NOT detected. To complete test, connect device and refresh page. If a Garmin device is connected and you're still having problems, download and install the latest Garmin USB drivers."
Can you try a different browser? how does the 500 communicate; is it via a USB/cradle, or an ANT USB dongle? Could possibly indicate a problem with your device
Krusty_Clown is offline  
20-01-2012, 12:33   #1527
jackyback
Registered User
 
jackyback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Swimming/Cycling/Running
Posts: 7,225
Sorted KC the work laptop was not recognising/blocking device so a sticky bun and a cup of tea to the IT Manager sorted it. Thanks for your help.
jackyback is offline  
20-01-2012, 15:06   #1528
Krusty_Clown
Registered User
 
Krusty_Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 16,361
Send a message via AIM to Krusty_Clown
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackyback View Post
Sorted KC the work laptop was not recognising/blocking device so a sticky bun and a cup of tea to the IT Manager sorted it. Thanks for your help.
Lol. If only all of life's problems could be sorted with a sticky bun and a cup of tea!
Krusty_Clown is offline  
21-01-2012, 21:54   #1529
Mint Sauce
Full of minty goodness.
 
Mint Sauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North West
Posts: 18,799
Just got a 310xt.

Downloaded the web uploader, and the driver software before plugging in the USB AGENT key as advised, wouldn't pair with device after plugging in, got error messages for the USB key when trying to open it from the start menu. Emailed it off to support.

Noticed that I didn;t have the Garmin Connect Software, so downloaded this as well.

Tried all again, still the same message for the USB key, also seen an error message for the web uploader, sent this message off as well.

Waiting responces, but any suggestions what I could do in the mean time.
Mint Sauce is offline  
Thanks from:
21-01-2012, 21:59   #1530
Krusty_Clown
Registered User
 
Krusty_Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 16,361
Send a message via AIM to Krusty_Clown
Quote:
Originally Posted by irish-stew View Post
Just got a 310xt.

Downloaded the web uploader, and the driver software before plugging in the USB AGENT key as advised, wouldn't pair with device after plugging in, got error messages for the USB key when trying to open it from the start menu. Emailed it off to support.

Noticed that I didn;t have the Garmin Connect Software, so downloaded this as well.

Tried all again, still the same message for the USB key, also seen an error message for the web uploader, sent this message off as well.

Waiting responces, but any suggestions what I could do in the mean time.
Well, don't keep us in suspense! Share the error messages with us and we might be able to help. There is no Garmin Connect software by the way. Just the ANT Agent software, the USB drivers, and optionally, Garmin Training Centre.
Krusty_Clown is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet