Photoshop 7 - Error Message - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
30-07-2010, 08:05   #1
Cork Skate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cork Ireland
Posts: 870
Photoshop 7 - Error Message

Error message is attached here. I cant save a project as a jpeg. I backed up and flattened the image, deleted my preferences, tried again and still the same.

Here is all my system info.

Quote:
Operating System: Windows XP
Version: 5.1 Service Pack 2
System architecture: AMD CPU Family:15, Model:8, Stepping:2 with MMX, SSE Integer, SSE FP
Built-in memory: 2047 MB
Free memory: 769 MB
Memory available to Photoshop: 1737 MB
Memory used by Photoshop: 50 %
Image cache levels: 4
Use image cache for histograms: No
Serial number: 10451127465462515512
Application folder: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop 7.0\
Temporary file path: C:\DOCUME~1\LAPTOP~1.YOU\LOCALS~1\Temp\
Photoshop scratch has async I/O disabled
Scratch volume(s):
Startup, 101.42 GB, 36.50 GB free
Primary Plug-ins folder: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop 7.0\Plug-Ins\
Additional Plug-ins folder: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop 7.0\Plug-Ins\
Installed plug-ins:
3D Transform 7.0
ADM 2.84ps73 03.23.2002-00:12:33h
ASDStrm 1.02x7 02.02.15-01:45:06h
Accented Edges 7.0
Acrobat TouchUp Image 7.0
Angled Strokes 7.0
BMP 7.0
Bas Relief 7.0
Chalk & Charcoal 7.0
Charcoal 7.0
Chrome 7.0
Clouds 7.0
Color Halftone 7.0
Colored Pencil 7.0
CompuServe GIF 7.0
Conditional Mode Change 7.0
Contact Sheet II 7.0
Conté Crayon 7.0
Craquelure 7.0
Crosshatch 7.0
Crystallize 7.0
Cutout 7.0
Dark Strokes 7.0
De-Interlace 7.0
Detect Watermark 1.70.19
Difference Clouds 7.0
Diffuse Glow 7.0
Displace 7.0
Dry Brush 7.0
Embed Watermark 1.70.19
Export Transparent Image 7.0
Extract 7.0
Extrude 7.0
FastCore Routines 7.0
Film Grain 7.0
Filmstrip 7.0
Fit Image 7.0
Fresco 7.0
Generic EPS 7.0
Generic PDF 7.0
Glass 7.0
Glowing Edges 7.0
Grain 7.0
Graphic Pen 7.0
Halftone Pattern 7.0
Hidden 7.0
ICO (Windows Icon) NO VERSION
Ink Outlines 7.0
Lens Flare 7.0
Lighting Effects 7.0
Liquify 7.0
MMXCore Routines 7.0
Mezzotint 7.0
Mosaic Tiles 7.0
Multi-Page PDF to PSD 7.0
Multiprocessor Support 7.0
NTSC Colors 7.0
Neon Glow 7.0
Note Paper 7.0
Ocean Ripple 7.0
PCX 7.0
PDF Image 7.0
PNG 7.0
PNG Icons 1.21x7 2001.12.14-1602h.21s
Paint Daubs 7.0
Palette Knife 7.0
Patchwork 7.0
Paths to Illustrator 7.0
Pattern Maker 7.0
Photo CD 7.0
Photocopy 7.0
Picture Package 7.0
Pinch 7.0
Pixar 7.0
Plaster 7.0
Plastic Wrap 7.0
Pointillize 7.0
Polar Coordinates 7.0
Poster Edges 7.0
Radial Blur 7.0
Read Watermark 1.70.19
Resize Image 7.0
Reticulation 7.0
Ripple 7.0
Rough Pastels 7.0
Save For Web 3.0
Shear 7.0
Smart Blur 7.0
Smudge Stick 7.0
Solarize 7.0
Spatter 7.0
Spherize 7.0
Sponge 7.0
Sprayed Strokes 7.0
Stained Glass 7.0
Stamp 7.0
Sumi-e 7.0
Targa 7.0
Texturizer 7.0
Tiles 7.0
Torn Edges 7.0
Twain Acquire 7.0
Twain Select 7.0
Twirl 7.0
Underpainting 7.0
Variations 7.0
WIA Support 7.0
Water Paper 7.0
Watercolor 7.0
Wave 7.0
Web Photo Gallery 7.0
Wind 7.0
Wireless Bitmap 7.0
ZigZag 7.0
Installed TWAIN devices:
WIA-HP Pavilion Webcam
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photoshop-Error-Wont-Save-Files.JPG (9.1 KB, 22 views)

Last edited by Cork Skate; 30-07-2010 at 08:08.
Cork Skate is offline  
Advertisement
30-07-2010, 09:47   #2
mordeith
Registered User
 
mordeith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,253
Might be an issue with the sratch disks. Looks like you have everything set to C: Have you an external drive that you can assign the secondary scratch to? Also have a look here. Some people appear to have a similar issue.
mordeith is offline  
30-07-2010, 16:15   #3
Cork Skate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cork Ireland
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by mordeith View Post
Might be an issue with the scratch disks. Looks like you have everything set to C: Have you an external drive that you can assign the secondary scratch to? Also have a look here. Some people appear to have a similar issue.
I just tried to save the photoshop file to an external drive, and i opened it from there and tried to save it as a jpeg again, still the same. This is after a reinstall of the application as well.

I'll have a look at the scratch disk settings as you suggest.
Cork Skate is offline  
30-07-2010, 19:56   #4
BrokenArrows
Registered User
 
BrokenArrows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing, London.
Posts: 3,983
have a look in the windows event viewer under the application or system log and see if it gives a more descriptive error. The one in the screenshot is cut off.

to do this type "eventvwr" into the run command.
BrokenArrows is online now  
30-07-2010, 20:00   #5
Cork Skate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cork Ireland
Posts: 870
I have created a new photoshop file on the C: Drive (resolution 300) and saved. Then reopened and saved as a jpeg, no worries ... so its not the application.

I have opened up a copy of the file, which had a resolution of 320 ... dropped it to 300, tried and still the same. Dropped it to 100 and it saved as a jpeg .... so its the resolution -> file size?

Is there anything i can tweak to get around this? I would need to be able to work with 300 resolution so i still need to get a solution.

Last edited by Cork Skate; 30-07-2010 at 20:13.
Cork Skate is offline  
Advertisement
31-07-2010, 08:56   #6
softdancomputer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dublin Northside
Posts: 189
Dont remember PS7 too well, but check if its a save for web option, and try to save as jpeg from there.
softdancomputer is offline  
01-08-2010, 20:27   #7
Cork Skate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cork Ireland
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrokenArrows View Post
have a look in the windows event viewer under the application or system log and see if it gives a more descriptive error. The one in the screenshot is cut off.

to do this type "eventvwr" into the run command.
Yup, had a look and nothing in there. Just one error related to VMCService so not relevant. You're right though, the error message isn't great with the info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by softdancomputer View Post
Dont remember PS7 too well, but check if its a save for web option, and try to save as jpeg from there.
Tried that and got this message
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photoshop-Error-Wont-Save-Files-02.JPG (16.6 KB, 14 views)
Cork Skate is offline  
01-08-2010, 21:05   #8
softdancomputer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dublin Northside
Posts: 189
So you have a memory problem, i suppose the ram isn't enough for PS to run everything.
softdancomputer is offline  
02-08-2010, 20:21   #9
Cork Skate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cork Ireland
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by softdancomputer View Post
So you have a memory problem, i suppose the ram isn't enough for PS to run everything.
Yeah, its looking like it alright .... although i have seen others getting the same problem and they had loads of RAM. Its worth a shot though. I checked out this website and it says that upgrading the RAM is not advised as per manufacturers guidelines but i cant see it doing any damage and i can always swap it out again.
Cork Skate is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet