Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

26-07-2010, 14:07   #1
heepie

Processing and Arduino in Tandem.

For everyone interested in the Arduino. There is a course starting on Tuesday the 31th at 11pm and it's on for 2 hours until 1am. The course is a 5 weeks long course, on every Tuesday.

The course is free to enroll and to watch the free live event on the internet. The idea would be to host the event with everyone interested in 091labs as a group.

Here is the link of the course in question:
http://creativelive.com/courses/arduino/

Once the course has aired, there is the ability to purchase the course. Depending on how many people are interested we could even pich in for having the course in 091labs archives.
27-07-2010, 03:51   #2
Inspector Gadget

Umm, am I reading it wrong, or does it say the 31st of August as a starting date on the site linked to in the OP?
27-07-2010, 19:38   #3
heepie

No, you are readin well, it starts on Tuesday 31st.

I think it would be cool if we get a group interested in it and we could watch the live event through the projector on the big screen, so everybody can concentrate working on their laptops/computers at the same time. We can all learn together and answer each others questions if any.

I'm definetly interested in the course and I will be attending. I hope there's more interested in joining me.

Once the course is finish we could even work on a project together perhaps.
27-07-2010, 19:46   #4
Inspector Gadget

Fair enough, it's just that saying it's the 31st without specifying a month does suggest it's this month (July), which is why I'm confused. I've been looking at picking up one of those Arduino yokes, might as well now!

Gadget
16-08-2010, 17:38   #5
heepie

I would like to know how many ppl is actually interested on the course. If so, let me know in anyway (facebook, email, here, etc)

Darren was talking before about making our own Arduinos at a lower price tag than the original by getting some chips and breadboards. It would be nice perhaps on anyone interested on getting himself one and making an order all together and saving ourself on p&p, etc... Please reply by email to carles@091labs.com, so that we can make an order and get ourself our Arduino by the first or second class.

Facebook event: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=127241057322741

Last edited by heepie; 16-08-2010 at 17:48.
17-08-2010, 17:27   #6
TheCosmicFrog
Hosted Moderator

HMod: 091 Labs
Signed up
26-08-2010, 01:03   #7
kevflanagan

Processing and Arduino Meetup

from - http://091labs.com/2010/08/processin...rduino-meetup/

Thursday 26th at 4pm is the first Processing and Arduino meetup at
091Labs Galway. From Thursday 2nd September on we will be meeting
regularly once a week at 6pm in the space.
For starters we will be following the O'Reilly Online course
'Processing and Arduino in Tandem'
Creating Your Own Digital Art Tools

Starting Tuesday 31st 11pm GMT O'Reilly will stream the course which
you can follow for free online, quick go sign up
http://training.oreilly.com/arduino/, but it you cant make it to every
class we have pooled together to download the course video which we
will be following week by week 6pm every Thursday at 091Labs.

So What is Processing?
from - http://processing.org/about/
Processing is a programming language, development environment, and
online community that since 2001 has promoted software literacy within
the visual arts. Initially created to serve as a software sketchbook
and to teach fundamentals of computer programming within a visual
context, Processing quickly developed into a tool for creating
finished professional work as well.

* Just check out all the crazy fun stuff people are doing with this at
http://processing.org/exhibition/ *

What is Arduino?
from - http://arduino.cc/en/Guide/Introduction
"It's an open-source physical computing platform based on a simple
microcontroller board, and a development environment for writing
software for the board.
Arduino can be used to develop interactive objects, taking inputs from
a variety of switches or sensors, and controlling a variety of lights,
motors, and other physical outputs. Arduino projects can be
stand-alone, or they can be communicate with software running on your
computer"

Put them together and you get really great interactive art works and
installations.

But first you will need to get yourself some materials
the list can be found here http://training.oreilly.com/arduino/
We are currently looking into getting these bits and pieces together
from local suppliers details of which we will add to the wiki asap.

As the weeks go by we will also build a resource of documentation and
links on the Wiki.
http://091labs.com/wiki/?id=processi...arduino_meetup

Looking forward to seeing you there

Kevin
29-08-2010, 17:20   #8
TheCosmicFrog
Hosted Moderator

HMod: 091 Labs
Jaysus Kev, you're like a spammer!

Someone needs to review the rules of the Internet

Quick Reply