Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

26-07-2010, 14:04   #46
tommyhaas
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fitzcaraldo View Post
The only time such details are warranted is when descriptions are required to help the gardai - otherwise I see it as no more relevant than the colour of ones shoes or the clothes one is wearing - the latter two pieces of information are never printed.
Thats what Im getting at though, describing someone as having black/white skin is no different to describing them as having black/white shoes. Once the reference to skin is made only in a discriptive sence
26-07-2010, 14:06   #47
Banned Account
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by tommyhaas View Post
Thats what Im getting at though, describing someone as having black/white skin is no different to describing them as having black/white shoes. Once the reference to skin is made only in a discriptive sence
But you are working on the flawed premise that this information is not going to influence anyones perceptions - in the ideal world, this would be true, but in reality, it leads to racisim by installments. If it is inconsequential, leave it out.
26-07-2010, 14:10   #48
pablomakaveli

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schism View Post

On the flip side some of the nicest customers I've dealt with have been middle aged rich men, oddly. It's all very subjective anyway as each person's going to have their own biases.
There's a couple of middle aged rich men who come into my shop who are complete pricks.

Can we trade?
26-07-2010, 14:12   #49
bonerm
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raminahobbin View Post
Nigerians.

This is not me being racist, this is just observed through my own 3 years working in a shop where I have had to photocopy alot of documentation for people from other countries.

I can say that, without a doubt, there has only been a handful of nigerians I have served in the shop that has not been, on some level, rude. From jumping the queue, to demanding tippex/scissors/sellotape, to not saying please or thank you, to pushing their papers at me, having kids running riot in the shop, calling me a stupid girl, tutting at me, pushing other customers bags off the counter because they need to fill out a form, taking off their shoes in the shop and demanding I fetch them a chair to use while their fax goes through... and so on.
Haha, give a scissors to a Nigerian? Yeah, that's gonna happen.

In fairness to them tho it's unfair to single out Nigerians for this kind of rude behavior. For instance I've found they're pig ignorant no matter what part of Sub-Saharan Africa they come from
(3) thanks from:
26-07-2010, 14:14   #50
tommyhaas
Closed Account

Quote:
But you are working on the flawed premise that this information is not going to influence anyones perceptions - in the ideal world, this would be true, but in reality, it leads to racisim by installments. If it is inconsequential, leave it out.
If it influences someone's perception, thats down to them and their prejudice. In an earlier post, someone said that they found white South Africans to be unfriendly/ignorant. IMO, they were being discriptive, and not racist
26-07-2010, 14:18   #51
HavingCrack
Closed Account

Work in Croke Park now and again and I just find that auld fellas from the country, especially Munster for some reason, are the rudest, least pleasant people I ever have to deal with. Nasty, grumpy, I hate-dubs attitude just pisses me right off.

Oh and Louth people .
26-07-2010, 14:20   #52
Banned Account
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by tommyhaas View Post
If it influences someone's perception, thats down to them and their prejudice. In an earlier post, someone said that they found white South Africans to be unfriendly/ignorant. IMO, they were being discriptive, and not racist
I think there is a logical reason for the description above though - due to cultural differences there is a marked difference in the attitudes of many white south africans and their native counterparts - look at the aparthied issue.

the poster in question obviously felt it was necessary in this case to be able to distinguish between those with whom he had an issue and those with whom he did not. I'm not commenting on the opinion held, just on the fact that mentioning the skin colour or ethnicity of a person arrested for shoplifting has fcuk all to do with the story - it leads, eventually to prejudices.
26-07-2010, 14:22   #53
hightower1

Personally I love sterotyping. People who disagree with it are only fooling themselves. Steropyes exist as a generalisation of something. If you disagree with sterotyping you disagree with the law of averages and basic matamatics that is a PROVEN and effective methode of determening the mean worth of something. We see it every day and companies bet big amounts of money on the precess.....

*79% of women agree - Moisturiser
*9 out of ten cats - cat food
And the list goes on.

Do the same people giving out about sterotypes give out about the way these stats are composed as sterotyping?

Same thing with books and cover..."Oh you cant judge a book by its cover" ... of coarse you can! In fact thats exactly what the books cover is designed for - to be able advertise what the content and tone of the book is about at a glance! Otherwise book shelves would be full of identical looking books that no one could tell what they were at a glance.

Look at the experiement below.... an adult book and a Childrens book.... can you label them simply judging the books by their cover...... (yes, you can)

Oh... and yes white south africans seem to have a complex where they are used to treating people like crap in africa so seem to think it'll fly over here.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg n41398.jpg (26.6 KB, 250 views)
File Type: jpg Salamander%20Cover...jpg (117.2 KB, 235 views)
26-07-2010, 14:28   #54
tommyhaas
Closed Account

Quote:
I think there is a logical reason for the description above though - due to cultural differences there is a marked difference in the attitudes of many white south africans and their native counterparts - look at the aparthied issue.

the poster in question obviously felt it was necessary in this case to be able to distinguish between those with whom he had an issue and those with whom he did not. I'm not commenting on the opinion held, just on the fact that mentioning the skin colour or ethnicity of a person arrested for shoplifting has fcuk all to do with the story - it leads, eventually to prejudices.
Yeah, I agree with you completly, I never said anything about commenting on a persons race wrt a crime. Also like yourself, Im not commenting on the opinion, just the discription given
26-07-2010, 14:33   #55
Ash.J.Williams

Quote:
Originally Posted by hightower1 View Post
Personally I love sterotyping. People who disagree with it are only fooling themselves. Steropyes exist as a generalisation of something. If you disagree with sterotyping you disagree with the law of averages and basic matamatics that is a PROVEN and effective methode of determening the mean worth of something. We see it every day and companies bet big amounts of money on the precess.....

*79% of women agree - Moisturiser
*9 out of ten cats - cat food
And the list goes on.

Do the same people giving out about sterotypes give out about the way these stats are composed as sterotyping?

Same thing with books and cover..."Oh you cant judge a book by its cover" ... of coarse you can! In fact thats exactly what the books cover is designed for - to be able advertise what the content and tone of the book is about at a glance! Otherwise book shelves would be full of identical looking books that no one could tell what they were at a glance.

Look at the experiement below.... an adult book and a Childrens book.... can you label them simply judging the books by their cover...... (yes, you can)

Oh... and yes white south africans seem to have a complex where they are used to treating people like crap in africa so seem to think it'll fly over here.
Good post!

I must add that I have heard from many people whom have travelled over the last few years, that they returned with a negative feeling towards Israelis. Probably a similar situation to the white south africans, because they "all" complained about how the Israelis were treating the local population (thailand, Cambodia) then the irish that noticed this.
Thanks from:
26-07-2010, 14:39   #56
genericguy

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElaElaElano View Post
People who work in music (instruments, not CDs) shops. Never come across a bigger bunch of high and mighty cúnts in my life.
i actually couldn't agree more - shower of stuck-up pricks. although I must say the new guitar shop across from music-maker in dublin has the soundest staff I've ever met in any shop, let alone a music shop. plus, the girl who works there is smooookin' hot.

Last edited by genericguy; 26-07-2010 at 14:44.
26-07-2010, 14:40   #57
orourkeda
Banned

everyone.

God I hate people.
26-07-2010, 14:43   #58
baz2009

Send a message via MSN to baz2009
Customers who are middle aged women. *shudders*
And well-off auld fellas.
26-07-2010, 14:47   #59
cursai

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffyorganic1 View Post
The rudest people are often those who are ignorant on a particular topic but proceed to talk about it as if they were an expert.....

Often seen to frequent AH threads late into the night and best avoided at all costs!!
Whats an AH thread?
26-07-2010, 14:48   #60
Sykk
Closed Account

Eircom.
Thread Closed