Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
14-05-2010, 17:15   #1
Dr.Sanchez
Registered User
 
Dr.Sanchez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 551
Mermaid Group Recruitment

Has anyone ever had any experience with this (so called) company?

They say they recruit for cruise ships and have adds plastered all over job websites. I recently applied for a bartending job with them and got an email earlier today saying my CV was shortlisted.

Just wondering if anyone can confirm if this is a scam or not?

Thanks!
Dr.Sanchez is offline  
Advertisement
14-05-2010, 17:28   #2
flash harry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00Blaine00 View Post
Has anyone ever had any experience with this (so called) company?

They say they recruit for cruise ships and have adds plastered all over job websites. I recently applied for a bartending job with them and got an email earlier today saying my CV was shortlisted.

Just wondering if anyone can confirm if this is a scam or not?

Thanks!
you've got my interest - why do you think its a scam?
flash harry is offline  
14-05-2010, 17:41   #3
Dr.Sanchez
Registered User
 
Dr.Sanchez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 551
I'v heard various stories about scam recruitment companies on the internet so I'm very sceptical about this sort of thing.

This was in the FAQ:
Quote:
At the moment, we do not recruit directly with the cruise lines. We recruit for the concessionaires which rent commercial space onboard the vessels.
I've tried googling the company but have just come across other people asking the same questions as I am.

Last edited by Dr.Sanchez; 14-05-2010 at 17:47.
Dr.Sanchez is offline  
14-05-2010, 17:44   #4
flash harry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00Blaine00 View Post
I'v heard various stories about scam recruitment companies on the internet so I'm very sceptical about this sort of thing.

There's no contact number on the website although there is a postal address.

This was in the FAQ:

I've tried googling the company but have just come across other people asking the same questions as I am.
i think start worrying if they start asking for bank details or registration fees, otherwise shouldn't be a problem....
flash harry is offline  
13-07-2010, 10:17   #5
cae
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
not a scam

Iv seen multiple posts from people who have got jobs through the mermaid group. I am currently going through the recuirtment process.

When your CV has been short-listed they tell you that can purchase an E book to give you further info about the cruise line industry and the money from the purchase contributes to the psychometric test that you will be required to sit. This is why most people think its a scam. HOWEVER!! If you took the time to look at the terms and conditions you would see that the purchase of the Ebook is not necessary and does not influence whether you are hired."The Mermaid Group would like to make clear that the non purchase of this guide, will not in any way, shape or form result in the candidates application being rejected. The Guide has been published purely for educational purposes only. Applications by candidates are judged purely on merit and commitment"(from their website). Hence the Ebook is purely available for information purposes. So yeah... not a scam!

Hope this helps lol
cae is offline  
Advertisement
13-07-2010, 11:04   #6
Tabnabs
Moderator
 
Tabnabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Four points to starboard
Posts: 5,875
OP, for jobs in the cruise sector, I would try talking to someone like http://www.vikingrecruitment.com/ A UK based company that have a good reputation.
Tabnabs is offline  
21-07-2010, 12:47   #7
jonnywaverider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Legit

I have just received a letter of employment for a casino dealer position with the Mermaid Group starting on the Rhapsody of the Seas in October.They explained that because they get so many applications for the positions, they advertise the book because it shows them the people who are the most serious about working on cruise ships, so i guess that they do give a priority to the people who download it. I downloaded it and it didn't do me any harm!
jonnywaverider is offline  
31-07-2010, 21:51   #8
Columbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 69
I've been in the recruitment business for about 18 years now and I haven't heard of them, however, that's not to say they are not legit, as the cruise line business was never my area. One thing I do find a little odd is that the people supporting them in this thread only have 1 post each.
Columbo is offline  
01-08-2010, 13:03   #9
Denerick
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,417
This mightn't be a bad idea, as I'm looking to basically escape for a year. Has anyone any experience of working on a cruise ship? Would you have your own room?
Denerick is offline  
Advertisement
26-01-2011, 19:28   #10
Scamchecker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnywaverider View Post
I have just received a letter of employment for a casino dealer position with the Mermaid Group starting on the Rhapsody of the Seas in October.They explained that because they get so many applications for the positions, they advertise the book because it shows them the people who are the most serious about working on cruise ships, so i guess that they do give a priority to the people who download it. I downloaded it and it didn't do me any harm!
You mean you actually managed a verbal communication with the agent? Wow. How did you manage that? I'd be interested to know at exactly what stage of your recruitment process that was.
Scamchecker is offline  
28-02-2011, 19:03   #11
poozers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 154
Send a message via ICQ to poozers
i also got shortlisted for a job with this company!!! and i came on here looking for info about this crowd!! i ALSO found it a bit suspicious when they asked me to buy this book, its 20 quid, but i get a 20% discount AND you can buy it through PayPal, so they dont actually ask you for any bank details...and i also find it suspicious that the people who say its legit only have one post each!!!! I think this job would be brilliant for me as i always wanted to travel and get out and meet people from all over the world, and i am HOPING it is legit!!! I also want to hear experiences about working on a cruise ship!! anyone?????
poozers is offline  
07-06-2011, 21:52   #12
catbro3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
I just got the same letter and googled them and found this! did you get a job with them poozers?? what about you 00Blaine00?? if love if this was real as I really want to do this job!
catbro3 is offline  
07-06-2011, 22:06   #13
Jimmy Savile is Innocent
aka x43r0
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,581
This thread reeks of spam
Jimmy Savile is Innocent is offline  
07-06-2011, 22:06   #14
Delancey
Moderator
 
Delancey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5,458
I share the suspicions of others about those posts stating this is a legitimate operation - first time posters saying great things about certain companies is something regular posters here are all too aware and wary of.

There are known pitfalls working for Cruise Lines - very long hours , lack of privacy ( rarely if ever would you have your own cabin ) , very poor pay - on some ships staff are expected to earn the bulk of their money by way of ' tips '.
OP I would disregard completely the 2 posts saying this is not a scam and assume that it is unless you garner information from a more reliable source.
This so-called ' e-book ' makes me very suspicious.

@ the 2 first time posters , don't take it personally but all too often shady operations are defended on this forum by people who have never posted on boards before - forgive my suspicious mind.
Delancey is offline  
07-06-2011, 22:21   #15
catbro3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
i guess I knew that it sounded like a scam just needed someone to say it for me. what to do with my year off now??

Thanks for the replies
catbro3 is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search