Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

15-06-2010, 15:13   #16
johnmcdnl

A penny's is all we need imo..

for people asking for a new computer shop.. in fairness there's 2 computer shops in the town and both have been more than obliging anytime I've been looking for anything... a new club would be nice but once again is it needed... do you really want a curry's or something that don't help the customer at all and end up being absolutely non-negotiable prices...

and we don't need a starbucks... we really don't - who in cavan is going to go into starbucks... that's just not going to work out well as far as i can see....

if we could just get a decent penny's somewhere in the town centre preferably but if not out beside supervalu it'd really do so well.. there's just no where that does decent cheap clothes in the town i find.. - that's all we need imo
15-06-2010, 16:22   #17
T Corolla
Closed Account

What about a railway connection to Dublin
(4) thanks from:
17-06-2010, 17:17   #18
422nd

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnmcdnl View Post
and we don't need a starbucks... we really don't - who in cavan is going to go into starbucks... that's just not going to work out well as far as i can see....
I want a starbucks!!!
18-06-2010, 00:35   #19
M three

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sofiztikated View Post
To be honest, what most businesses are missing around Cavan is basic customer service.

What shops would I like to see?

A decent computer/electronics shop.
A proper fish/aquarium store.
A mens hair place, a la Mr J's in Monaghan. Somewhere with a bit of style.
A good mens clothing store. Not like DT1 or Denim Plus, but somewhere you can get good looking clothes, cheaper. Likes of Burtons or that.

Then I'd be happy.
pet place in corlurgan business park on ballinagh road has a load of fish and tanks

marcellas, i thinks it called, on college street is very good barbers imo

Last edited by M three; 18-06-2010 at 00:41.
18-06-2010, 00:40   #20
M three

a place that does a good carvery weekdays in town. Farnham only place that i know of and tbh its sloppy. donohoes and imperial serve ok food to you to your seat but the town needs a good carvery.
think silver tankard on n3 near navan. good basic food and large portions.

should someone notify cavan chamber of commerce of this thread and some of these ideas might actually be given serious thought??
18-06-2010, 01:51   #21
flanum

Quote:
Originally Posted by M three View Post
a place that does a good carvery weekdays in town. Farnham only place that i know of and tbh its sloppy. donohoes and imperial serve ok food to you to your seat but the town needs a good carvery.
?
add meadow view, the kesh, and the kilmore to the carvery list.
20-06-2010, 15:13   #22
just-joe

No no no to Starbucks! A nice coffee/tea house would be, erm, nice, but no one needs a chain like that?! Image-driven, overpriced coffee, ewww.

A cycling shop would be cool, have no idea if it would survive?

And I think a new nightclub/late disco bar in Cavan would be awesome, a definite success?! Theres a niche in between the younger (underager) crowd for the farnam, and the older crowd for the imperial. Small or no door charge, and cheap drinks (3 euro pints like in Dublin, or some other deal), instant success?! I have no idea about whether this could generate a profit though so maybe it wouldn't survive either...

And yeah there might be a sheep factor involved but I'd say theres enough dissent for the farnam/imperial to change people's minds?! Especially with cheap drinks, economic climate and the likes.
20-06-2010, 15:15   #23
just-joe

Somewhat related to this, and something I'd be wondering about for a while is, what happened to Subway? I can remember it being really busy, maybe it changed... did it go under or what happened?

Oh yeah maybe a Zumo smoothie would be cool in Cavan too.
20-06-2010, 15:20   #24
woolymammoth

Quote:
Originally Posted by just-joe View Post
A cycling shop would be cool, have no idea if it would survive?
halfords? out beside woodies!
20-06-2010, 15:22   #25
just-joe

Hmmm yeah I don't really have much experience out there, heard mixed reviews.. but it would be great to see an independent one, owned by an experienced cyclist with proper knowledge!
21-06-2010, 20:51   #26
Sofiztikated

Quote:
Originally Posted by M three View Post
pet place in corlurgan business park on ballinagh road has a load of fish and tanks

marcellas, i thinks it called, on college street is very good barbers imo
Had some tanks. They were getting crap deliveries in. Tanks went ages. Its now closed.

Barber wise, I'll stick with what I'm doing. Getting to Mrs to trim it, and hit Mr J's every other month to tidy it up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by just-joe View Post
Somewhat related to this, and something I'd be wondering about for a while is, what happened to Subway? I can remember it being really busy, maybe it changed... did it go under or what happened?

Oh yeah maybe a Zumo smoothie would be cool in Cavan too.
Subway? Being charged extortionate rent, and sales falling just drove them out of town.
24-06-2010, 23:44   #27
aDeener

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sofiztikated View Post
A mens hair place, a la Mr J's in Monaghan. Somewhere with a bit of style.
A good mens clothing store. Not like DT1 or Denim Plus, but somewhere you can get good looking clothes, cheaper. Likes of Burtons or that.

Then I'd be happy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazzer View Post
A decent mens hairdressers is a must (for me anyway). Since I moved to Cavan 2 years ago I have tried out 4 different places and they have all given me a crappy hair cut. I know just go to the guy I always went to in Dublin every 2 months and get it cut there.

A few decent and decently prices mens clothes shops also would be great.
christ lads i thought ye cavan folk were at least hardy
28-06-2010, 20:13   #28
unclebill98

Quote:
Originally Posted by 422nd View Post
I want a starbucks!!!
+1 for a Starbucks, no where in Cavan can make a nice coffee and its no way over priced compared to some places in Cavan that can't even warm milk for a latte, its gotta be burnt...!

Quote:
Originally Posted by flanum View Post
add meadow view, the kesh, and the kilmore to the carvery list.
Meadow View = full of kids at the weekend.

Kesh = nice but changes owners so often its food menu is always changing.

Kilmore = I've not tried for carvery, must give it a go.
22-07-2010, 13:27   #29
2nd Row Donkey

There's clearly a demand for a decent high street style Men clothes store like Burtons or River island. In fact a river island or NEXT that did men and ladies clothing would go down a storm in the town i'm sure.

If you want men's clothes at short notice.. say on a saturday afternoon.. your basically stuck with DT2, Mr James and a few other dodgy spots. Forget about it.

I recently wanted a pair of new trainers (not the sporty type you wear running or to the gym) but something you would wear with a pair of jeans to the pub on a Saturday night ... no chance. My only option was to go to blanch, which I did in less then 60min on the new road.
22-07-2010, 13:30   #30
just-joe

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2nd Row Donkey View Post
There's clearly a demand for a decent high street style Men clothes store like Burtons or River island. In fact a river island or NEXT that did men and ladies clothing would go down a storm in the town i'm sure.
Yeah definitely, Next or a Pennys would be a hit.

Was just about to go lookin for a pair of casual runners myself... bad outlook!

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion