boards.ie

Go Back   boards.ie > Rec > After Hours

Notices

Old 08-10-2009, 01:34   #1
daveyjoe

Disgusting, simpleminded, ignorant Irish people

I just had a couple of midweek drinks with friends and was walking home when I saw a young German couple being hassled by a couple of Irish lads. The Irish lads were dressed pretty respectably and looked typically middle class. They were doing the Heil Hitler salute and shouting 'Nazi, Nazi' followed (rather ironically and ignorantly) by 'Oui, Oui'. The German couple were politely smiling but they were obviously very intimidated.

I literally feel sick thinking about this and I'm pissed off with myself that I didn't step in and say something to these dicks. Would I have got my ass kicked? Maybe but I hate that these tourists may think that these two dickheads in any way represent the views of even a small minority of Irish people.

I find this kind of behaviour deeply sickening and those who engage in it are the lowest of the low. I feel slightly ashamed to be Irish tonight. I hate to be so alarmist but what the f*ck has happened to this country?
daveyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote

To remove these adverts, please create an account, or log in! You must have an account to post anyway :-)
Old 08-10-2009, 01:40   #2
flanree

I completely agree with your reaction but with regard to 'what happened to this country?' - this is not a new thing in this OR ANY country. There will always be a contingent of ignorant assholes wherever you go. Out of curiousity what age were both parties?
flanree is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks from:
Old 08-10-2009, 01:47   #3
The-Rigger

I mentioned it once but I think I got away with it

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveyjoe View Post

I find this kind of behaviour deeply sickening and those who engage in it are the lowest of the low. I feel slightly ashamed to be Irish tonight. I hate to be so alarmist but what the f*ck has happened to this country?
Calm down. There are ignorant people and racist people in all countries.
These people are not representive of you or me.
You are being alarmist.

Let's all have a cup of tea.

You should remove 'Irish' from the title of your thread imo, it's a racist as the people you described.

----------------
This round, Texas Doozy, Face cards are wild, 3 is a Jinx, 5s are 2s.
----------------

Last edited by The-Rigger; 08-10-2009 at 01:50.
The-Rigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 01:53   #4
Neamhshuntasach

Shít i've been a victim of racism in other countries and even in Ireland. Spíc is a common one even though i'm not Latino. It exists and i hope others who expeirence it have the intelligence not to brand an entire country of people based on some people's attitudes or actions.
Neamhshuntasach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 01:56   #5
Fiend-Foe

I hate that kind of stuff.

I know this one tool who calls everyone of middle eastern apperance a "paki".

It does my head in, so ignorant. They could be from anywhere, but no they're ALL from Pakistan.

Gobsh1tes.
Old 08-10-2009, 02:00   #6
daveyjoe

Yeah, that was a bit over the top of me. I guess I just felt a bit ashamed to be born in the same country as those guys tonight. My blood is still boiling.

What age were they? I'd guess 20'ish.
daveyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:02   #7
CliffHuxtabel

Quote:
I saw a young German couple being hassled by a couple of Irish lads. The Irish lads were dressed pretty respectably and looked typically middle class. They were doing the Heil Hitler salute and shouting 'Nazi, Nazi'
theyre saying what we're all thinking

Naw im joking but seriously I can understand why you were offended by this display.

As a nation, however, we are not that openly racist. You should go to India or China or various other places if you want to see racism dude. At least here its generally acknowledged that ethnic slurs are a bad thing.

If a white Irish couple were made fun of in India today then trust me there wouldnt be anyone on the Indian boards expressing their disgust.
Old 08-10-2009, 02:03   #8
The-Rigger

Quote:
Yeah, that was a bit over the top of me. I guess I just felt a bit ashamed to be born in the same country as those guys tonight. My blood is still boiling.

What age were they? I'd guess 20'ish.
Yea it's horrible alright, disgusting and unnerving.
Unfortunately we've been born in the same species as these tossers and there is even less we can do about that.

----------------
This round, Texas Doozy, Face cards are wild, 3 is a Jinx, 5s are 2s.
----------------

The-Rigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:07   #9
mikom

Quote:
The German couple were politely smiling
Whilst quietly stroking the lugers beneath their jackets I'll bet.
Any more lip...... and it would have been BLAM, BLAM, BLAM.
mikom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:12   #10
supermouse

I know we're talking about Ireland here but cannot believe how openly racist Australians are!

I have had dinner with quite a few Australian families lately and most of them are really bad. Asians and Africans being the but of the majority of jokes.

2nd or 3rd generation Irish are very bad for Irish/ English racism too... shocking stuff!!
Old 08-10-2009, 02:20   #11
The_B_Man

Send a message via Skype™ to The_B_Man
Thats friendly racism though.

Theres 1 black american bloke here in the office. yesterday he mentioned he was losin his colour and wanted a tan. so the whole office start telling him hes pure black and messing with him about it. Like shouting across the office. It was racist, but everyones friends here so it wasnt malicious. therefore, friendly racism.

i compare it to childhood innocence and naivety in grown ups, rather than racism. aussies dont beat around the bush and worry about bull**** like political correctness. i say fair play!
The_B_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:30   #12
CliffHuxtabel

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_B_Man View Post
Thats friendly racism though.

Theres 1 black american bloke here in the office. yesterday he mentioned he was losin his colour and wanted a tan. so the whole office start telling him hes pure black and messing with him about it. Like shouting across the office. It was racist, but everyones friends here so it wasnt malicious. therefore, friendly racism.

i compare it to childhood innocence and naivety in grown ups, rather than racism. aussies dont beat around the bush and worry about bull**** like political correctness. i say fair play!

id say whether or not something is friendly racism depends more on the attitude of the person on the receiving end.
Old 08-10-2009, 02:58   #13
supermouse

CliffHuxtabel - true.

I got quite uncomfortable to hear them talking about the Irish / English debate, and I have no connections with the North... Just the way they were talking about it, dragging up past history and generally being really narrow minded
Old 08-10-2009, 03:03   #14
Overheal
Indubitable Old Bean

Send a message via AIM to Overheal Send a message via MSN to Overheal Send a message via Skype™ to Overheal
The couple walked away safely and the eejits will be dole leeches until that dries up and theyre left homeless. Happy ending imho
Old 08-10-2009, 03:22   #15
ynotdu

Racisim is just fear with a large dollop of ignorance and populism.
ynotdu is offline   Reply With Quote
  boards.ie > Rec > After Hours Top