Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

21-10-2009, 23:26   #31
DustyBin
Closed Account

wednesday 21st oct - pm

really good circuits session tonight
was much more controlled than last time and got a lot out of it and i think that i've managed not to cripple myself for a few days like the last time!
Paired up with this fella whose been at it a while and basically just followed what he was doing
asked his permission first of course! But he was really good for showing me what he was doing
circuits seems to be really good for the core as well as legs and upper body
will want to keep this up but will see how to combine it with soccer and a half marathon training plan?? Also need to get back to rowing and swimming at some point - ok so gonna have to sort out what i'm doing
23-10-2009, 13:14   #32
DustyBin
Closed Account

Friday 23rd October

7.8 miles, 1:05:42, 8.25 avg pace

Woo hoo, longest run yet and was way better than Wednesdays run
Felt strong throughout and felt really fresh afterwards
During the first mile the legs were still feeling a little tired from Wednesday nights circuits, and first mile took 9.34 to complete . During this mile I made up my mind that I wasn't going to go for the full 7.8, that I'd do 6.25 instead. Then I decided that I'd do a different route approx 5 miles, and then I just went for it.

Between mile 1 and mile 5.4 I reckon I was going at a little under 7.20 pace . I took RoyMcC's advice and got a nice long flat section of road to run along and it really did feel much easier than the hillier stuff I have been on.

Then I finished with 2.4 miles of fairly consistent climb to get home. I lost a lot of time on this section, but got two boosts of energy along the way. Firstly my box of High 5 arrived from wiggle yesterday, I know that they should really be for longer runs than today, but I did only get them yesterday!! My God, are energy gels possibly the most disgusting texture you'd ever have to slid down your gizzard? Anyway, didn't get sick so no harm done. Secondly got the heart put across my by some lady walking into work in dark clothing. I had seen not a soul for approx 6 miles and then she just appears from nowhere.

Anyway, am still buzzing after this mornings run as might be obvious, so will leave it at that
23-10-2009, 13:28   #33
showry

nice running,
can't stand those energy gels,
try powerbar ride shots - they're like cola bottles - I use them on the bike all the time.
Thanks from:
23-10-2009, 21:45   #34
DustyBin
Closed Account

Friday 23rd Oct - pm

went for 2.5 miles of C25K wk 4 tonight
was tempted to push on afterwards for a sneeky 2-3 mile run but the slight twinge I felt in right buttock put paid to that
reckon that I might go for a swim tomorrow morning
23-10-2009, 22:40   #35
osnola ivax

All these double runs DB, very impressive, just like the elites.
Thanks from:
25-10-2009, 11:06   #36
DustyBin
Closed Account

ha ha - elites!
Thanks OI but I don't think that anyone could ever refer to my stubborn plodding as elite.
Anyway the C25K stuff is grand, you would build up a sweat alright but so far the longest continuous run is 5 mins. Ramps up fairly sharply from here on in though and I think theres a 20 min run the end of next week
25-10-2009, 11:41   #37
DustyBin
Closed Account

Sunday 25th October

Total of 10.3 miles covered this morning
Did first 2.5 as C25K wk 4 - approx 30 mins
Then immediately set into 7.8 mile run
Same run as Friday 1:03:05 mins giving a 8:05 avg pace which was 2 1/2 mins quicker than last time
I really enjoyed this run again despite a very strong wind in my face for most of the route
Covered mile 3.5 - mile 5 in approx 7:00 pace after seeing a group of 4 runners in front of me
Closed them down only to discover that they were two? Damned blurred vision!
Feeling good and strong now with another heavy session planned for tonight (pub) and rest day tomorrow

Last edited by DustyBin; 27-10-2009 at 10:46. Reason: Edit on boards mobile is not so good
26-10-2009, 14:08   #38
RubyK

You're flying DustyBin, great stuff!! Well done!!
Thanks from:
27-10-2009, 10:54   #39
DustyBin
Closed Account

Tuesday 27th October

4.5 miles of hills this morning
38:34 time = 8.34 pace

Seem to have rounded some sort of a corner this past week - the running just seems more natural (and dare I say it enjoyable as well as easier??)
Am surely gonna regret saying that in the coming days / weeks

I have done this route slightly faster before, but it just felt much better today. Also starting to get used to the whole getting up early and stumbling out the door thing.

Well done to all who completed the Dublin marathon yesterday - very jealous of ye
27-10-2009, 12:15   #40
heffsarmy

connemara i would stay away from for your full first marathon so so tough

some people may not agree but so many hills nearly killed me

Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyBin View Post
I'm going to do the Waterford half marathon Dec 2009 & the Connemara Full Apr 2010 - there, I've said it!!
(Oh, and I'm also going to learn how to swim!!)

A friend of mine got me to do the Eireman sprint in August and I absolutely loved it. Since then I've done the Ashford Duathlon last week, and I did the Eireman X yesterday.

I've set myself a target of completing both the above races over the coming months. The furthest I've ever ran todate is little over 5 km's. I'm going to broadly follow the Hal Higdon novice half marathon schedule http://www.halhigdon.com/halfmarathon/halfnovice.pdf, beginning at week 2 on the schedule from this week.

I'm also going to try learn to swim over the winter in preparation for next years Tri season. Yesterday was my first competition swim and it was horrible!! Took a full 35mins to complete the 750m and coming in paddy last!!

Also, my wife has started the couch to 5 K program and I'm keeping her company on the runs, so I'll be building that into my half training program too.

Have never previously ran, swam, or cycled.

I used to play rugby until I was 20, did nothing for years, and have been playing 5-a-side soccer for the past year.

I'm 30, tiping the scales at 81kg, recently gave up the fags, and raring to go!!

Any help/advice/criticism that anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated

So here goes:

Plan for Monday: REST - well it was a tough race yesterday
28-10-2009, 09:52   #41
DustyBin
Closed Account

Tuesday 27th October - pm

1 hours 5 a side soccer last night, again a really good lung bursting workout on a double sized pitch - we lost

No running to/from soccer heroics last night as I'm ramping up the mileage this week getting into the grove for Crookstown and Waterford with runs on Tues, Wed & Thurs these weeks

Quote:
Originally Posted by heffsarmy View Post
some people may not agree but so many hills nearly killed me
Heffsarmy, yeah you're probably right about Commemara being a pure killer. I'd put up the goal without actually checking out just how tough the course was going to be (still don't know until I do it really). It just happened to be the earliest Irish marathon I found that I could realistically train for.

Anyway, Connemarathon - HTFU

Not gonna take it down yet until I at least see how I get on in the Waterford Half in Dec.
Krusty Clown is a fan of running Connemara as your first Marathon mainly due to the very friendly atmosphere amongst all the competitors I think. I hope he'll be there this year as I may be looking to throttle him afterwards

Sure I'll see how I'm getting on in hilly training - lots of hills out where I live, then I might look at it again.
28-10-2009, 09:58   #42
DustyBin
Closed Account

Wedneday 28th October

Easy 4 miler this morning

Set out to do 5 if I'm honest, but between a slight tightness I was feeling, and the thougths of circuits tonight and a tempo run in the morning I allowed that I'd leave it at 4

36:08 time = 9:02 pace - nice and easy?? probably too easy

Have been giving some thought lately to what pace I want to aim for in Crookstown 10k
McMillan has me down for 43:02 based on my 4 mile result from a few weeks back, but I reckon I'll go out gunning for a 42:00
40:00 just seems way too fast at this stage
28-10-2009, 22:31   #43
DustyBin
Closed Account

Wednesday 28th Oct - pm

another great circuits workout
for the sake of 1 hour and €6 this really is great stuff
only my third session but feeling stronger already
made it up the ropes tonight as well, ok was a little less than graceful, and the Irish gynastic's team (assume there is one?) are safe enough for another while yet but I still made it! Wasn't sure what to do when I got to the top and thankfully made it back down in one piece!!
30-10-2009, 10:26   #44
DustyBin
Closed Account

Friday 30th Oct

6 mile run in the lashing wind and rain
Mixture of tempo and hills
(?? - I know, but it just that kind of a route)

50:40 overall = 8.27 pace

Two faster (tempo? - I'm still learning) sections completed at the middle and at the end. These came in at the bottom of McMillan's prescribed tempo pace for my target time in Crookstown. They were 7:12 pace and 7:07 pace.

This run was to be completed yesterday, but when I got out of the bed yesterday morning I knew that there was no way I'd be able for it. I've been burning the candle at both ends of late and trying to get by on 5 - 6 hours sleep as well as exercise twice a lot of days. Got an early night last night, and will have to make effort to start back into getting decent sleep once more. Today should have been a rest day but ...

At this stage all pretense of continuing to follow Hal Higdon's novice half marathon plan has gone out the window. Instead I am following a plan I got from the shop where I had my gait analysis done. Basically its:

Mon: Rest
Tue: Hills
Wed: Easy
Thu: Tempo
Fri: Rest
Sat: Easy
Sun: Long Slow
31-10-2009, 12:26   #45
DustyBin
Closed Account

Saturday 31st Oct

6.5 miles total running
First 2.5m was C25K wk 5 with Mrs DB
Then set off for 4m easy 33:07 = 8:17 pace

Felt slight niggle in left leg in and around the hip area. Think that this is to do with the camber on the roads I use. Was really conscious of this today and was constantly moving from right to left and back to try even it up a bit - really don't know if this does any good at all but in my head I think it does.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion