![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
![]() |
First time helmet, Massive or what??
I've just bought my first cycling helmet to take part in the 50K Sean Kelly Tour on the 30th.
Didn't check it in a mirror in the shop, once I had one that fitted tightly I left it at that and bought it thinking, it'll be grand. Looked at myself in the mirror when I got home and it is fecken massive! It looks like I'm sticking out of it, not that it's sitting on my head. The thickness is important for a crash I know, but I'm worried that I'll look like a complete noob langer on the day. What would be an approximate thickness for a helmet? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
To remove these adverts, please create an account, or log in! You must have an account to post anyway :-) |
|
|
#3 |
|
![]() |
you are sooo gonna look like a noob !
esp. with a new helmet only kidding, dont worry about it, get out there and enjoy it wearing a helmet always feels weird when you start
|
| Thanks from: |
|
|
#5 | |
|
![]() |
Quote:
I always tell people not to look in a mirror when wearing a helmet. It will always look bigger than you expect.
|
|
| Thanks from: |
|
|
#6 |
|
![]() |
Thanks for your comments folks. I'm sure that once I'm in the middle of a load of other cyclists it'll feel grand.
@daymobrew, it fits perfectly, is fully adjustable at the back and once I tighten the chin stap doesn't budge an inch, something that I've read is important. @petethedrummer - good tip on the visor. |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
![]() |
well my gf bought herself a helmet recently, just to make sure that her 10 min cycle to work is as safe as it can be, the interesting thing is that when she showed it happened to be http://www.thehubsa.co.za/uploads2/t...fp-1-t-mob.jpg but the most suprising thing was the reason for purchase - which was "a nice pink color".
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
![]() |
I have the biggest helmet on the planet I think (no sick comments please). At least it looks that way if I pass the hall mirror on the way out the door.
My head and helmets are not made for each other.
|
|
|
#12 |
|
![]() |
Helmets always look enormous when you look at yourself in the mirror. Mine does anyway. You will look perfectly normal when on the bike. It sounds to me that it does fit but no harm asking for the shop's advice.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
![]() |
I did a proper fitting under the instruction of the assistant so I'm sure the fit is fine.
It's a matter of getting used to the look of it, perched on the top of my head. Just avoid mirrors, my reflection in parked cars etc. @Canis, A Darth Vader mask is a good idea, don't think I can do the heavy breathing for too many kilometers though. |
|
|
|
![]() |
|
|
| Display Modes | |
|
|