boards.ie

Go Back   boards.ie > Soc > Religion & Spirituality > Atheism & Agnosticism

Notices

Old 27-07-2009, 23:09   #1
JuliusCaesar

Jesus! Thank god!

As an atheist do you ever try to rid your speech (assuming you are Irish) of pious ejaculations? (Well, that's what my granny called them.) I found myself just about to say 'it's not raining thank god' and veered off into 'thank heavens' instead.

It made me realise just how often I say these things. Does it matter if a born-and-bred atheist says 'Christ!' when they get a fright? (I don't think so, but I draw the line at Thank god.) Is it offensive to Christians? Is it technically blasphemy? Or only to the listener? Will I be prosecuted?

Anyone else ponder these matters?
JuliusCaesar is offline   Reply With Quote

To remove these adverts, please create an account, or log in! You must have an account to post anyway :-)
Old 27-07-2009, 23:39   #2
rccaulfield

Yea -i cant stop-given up trying-sure no harm!
Old 27-07-2009, 23:42   #3
the_syco
Syco Kitteh

An old manager in a cinema near Clondalkin was a born-again christain of the hypocritical type once threatened me with a sacking of he ever heard me take "the lords name in vain" again. T'was only a "Jeaaasus", but meh.

If I ever see him again, I'll be obliged to go "Jeaasus f**king Christ, a tree"

Apart from that, it depends who I'm around. I don't swear around my granddad (another one who "found" Christ again in the last few decades), but that's about it.

"Jeaasus f**king Christ" and also "holy mutha-f**king cow/christ/bast**d/sh|t".

It started off as a "new phrase word", but now gets used in my general speech.
(Case) Cooler Master Cosmos 1000 .:. (Mobo) Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 .:. (CPU) 12MB 64bit Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 .:. (Heatsink) TRUE 120 .:. (RAM) 4GB Dominator PC2-8500 .:. (GFX) 1GB HD4870 [Factory Overclocked] .:. (SATA2 HDDs) 250GB 320GB 500GB 1TB 1TB .:. (Audio) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Professional, 64MB .:. (Joystick) Saitek x52 .:. (Headphones) Sennheiser SK Gaming .:. (Mouse) Saitek GM3200.

From a book of untruths for the weakest mind, I keep the bible in a pool of blood, so that none of its lies can affect me...
the_syco is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 00:27   #4
Zillah

I use it like any other curse words. There's few other ways to express yourself effectively when someone does something incredibly stupid than by saying "Jesus Fucking Christ!"
Old 28-07-2009, 00:33   #5
yoursaviour1989

its part of the culture that we live in to say it, i dont really read too much into it. quick point though, aren't 'thank god' and 'thank heavens' pretty much the same thing?
yoursaviour1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 06:07   #6
Rev Hellfire

Its just another way of saying an exclamation mark at this stage to most people (assuming it was ever anything else).
The only people who get hung up on the 'lords' name are the very religious and the very non-religious

Rev Hellfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 11:02   #7
Genghiz Cohen

I say, ".....Christ...." whenever I witness some form of stupidity or some such.
But I have replaced "Thank God." with "Thank Science/Thor/Odin/etc."
"Oh my Science..." is another good one.
"Oh your God." In the presence of Theists is quite funny to watch.
Old 28-07-2009, 15:05   #8
Galvasean

Send a message via MSN to Galvasean
Quote:
Originally Posted by JuliusCaesar View Post
pious ejaculations
That shall be my new 'curse' phrase.
Galvasean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 17:14   #9
equivariant

I ejaculate piously all the time - depsite being a confirmed atheist. I have come to the conclusion that the alternatives are too wimpy sounding. 'thank goodness' or for 'goodness sake' just don't have the same impact as my pious ejaculate (or should that be pious ejaculations?)
equivariant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 17:48   #10
Overblood

Ah lads can ye have a bit more cop on, talking about pious ejaculation while the Ryan report is still in the news...

Overblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 18:11   #11
fisgon

Was at a humanist meeting once where one guy was talking about his lack of religious belief, and about his, now deceased, mother's absolute faith. When he mentioned her he instinctively said "My mother, lord have mercy on her,...". He realised what he had just done, and was able to smile at it.

This language is in us, especially in this country, and cannot be eradicated. We could try replacing some expressions with acronyms, as some people have done with .........OMG!, though I suppose JC! doesn't have the same impact.
fisgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 18:43   #12
Overblood

By the way this was discussed here last month:

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055583036

Overblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 19:52   #13
pg633

I generally don't curse. I never really said thank god or god willing (In šāʾ Allāh) or the like either.

It is a bit more difficult when speaking in Irish.

Dia duit.
Dia is Muire duit.
pg633 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2009, 13:38   #14
Poppy78

Quote:
Originally Posted by pg633 View Post
It is a bit more difficult when speaking in Irish.

Dia duit.
Dia is Muire duit.
Or in English - Goodbye = god be with you
Or Spainish - Adios = A dios = to god, I think it is short for I commend you to god
Poppy78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2009, 13:48   #15
WesternNight

I have found myself feeling uneasy when "Thank God" slips out. I generally say "thank goodness" now.

I have no problem with exclamations of "Jesus!" "Oh my god!" "Christ almighty!" etc etc. When I use them it's generally in fright or frustration. Those words mean nothing to me other than another way to say "f*ck sake!"
WesternNight is offline   Reply With Quote
  boards.ie > Soc > Religion & Spirituality > Atheism & Agnosticism Top