boards.ie

Go Back   boards.ie > Region > West > Galway City

Notices

Old 08-07-2009, 11:18   #16
JohnCleary

No foreigners on my street Just old people who've been here for yearsssss so yeah know them all (even the newer ones, who made an effort by calling round to each house when they moved in)
JohnCleary is offline   Reply With Quote

To remove these adverts, please create an account, or log in! You must have an account to post anyway :-)
Old 08-07-2009, 12:13   #17
masonman
Banned

The day of knowing your Neighbours is dead - thank feck

Good Riddence I say, it was just an excuse to nosy into peoples lives, talk about inane things and annoy people.

Boards has filled that gap for me
masonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks from:
Old 08-07-2009, 19:53   #18
pg633

I work with the guy next door. The otherside's door was open when I came in this evening. Thought it was empty.
pg633 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 20:20   #19
Gadfly

Quote:
Originally Posted by masonman View Post
The day of knowing your Neighbours is dead - thank feck

Good Riddence I say, it was just an excuse to nosy into peoples lives, talk about inane things and annoy people.
Absolutely! I talk to one neighbour where I live. And even then it's just a quick hello. A lot of people moved out of my estate due to anti-social behaviour anyway. I'm in the process of going myself.
Old 08-07-2009, 22:50   #20
JustMary

Is "neighbours" just the people on either side? Or everyone in the street? Or the estate? What about in an apartment block, does it mean people on the same floor, or above and below too? How do you answer if you know some of the people but not others? Does sharing a bus-service with someone count as sharing a ride with 'em?

Did the dodgy survey that started this thread define what it meant by "neighbours"? (Pretty sure it didn't: I filled it out for the craic, and was pretty sure that the results would be meaningless).

Rant over.

I live in an apartment above commercial premises. I've met the current tenants in the other flat on my floor, but not the two other sets of tenants who've been through since I moved in. I know their first names, and I know his surname 'cos I've seen it on his mail. I've met the folks in the business directly below, 'cos I trotted down and introduced myself the day I moved in (to head off any noise complaints before they started). I recognise one guy from the multi-flat building across the road, and one guy from the old-people's housing down the road. I certainly wouldn't go up to either of 'em and do the "neighbourly" thing that, that would look like I was being a horrible busy-body or worse.
JustMary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 07:21   #21
Das Kitty

We moved in to a nice estate last October and got a warning from our landlord about the girl in the house next to us that she was narky and a nosebag. So basically we kept the head down going in and out. She cornered us one day telling us it was polite when moving into a new place to introduce yourselves to the neighbours. I just told her that we're private people and gave her my name and asked hers. She is narky! She's younger than me!

I sometimes talk to the neighbour on the other side or the couple a few doors up who are always out and about with their little dog, don't know their names.

I dunno, it used to bug me growing up all the nosy neighbours coming over to our house to check us out and bring back the gossip. Definitely don't want that in my adult life.
Old 09-07-2009, 14:25   #22
axiom32

jus found out its alice, 24yrs shed been livin there an i never knew
axiom32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 15:10   #23
masonman
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by axiom32 View Post
jus found out its alice, 24yrs shed been livin there an i never knew

Hook, line.....Anyone gonna bite???

I'm humming it....
masonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 19:11   #24
gaeilgegrinds

I know my neighbours, always in here for drinks and bbq. Love knowing them, handy out!
gaeilgegrinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 19:48   #25
BrokenArrows

nope. lived in my current house for over a year.
only interaction with my neighbour was when i helped change a tire and the other neighbours mail got delivered to my house.

thankfully i dont know them. they would probably feel more comfortable with telling me to shutup in my house.
Honestly i dont know how they have never complained to me about noise.
Old 09-07-2009, 21:03   #26
ScumLord

Everybody needs good neighbors, with a little understanding you can find the perfect blend. Neighbors should be there for one another because that's when good neighbours become good friends.

http://scumlord.mybrute.com
ScumLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 21:09   #27
tman

Not exactly related to Galway, but I met my neighbours for the first time last weekend after living there for 7 months... Ended up going out on the lash with them, having a great laugh and finally crawling home to bed at 2pm the next day...
From now on I'll be making more of an effort to meet new neighbours!
Old 09-07-2009, 23:02   #28
Krieg

Currently living at home and yeah we know our neighbours well, including regular exchange of favors and over the wall banter.

However, if I moved into a new house I don't think id have the personal need to get to know my neighbours, just exchange greetings when I see them
Krieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 10:51   #29
ukgalwaymcguire

good morning/afternoon/evening occasionally.
but no more, i do not want to know my neighbours, people who just happen to live next or near too you is not a basis for friends.
i love my privacy, and do not want/ need anyone checking out my house
my furniture, what new purchases i may or may not have recently.
village attitudes and nosey curtain twitchers no thank you.
polite aloofness is as far as i go.
ukgalwaymcguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 10:54   #30
cornbb

Quote:
Originally Posted by ukgalwaymcguire View Post
good morning/afternoon/evening occasionally.
but no more, i do not want to know my neighbours, people who just happen to live next or near too you is not a basis for friends.
i love my privacy, and do not want/ need anyone checking out my house
my furniture, what new purchases i may or may not have recently.
village attitudes and nosey curtain twitchers no thank you.
polite aloofness is as far as i go.
I don't think most people are like that these days, realistically. Being friendly with your neighbours can be handy. They'll keep half an eye on the place for you while you're away, borrowed cups of sugar etc.
cornbb is offline   Reply With Quote
  boards.ie > Region > West > Galway City Top