Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
01-05-2009, 15:03   #1
cltt97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin
Posts: 667
Freesat or Freeview available in Ireland??

Hi,

I'm going to buy a new 26" tele, as old one is dying on me. I've got two sat dishes on my roof (which I don't use) from previous owner and thought maybe I should buy one of those teles with an inbuilt sat tuner or whatever (not very knowledgable on that) and use those dishes. So looked on Argos and saw a few teles I like - for example this one

All of them have Integrated digital (freeview), but is says that:

Please note that the Digital (Freeview) features mentioned are not compatible with digital signals broadcast in the Republic of Ireland.
Freeview compatibility
Freeview - Only available to domestic customers. All channels are subject to coverage and may be changed from time to time. Reception may depend on the type and condition of your existing aerial. Aerial upgrade may be required. Find out if you can get Freeview ... text your postcode to 83331* or visit www.freeview.co.uk. *Costs no more than a normal text. Please note: Freeview is not available in the Republic of Ireland.

So is it something else I should be looking for or am I looking at the wrong thing alltogether? Would like to avoid buying a separate sat tuner, as have enough boxes sitting on the shelf already (NTL box, DVD recorder and X-Box)
cltt97 is offline  
Advertisement
01-05-2009, 15:38   #2
ethernet
Registered User
 
ethernet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dublinski
Posts: 3,269
Freeview is the name of the digital terrestrial system in the UK. It is incompatible with the standards that we will use (MPEG-4). Check out the Terrestrial thread for loads more information.

If you want to try and future-proof your purchase, there's a growing list of compatible TV models in the Terrestrial forum. Need to ensure the TV support MPEG-4 and MHEG-5 for interactive services (digital teletext, for example).

For NTL/UPC, you'll almost certainly be using a scart connection or better, not bothing with the tuner in the TV unless you want to watch the analogue channels as well (until they, too, are turned off).
ethernet is offline  
01-05-2009, 16:13   #3
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,383
Freesat = Dish pointed at 28.2E. All of Ireland.
Freeview = UK Terrestrial Digital via TV aerial, not Dish. very limited areas of reception.

A separate sat tuner (freesat) with built in HDD (PVR) for recording is best. You'll hardly need NTL or DVD recording. Only DVD playback.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
01-05-2009, 18:43   #4
cltt97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin
Posts: 667
Ah! I mixed up free-sat with free-view! But there are TVs that have inbuilt free sat tuners? Do I have at least that right? i will check out the terrestrial forum, too, for more info. Many thanks guys!
cltt97 is offline  
01-05-2009, 20:17   #5
Martin_F
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 269
Currently only Panasonic do TV's with built in Freesat. Cracking TV's though ! LG are due to launch a range very shortly.
Martin_F is offline  
Advertisement
01-05-2009, 22:26   #6
ynotdu
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by cltt97 View Post
Ah! I mixed up free-sat with free-view! But there are TVs that have inbuilt free sat tuners? Do I have at least that right? i will check out the terrestrial forum, too, for more info. Many thanks guys!

just to muddy the water even more there is a freesat from sky(requires a card and directly only available from sky)

At the same location is freesat from ITV/BBC,not meant for R.O.I either but only requires a UK postcode to be inputted(no card and free HD)

both provide more or less the same channels but if its simply freesat you want the bbc/itv version is more user friendly in the R.O.I.

word of warning:currently UTV STV&another region of ITV do not provide free HD,so be careful what postcode you choose
ynotdu is offline  
02-05-2009, 10:45   #7
snaps
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: malapolskie, Poland
Posts: 6,450
Send a message via MSN to snaps
Quote:
Originally Posted by cltt97 View Post
Ah! I mixed up free-sat with free-view!
Along with 95% of the confused Irish population! Freeview stickers should be taken off display TV's etc in this country. Its leading punters up the garden path!

If i was you mate id get a TV with a DVBT Mpeg 4 tuner and then get a separate freesat HD box (Cheap enough from argos in the north).

You should be well set up then for lots of channels for free.

I think the NI postcode on a freesat box now works with ITVHD. MY HD freesat boxes i have are setup using a london postcode.
snaps is offline  
02-05-2009, 12:26   #8
Martin_F
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 269
See the terrestrial sticky threads for MPEG4 TV's - I think the Panasonic Freesat TV's were reported as working with Irish DTT (at least in terms of decoding the pictures).

See here for a list of all Freesat compatible TV's

http://www.joinfreesat.co.uk/index.php/televisions
Martin_F is offline  
02-05-2009, 12:29   #9
pizzahead77
Registered User
 
pizzahead77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Clondalkin, Dublin 22
Posts: 1,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by ynotdu View Post
word of warning:currently UTV STV&another region of ITV do not provide free HD,so be careful what postcode you choose
This is not an issue any more - freesat boxes have ITV London on channel 977 while UTV would be on 103 when you use a NI postcode so that you can get ITV HD when programmes are shown.
pizzahead77 is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
02-05-2009, 14:14   #10
cltt97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin
Posts: 667
Thanks guys, the more I read, the more I realise that I haven't gotten the first clue about anything, I think I'm stuck in the last century or something. All this digital jargon is way over my head!!! I had a look at the Panasonics with Freesat, but they only come in sizes 32" upwards and I would like to get 26". Could possibly fit a 32" but built a shelfing system around my 26", so would have to change that. Also, they cost a bomb those teles... So can someone please educate me... If I get a sat tuner to receive freesat from the dish on my roof and preferably one that has a hard drive then I'm sorted on that end (but what are DDT/Sat tuners, and can I get one of those for the future that will receive NTL and Free-Sat?), but what do I need to look at for a tele? One that has a DVBT Mpeg 4 tuner? (And what the heck is that for). I understand things like pixels and viewing angels, but the rest is way over my head... All help greatly appreciated, I start to understand why my Dad won't bother with mobile phones!!!!

OK, I think I'm getting somewhere... when there will only be digital TV one needs to have either a decoder or a tele that has that DVBT na MPEG4 tuner - like this one here

Last edited by cltt97; 02-05-2009 at 14:28. Reason: Educating myself!
cltt97 is offline  
02-05-2009, 22:39   #11
Martin_F
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 269
Yes - the panny's are pricey. They are a top end manufacturer known for reliability & quality - also few people doing Freesat TV's at the mo.

The 26" is what I'd like if someone would do one with built in Freesat/MPEG4 - I'd like it for the bedroom - so as not to need extra boxes. I can't see me finding one in the short term - so I'll have to stick to the 14" crt for now
Martin_F is offline  
09-05-2009, 17:32   #12
Prisoner6409
Registered User
 
Prisoner6409's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin_F View Post
Currently only Panasonic do TV's with built in Freesat. Cracking TV's though ! LG are due to launch a range very shortly.
Not quite true. My Pioneer krp-500a has a freesat turner with which I can pick up all the UK Freesat channels, BBC HD ect. Also I was under the impression that the Irish Panasonic range of TV's do not have the freesat turner only the Uk models. Supposedly Irish retailers are not supposed to sell the UK models due to licencing issues. However I agree with the lads the whole thing only leads to confusion for consumers.
Prisoner6409 is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet