| 17-03-2009, 22:16 | #46 |
|
![]() |
Rats are great too, I know they're dirty but I'm amazed at how brazen they are. Last time we were camping, heard a little rustling outside the tent so I went out to investigate. OH came out a few mins later to find me sitting in a blanket throwing scraps to a rat who was just outside the circle of light mycandle was giving out. He was so cheeky, kept sitting there waiting for food.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 17-03-2009, 23:14 | #47 |
|
![]() |
We had a rat that lost his fear of humans and started eating the bird food I leave out. Unfortunately he completely lost his fear and one day was a little too tardy in moving while my OH was backing his work van out...
|
|
|
| 18-03-2009, 12:37 | #49 | |
|
![]() |
Quote:
Pine martens are a rare sight, protected and are often confused with mink. |
|
|
|
| 18-03-2009, 15:18 | #50 | |
|
![]() |
Quote:
'cptr |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 18-03-2009, 21:09 | #55 |
|
![]() |
Nice 'hog dude. We're getting ready to move our hedgehog back outside - he's been living in the kitchen all winter while he healed after being mauled. He's totally tame, wandering around the house eating spiders and looking disdainfully at everyone.
|
|
|
| 18-03-2009, 21:31 | #56 |
|
![]() |
Unfortunately I haven't seen a hedgehog in the garden since they went into hibernation around Nov 07. I left a nesting box out over that winter but there were no hogs about the following spring despite me putting out food for them. Although I reckon from looking at the bedding inside the box that hogs had been in there at some point.
I might start putting out food again soon and see if it attracts any visitors. |
|
|
| 19-03-2009, 10:54 | #58 |
|
![]() |
|
|
|
| 19-03-2009, 12:36 | #60 |
|
Banned
![]() |
no mice, but many many years ago my 'rents had a pheasant that used to run around the garden (until the surrounding fields were turned into a housing estate) they also had a rat in the garden. I thought D'Mother was trying to be funny till I saw him myself. The neighbour's cat chased him off.
We'd a cat years ago, when I was a kid, who'd bring home mice and rats. One of the rats he brought home wasn't dead, it was a big vicious fecker! I found a hedgehog snuffling around for scraps at the back door last year, I think (hope) he's hibernating in the corner. I used to talk to him. Currently there are two crows who hang around waiting for me to throw out scraps/leftovers. Better than any dustbin them lads are! |
|
|