Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

24-03-2009, 16:06   #46
T runner

2 Training run on new course

Hi Folks, there is a proposed new route for the uphill section of the warriors run this year. This will mean a different route up and down to cope with expected very large numbers for the 25th anniversary.

There is an oppurtunity to test out the new route (mountain section) this sat 28th March at 10.30 am starting at mountain carpark. Everyone and all standards welcome. We will be breaking the climb into small sections taking a rest at the top of each and regrouping. No-one will be left behind, its just for fun and to check out the route.

We can give everyones feedback to the Warriors committee and they will decide whether or not to go ahead with it.

BTW online registration open now www.warriorsfestival.com (no manual registration this year).

If you cant make it but would like details of the route for training just PM me.

Dont Forget: 1000 euro for first male and female, club team prizes, race switched to saturday 29th August (not sunday) and therell be plenty of parties in Strandhill that night!

T Runner
24-03-2009, 22:06   #47
MoonDancer

Thanks for the info! You can count me in on Sat, I'll be there
25-03-2009, 08:50   #48
stmochtas

Disappointed not to make this but will definitely hit knocknarea over the Easter break for a run. Training is going well but I have not done too much hill work yet.
25-03-2009, 11:06   #49
Pocabella

Sound, I'll be there. Registered for the run yesterday. Go number 49!!!! NO number 49, don't lie don't lie down and go asleep!!! You're on the side of a mountain!! GET UP NUMBER 49!!!!

https://pocabella.wordpress.com/
25-03-2009, 11:17   #50
c - 13

No. 52 here

Training fell apart the last month / month and a half so have to get my finger out, holiday in a week or two and then 4 months to the event.

See your blog is featured on the Warriors festival site pocabella, fair play
25-03-2009, 13:38   #51
mdlb

no. 46 here

got great run in two weeks and then ill be heading for the hills......big old hill in silvermines with my name on it!! should see me right !!
31-03-2009, 08:09   #52
rovers_runner

Bump!
Lads, any feedback on how the proposed new route went down?
I'm registering this year for sure now, is it definitely moved to the Saturday regardless of the route?

Is there a map of the new mountain route out of interest ?
31-03-2009, 09:11   #53
stmochtas

Also is there any chance that an Easter meet could be organized as I am going to be going for a run on Knocknarea anyway.
31-03-2009, 11:59   #54
Pocabella

Quote:
Originally Posted by rovers_runner View Post
Bump!
Lads, any feedback on how the proposed new route went down?
I'm registering this year for sure now, is it definitely moved to the Saturday regardless of the route?

Is there a map of the new mountain route out of interest ?

Hi Rovers Runner,

I was on the route on Saturday last with T-runner and some others. Instead of going up the normal path and coming back down that way, the proposed route starts about a mile down the road (if you come out of the car park, turn left and go for abouit a mile until you come to a lay-by on the left hand side of the road) We went in a gate opposite the lay-by and went straight up a field, through the gate at the top and then turned right along the fence and followed a sheep track along a wall that continued up the mountian for a few minutes. Then we went straight up a really steep bit and then followed the mountain around to the left along a multiple sheep track where you could see right out across sligo. We kept going until we hit a stone wall that went straight up the mountain and we followed that all the way up to the cairn. Then we went round the cairn and came back down the tourist track.

There may be a better way of describing that better but you'd have to ask t-runner.

I've never done the run before but I've been up the tourist track when I was younger. The new route is definitely more challenging but also more interesting. There's a really steep bit that would put hairs on your chest but the view's great after that part.

The new route if it goes through would mean that you'd avoid traffic with people coming up and down at the same time.

It's defo happening on Saturday regardless as far as I'm aware.

Hope this sheds a little light.

http://pocabella.wordpress.com/
31-03-2009, 12:36   #55
T runner

Hi

Pocabellas description is very accurate there. I can send you a map if they PM me their emal address.
Note the route is not finalized, the Warriors committee will decide based on feedback from the run last saturday and also on other concerns they may have.

Great runs by Poca, Moondancer, Hail da chimp amd others. We had 10 + out to test it.

The proposed new uphill is more challenging (and more rewarding) the downhill remains the same. The man and woman who wins the first prizes of 1000 euros will earn it!

There will be another Recce on the Easter weekend probably Easter saturday at 10.30.
31-03-2009, 12:39   #56
rovers_runner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pocabella View Post
Hi Rovers Runner,

I was on the route on Saturday last with T-runner and some others. Instead of going up the normal path and coming back down that way, the proposed route starts about a mile down the road (if you come out of the car park, turn left and go for abouit a mile until you come to a lay-by on the left hand side of the road) We went in a gate opposite the lay-by and went straight up a field, through the gate at the top and then turned right along the fence and followed a sheep track along a wall that continued up the mountian for a few minutes. Then we went straight up a really steep bit and then followed the mountain around to the left along a multiple sheep track where you could see right out across sligo. We kept going until we hit a stone wall that went straight up the mountain and we followed that all the way up to the cairn. Then we went round the cairn and came back down the tourist track.

There may be a better way of describing that better but you'd have to ask t-runner.

I've never done the run before but I've been up the tourist track when I was younger. The new route is definitely more challenging but also more interesting. There's a really steep bit that would put hairs on your chest but the view's great after that part.

The new route if it goes through would mean that you'd avoid traffic with people coming up and down at the same time.

It's defo happening on Saturday regardless as far as I'm aware.

Hope this sheds a little light.

http://pocabella.wordpress.com/

Thanks for the update Pocabella, have an idea that lay by might be, around Rathcarrick woods ?
Sounds as tough as the old course if not tougher so either way it'll be a challenge.
31-03-2009, 13:27   #57
MoonDancer

Thanks for that T Runner! but I have to admit I was a bit crap at that! I think I was the only one who had to actually sit down numerous times coming up that steep part! lol. Fair play to all of ye, you all flew through it, especially Pocabella! You sure impressed me!!! You kept up with all the proper Runners!!

When you come out of the car park you actually turn right going back towards Strandhill and that lay away is about a mile down that road.
I enjoyed it. Torture, but a pure sense of accomplishment when you get to the top.
31-03-2009, 15:00   #58
Pocabella

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoonDancer View Post
Thanks for that T Runner! but I have to admit I was a bit crap at that! I think I was the only one who had to actually sit down numerous times coming up that steep part! lol. Fair play to all of ye, you all flew through it, especially Pocabella! You sure impressed me!!! You kept up with all the proper Runners!!

When you come out of the car park you actually turn right going back towards Strandhill and that lay away is about a mile down that road.
I enjoyed it. Torture, but a pure sense of accomplishment when you get to the top.
Whoops! Yeah I meant turn right, don't mind my navigational dyslexia. Thanks Moondancer but to be honest I think the fact that either of us were able for it at all is to our credit!! I'd like to see how i feel about going up the mountain after the run up from the cannon!!

It felt great coming back down alright. I was flying down and as a result my quads were in BITS on sunday and yesterday. I had to come down any stairs one at a time. The old eccentric training caught them off guard. There's no preparation for that sort of downhill running I suppose.

I'm defo on for another jaunt on Easter Saturday.
31-03-2009, 15:49   #59
MoonDancer

Are you going to do the Mountain again Easter Sunday? God you are flying it, I was reading your blog & now you're running for 10 mins! I still haven't been able to complete the 1st 4 weeks continuously, something always happens and I have to give it a break. I'm fed up & I want to progress!!! Last week I was in hospital due to an allergic reaction with breathing problems, but still tried the Mountain Sat. I was completely drained though. Today I went for the 10x 1min run half of it was on hills and I felt a whole lot better. I think I'm going to do two weeks more of the 1st plan & then move onto the next plan. And I also gave up smoking yesterday, I'm sure that'll help the most! That just shows you the determination right there! lol
31-03-2009, 16:35   #60
Pocabella

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoonDancer View Post
Are you going to do the Mountain again Easter Sunday? God you are flying it, I was reading your blog & now you're running for 10 mins! I still haven't been able to complete the 1st 4 weeks continuously, something always happens and I have to give it a break. I'm fed up & I want to progress!!! Last week I was in hospital due to an allergic reaction with breathing problems, but still tried the Mountain Sat. I was completely drained though. Today I went for the 10x 1min run half of it was on hills and I felt a whole lot better. I think I'm going to do two weeks more of the 1st plan & then move onto the next plan. And I also gave up smoking yesterday, I'm sure that'll help the most! That just shows you the determination right there! lol

Hells bells Moondancer I can't believe you went up the mountain even though you were in hospital. Fair play x 1000,000! In fairness you are showing serious grit in sticking with it even though you've been sick. Hats 100% off to you.

Regarding the plan, I did three weeks on the first stage three on the second and that's why I'm on the third now. When I changed up to doing the 10 min stints it was hard enough but I'm getting used to it. Seeing as you've given up the fags you'll probably be able to do the same. YOu'll know yourself. If it's starting to get easier in the third week, change up on the fourth cos you want to keep yourself challenged to get fit.

Yeah I'd say I'll defo come back up on Easter weekend. It's good to get out of Dublin cos it stops me spending loads of money getting into a state in out on the piss (although I'd say Fentan who own's Harry's in Rosses Point would be to differ on the getting into a state issue ) I'd say you'll be on for getting back up the mountain on Easter Saturday closer to the time.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion