Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

16-08-2010, 12:09   #1051
Magown3

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoverJames View Post
€3000, is that a bargain for a 13 year old 2.8 A8 ? €3000 is a good amount of cash.
No it's not. When I viewed the ad it was only a few mins old and the price was actually €300.... Must have been edited after I viewed. His bad, not mine.

At 3k, it's not such a bargain.
Thanks from:
16-08-2010, 12:13   #1052
high horse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magown3 View Post
No it's not. When I viewed the ad it was only a few mins old and the price was actually €300.... Must have been edited after I viewed. His bad, not mine.

At 3k, it's not such a bargain.
It was 300 when I clicked on the link too and even though I don't have it to spare, I considered whether I could buy it anyway. It was a serious bargain at 300, not so much at 3000
16-08-2010, 12:17   #1053
daRobot

Quote:
€3000, is that a bargain for a 13 year old 2.8 A8 ? €3000 is a good amount of cash.

I don't think that's great value at all.

Sub 1500 and it'd be looking a bit better.

There's an S8 for 3500 on donedeal at the moment, but it looks a right aul' dog
16-08-2010, 15:56   #1054
cadaliac

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichyX View Post
Good stuff.
Might take a look at a few of them since they're going for great prices.
How's the boot size?
Boot size is Ok. Its not hatch back size but fine for what I want it for.
I couldn't believe how good the engine and running gear are. The Mazda 2.0 engine is pretty much trouble free and has been known for 200k plus mileage.
Its just cheap motoring really.
16-08-2010, 16:17   #1055
langdang
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaliac View Post
Boot size is Ok. Its not hatch back size but fine for what I want it for.
I couldn't believe how good the engine and running gear are. The Mazda 2.0 engine is pretty much trouble free and has been known for 200k plus mileage.
Its just cheap motoring really.
I have the estate version, a grand workhorse but showing it's age a bit now.
Some of them will smoke a bit on startup from cold - the valve seals are usually the issue.
Mine was smoking a small bit for a long time before it got really bad. Still passed NCT recently with only 40ppm Hydrocarbons at high revs (after a good warm up up the motorway). Got inexplicably worse for using oil after the last oil change but hopefully may settle down again. Mine is never gonna see 200k - I suspect the servicing it got before I had it wasn't the greatest. Still very good pull in the engine considering how basic it is, no variable valve timing or anything...
16-08-2010, 18:07   #1056
RoverJames
Banned

Quote:
.............. and then the gearbox went. .............

Bangernomics (it's not always plain sailing)
Every cloud and all that
Bought this yesterday

Cost a bit more than what the last 4 or 5 yokes cost though
16-08-2010, 18:18   #1057
mickdw

thats looks decent.
16-08-2010, 18:19   #1058
fonecrusher1

Lookin good.

Come on RJ spill the beans, how much?, spec?, condition????
16-08-2010, 20:32   #1059
Saab Ed

http://cgi.ebay.ie/ROVER-K-SERIES-ML...-/200409668201

Thanks from:
16-08-2010, 20:40   #1060
Ricardo G

What about this Just in case any of you know someone looking for a cheap yoke........its mine 269,000 miles and shes taxed and tested for 350 squid, 1.6 petrol and still going strong

16-08-2010, 20:49   #1061
RoverJames
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonecrusher1 View Post
Lookin good.

Come on RJ spill the beans, how much?, spec?, condition????
2.5 v6, auto, 83k miles, 2 year test, leather and suede seats, cruise control, parking sensors and all the usual stuff, abs, all electrics etc. Screen price was 2950, didnt pay close to that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saab Ed View Post
fail Ed ! 5 engines available in the zt , hope to feck this zt behaves herself.

Last edited by RoverJames; 16-08-2010 at 22:25.
Thanks from:
16-08-2010, 20:55   #1062
Saab Ed

Dont know what it needs for a test but these things are a bloody rocket. Best kept secret ever , they'll murder civics.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1503657

Thanks from:
16-08-2010, 20:58   #1063
Saab Ed

Ah lads , look at this yoke for a grand. Course you'll get it for less. Full service history and a new test . Proper Arthur Daley

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1445057

(4) thanks from:
16-08-2010, 23:08   #1064
Arthur Daley

tempting.......
Thanks from:
16-08-2010, 23:42   #1065
Limerick man

Quote:
Every cloud and all that
Bought this yesterday

Cost a bit more than what the last 4 or 5 yokes cost though
Bastard! Highly jealous

Picked up my GTI, sailed home from Kinsale! Happy days

Edit: Now THAT Xj is proper bangernomics!
(2) thanks from:
Thread Closed