Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

24-05-2012, 23:02   #5386
af_thefragile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollyd90 View Post
I know a person who dials your number and lets it ring once and hangs up before you get a chance to ring back so when you see a missed call from them and you ring them back. Sometimes if you ring them and you get the chance to answer they hang up on purpose half way throught the conversation and when you ring back they say 'oh I rang out of credit'
Well if someone does that to me, I usually won't call them back. I just say if it's important they'll ring me back...
25-05-2012, 01:55   #5387
retalivity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollyd90 View Post
I know a person who dials your number and lets it ring once and hangs up before you get a chance to ring back so when you see a missed call from them and you ring them back. Sometimes if you ring them and you get the chance to answer they hang up on purpose half way throught the conversation and when you ring back they say 'oh I rang out of credit'
i accidentally the whole post
25-05-2012, 04:00   #5388
maninasia

Quote:
Originally Posted by stetyrrell View Post
That's not really scabby, that's just genius.
Nope it's plain old lying, dishonesty, selfishness and greed rolled into one. Watch out for mates like that. They'll be doing the exact same thing to you, chumps.
(2) thanks from:
25-05-2012, 04:30   #5389
fortwilliam

Quote:
Originally Posted by filmbuffboy View Post
My mother has the habit of asking for extra ketchup, salt, vinegar sachets when at restaurants
That, my friend, is not a restaurant, it is a diner.
26-05-2012, 04:46   #5390
_AVALANCHE_
Closed Account

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/use-adv...inner-android/

To help get stinges pay their way!
26-05-2012, 08:10   #5391
Mollyd90

ha ha love it, did you notice that the person using the app in the example had half an omlette and only paying for that
Thanks from:
26-05-2012, 15:26   #5392
Rocky_Dennis
Closed Account

Having a chat about stingy people the other night and I was reminded of this one.
A friend of mine bought a house, he gutted the whole house and put new insulated slabs on the walls, he asked me would I do the plastering for him.
Bare in mind at this stage that, I'm a full time student and at the time I was working in the local shop too. I agreed to do the plastering for him in between going to college and working in the shop. Anyway I gave him a list of the material I needed to do the job and because I hadn't been plastering in a couple of years, I misjudged the amount of material I needed, I left myself short a bag of filler.
His father arrives in and I tell him, I need another bag. "how much will that cost?" "About €13" "Will you pick one up and I will give you the money for it tomorrow?" "No bother"
Following day he arrives in "How much was it?" "€13" "Have you the receipt?"
I couldn't believe my ears. I had to hand him the receipt before he gave me the money.
Anyway, I finished the job which would have cost in the region of €3000 for labour. I text my "friend" to tell him that the job was finished. I didn't want to be paid for it but I hadn't told him that, I was thinking, when he tries to give me money, I would just refuse it and tell him, he could buy me a pint.
2 weeks after I text him to tell him I was finished the job, I got a text saying thanks for doing the job and that was it, didn't offer me a penny and as I've said, I didn't want anything but it was the principal of not even offering.
I don't really associate with this guy anymore, miserable fcuker.
28-05-2012, 16:42   #5393
curlzy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky_Dennis View Post
Having a chat about stingy people the other night and I was reminded of this one.
A friend of mine bought a house, he gutted the whole house and put new insulated slabs on the walls, he asked me would I do the plastering for him.
Bare in mind at this stage that, I'm a full time student and at the time I was working in the local shop too. I agreed to do the plastering for him in between going to college and working in the shop. Anyway I gave him a list of the material I needed to do the job and because I hadn't been plastering in a couple of years, I misjudged the amount of material I needed, I left myself short a bag of filler.
His father arrives in and I tell him, I need another bag. "how much will that cost?" "About €13" "Will you pick one up and I will give you the money for it tomorrow?" "No bother"
Following day he arrives in "How much was it?" "€13" "Have you the receipt?"
I couldn't believe my ears. I had to hand him the receipt before he gave me the money.
Anyway, I finished the job which would have cost in the region of €3000 for labour. I text my "friend" to tell him that the job was finished. I didn't want to be paid for it but I hadn't told him that, I was thinking, when he tries to give me money, I would just refuse it and tell him, he could buy me a pint.
2 weeks after I text him to tell him I was finished the job, I got a text saying thanks for doing the job and that was it, didn't offer me a penny and as I've said, I didn't want anything but it was the principal of not even offering.
I don't really associate with this guy anymore, miserable fcuker.
Around the part in bold I would have written "scabby ****" surrounded by swirls on the lovely smooth wall and let him pay another plasterer to fix it. At the very least you should go and p*ss in his letterbox, what a scabby scumbag. You're way better off not being friends with him.
28-05-2012, 16:45   #5394
Conall Cernach

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky_Dennis View Post
it was the principal of not even offering.
Headmasters are notoriously stingy.
28-05-2012, 21:36   #5395
Rocky_Dennis
Closed Account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conall Cernach View Post
Headmasters are notoriously stingy.
Burnt
31-05-2012, 01:38   #5396
eth0
Banned

There was this fella in collitch. He'd come in one day boasting that he got a cheque off his dad for 6,000e, or 16,000 I can't remember but it was a good bit. He'd show off this cheque to us, he got a couple of them throughout the year.

The same week he got the cheque he would come in a few days later saying 'has anyone got 2 cent, I need 2 cent to buy a bar of chocolate'. Other times it would be 10 or 20c he'd need to print pages (we had to pay to print stuff).

He'd regularly show his AIB online banking thing he'd be at it in the class and he'd start cribbing about how there was 'only _ euros in it' where _ was always a number between 4 and 20. The cheque would go into another account he didn't show us. He'd cribb about his lack of funds at every opportunity.

He had this ould heap of shoite of a car that hasn't seen a drop of maintainence since he got it. Engine is about to pack up cause it hasn't seen an oil change in 5 years. He ran this out of petrol several times

He dossed a whole week of college to save about 200e off a ticket even though he was way, way behind on everything.

This other lad gave him a load of lifts and actually spent a sh1tload of time helping him with all sorts of things, never gave him a cent for petrol or showed the slightest bit of appreciation.

Cheap earphones from Dealz were one of his favourites as well. He'd keep buying these even though they kept breaking instead of buying a proper pair.

There was other things he done as well, can't think of them now
(2) thanks from:
31-05-2012, 01:57   #5397
true
Banned

at the canteen in work one of the lads always takes home a few sachets of sugar. He does not take sugar in his tea / coffee, but his wife does. Thats mean. It means she never has to buy a bag of sugar though.
31-05-2012, 01:59   #5398
eth0
Banned

O yah, he had this pair of white slippers that he claimed cost him 2e, but later that went up to 6e.

He wore those everywhere but they were no good unless it was dry. A drop of rain or standing in a puddle would destroy them. He couldnt walk on anything but a flat dry surface but that didnt bother him cause the slippers only cost him 2e
31-05-2012, 04:17   #5399
retalivity

Quote:
Originally Posted by eth0 View Post
There was this fella in collitch.
gah!!!
31-05-2012, 18:06   #5400
Aenaes

I googled collitch, thinking it was a place.

Anyway, I was working with a lad who was a member of the lunchbox brigade as he was too mean to go to shop. One day he arrives in for lunch with mouldy bread making up his sandwiches. When we pointed it out he said, "Sure if I just eat around it, it will be grand."

Another one was a story I heard about before I started working there. One of the lads wouldn't wash himself. The rest of them had to leave a bar of soap in the front of the van so he would get the hint. He'd take it home with him and come back in smelling a bit nicer.
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion