|
|
#1 |
|
No Drama Theatre Representative
![]() Join Date: Jun 2005
|
"Those damn foreigners again"
Saw this article in the Indo today. I bleeding hate the paper but the article does raise a valid question or 2, in a round about way.
http://www.independent.ie/opinion/co...e-1456226.html In summary the article discusses statistics from the CSO that shows that Nigerians are the second beneficiaries of state paid rent in Ireland yet only 38% of Nigerians at working age are working. The journalist is trying to suggest that no one wants to talk about the topic because its *controversial*! What do you think? Best left for pub banter? Do you really give a toss if a mere 3,024 non EU citizens are availing of free rent when we live in a country of almost 5m people?
| Thanks from: |
|
|
|
To remove these adverts, please create an account, or log in! You must have an account to post anyway :-) |
|
|
#3 |
|
![]() |
Eh? A bit late Faceman.
Mike.
|
|
#4 |
|
![]() |
|
|
#8 |
|
![]() |
+2
You can't just expect to come over here, not work, and get money from the state when you are contributing nothing to the economy. Some of the foreigners are getting social welfare for everything and anything, rent allowances and grants to go to college here |
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
![]() |
im all for the argument that if they dont wanna work, then they can gtfo.
and dont get me started on the shower of cu*ts that are out begging in town with babies...
|
|
#11 | |
|
![]() |
Quote:
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
![]() |
I have no problem with people coming over here from wherever if they're willing to earn an honest living, pay their taxes and give back to the country they're taking from.
I don't like the idea of people coming over thinking it's an easy ride and us tax payers will just support them with a smile.
|
|
#13 |
|
Hosted Moderator
![]() |
I've no time for any dole spongers. Be it Irish, Nigerian or any other nationality. Earn your keep! Or begone.
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
![]() |
I hate all that PC controvesy bollix that surrounds points raised about non nationals. Everybody dances around it as if they are afraid they'll be accused of being racist.
But if it's ignored it's gonna create a divide because they'll grow up here never being fully integrated. I was in town the other day and a group of Africans were running amok on O Connell street outside Dr. Quirkey's. About 20 of them fighting each other in 2 groups and bumping into people at the bus stop and shouting and all that stuff. You could see the old people at the bus stops looked afraid because they looked like they wanted to kill each other they way they were going on. 2 Garda cars drove by and never stopped. There were about 3 guards at the corner of Henry street who could see down and a Guard popped his head out to see what all the noise was from the Garda station on O Connell street. Not a thing was done about this and it went on for about 15 minutes or so. But i guarantee you if that was a bunch of Irish scum bags they would have been down pulling everyone away into cars. Stuff like the above is just going to create ghettos and the feeling that they can get away with things because the Guards are afraid to go near them in case racism is screamed. |
|
|
| Thanks from: |
|
|
#15 | |
|
![]() |
*Waits for anecdote regarding some extravagent benefit immigrants supposedly get.*
But yeah, if they can work they should work. If they're not working they should be deported. Simple as. Edit: Quote:
Last edited by andrew; 19-08-2008 at 10:16. |
|
|
|
![]() |
|
|
| Display Modes | |
|
|