Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

26-04-2011, 00:38   #2806
Salmon

Send a message via MSN to Salmon
Probably not the best forum to discuss it but I think that there needs to be some major changes in attitudes! What if the deceased involved was wore a cheap suit (if you know what I mean)? I'm sure they would have recieved a better send off!
Thanks from:
26-04-2011, 00:44   #2807
cordub

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salmon View Post
Probably not the best forum to discuss it but I think that there needs to be some major changes in attitudes! What if the deceased involved was wore a cheap suit (if you know what I mean)? I'm sure they would have recieved a better send off!
I wonder if that attitude is thought in Beladd or are they being handpicked like that?? Feckers am feeling very bitterlemonish tonight sick and sad thing is the man in question came in to the jail last week and was presented with his long service award and a big lot of SUITS attended , two faced feckers , anyway rant over , as they say your only just a number to some
26-04-2011, 00:58   #2808
Salmon

Send a message via MSN to Salmon
Dont think beladd is to blame to be fair! Have heard rumours of people looking for promotion feeling the need to "distance themselves from the staff" though so I guess it's an attitude that's encouraged from Longford!
26-04-2011, 01:17   #2809
cordub

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salmon View Post
Dont think beladd is to blame to be fair! Have heard rumours of people looking for promotion feeling the need to "distance themselves from the staff" though so I guess it's an attitude that's encouraged from Longford!
Your probably right am just annoyed now anyway !! just dont get how people cant respect people at times like this when we all know at times of crisis in the prison service we would never hesitate to help our fellow officer!! It must explain why I never climbed the ladder
26-04-2011, 14:22   #2810
Rawhead

RIP the officer who passed.
I'm going to play devil's advocate here. The prison in question is Ireland's only high security jail. If the Governor decided to let all the due on officers off to go to the funeral and the roof went off the place he'd be hung and properly so. I 100% agree that the relationship between officers and management is nasty and that most Governors hold the dirtbirds in higher regard than their officers, but the warder can be a awkward animal also.
Volunteers from next door could have been sought to provide cover and they could have been paid out of pooled hours. I think it would have been a bit Irish to expect that officers be left understaffed while the rest of their colleagues were up the road filling it.......
26-04-2011, 16:08   #2811
cordub

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawhead View Post
RIP the officer who passed.
I'm going to play devil's advocate here. The prison in question is Ireland's only high security jail. If the Governor decided to let all the due on officers off to go to the funeral and the roof went off the place he'd be hung and properly so. I 100% agree that the relationship between officers and management is nasty and that most Governors hold the dirtbirds in higher regard than their officers, but the warder can be a awkward animal also.
Volunteers from next door could have been sought to provide cover and they could have been paid out of pooled hours. I think it would have been a bit Irish to expect that officers be left understaffed while the rest of their colleagues were up the road filling it.......
Your absolutly right raw head i totally agree with you about letting all the officers off but there were 4 yes 4 men in question here 1 of which trained with the officer who died!!As it was the family off the officer changed the funeral time to facilitate more officers being able to attend ie lunch time!!
26-04-2011, 20:49   #2812

RIP Walshy. Couldn't make it down.
Hey lads , keep it country about the giving out. Not for an internet forum. At least in the locker room it's hearsay, on here they can prove stuff if they want to get you. The watchers watch this forum . Be advised .
Thanks from:
26-04-2011, 20:54   #2813
Shield
Quote:
Originally Posted by 480905 View Post
The watchers watch this forum
Very true.
Thanks from:
26-04-2011, 20:59   #2814
Rawhead

Fair enough. I agree that the relationship between the bosses and warders is horrendous at the moment and is probably going to get worse.
Thanks from:
26-04-2011, 21:15   #2815

I know they can be arseholeš but all we need do is rise above it and get on with it. They can have their power trips , but if you do what you're supposed to you can't go far wrong. They have their jobs to do and we have ours.... And the job still has to be done...Whatever we think of people, but once we continue to be professional and let them decide how they want to conduct themselves. I've always treated people as how I'd like to be treated, prisoners, Staff AND Governors and it hasn't done me any harm yet.
Don't give them a stick to beat you with
Thanks from:
27-04-2011, 00:01   #2816
cordub

Quote:
I know they can be arseholeš but all we need do is rise above it and get on with it. They can have their power trips , but if you do what you're supposed to you can't go far wrong. They have their jobs to do and we have ours.... And the job still has to be done...Whatever we think of people, but once we continue to be professional and let them decide how they want to conduct themselves. I've always treated people as how I'd like to be treated, prisoners, Staff AND Governors and it hasn't done me any harm yet.
Don't give them a stick to beat you with
I would the same sentiments myself normally just a bit touchy at the moment I do my job and get on ok with the powers that be . I must add i am not working in the place that im complaining about thank god
27-04-2011, 00:23   #2817

Quote:
Originally Posted by senordingdong View Post
Well, them and the people that they represented.
Of which you are now one.....
27-04-2011, 01:11   #2818
bitter_lemon

Quote:
Not for an internet forum. At least in the locker room it's hearsay, on here they can prove stuff if they want to get you. The watchers watch this forum . Be advised .
i agree. i know you are angry and annoyed and disappointed cordub in the IPS. but they are aware of everything.
i am sorry it has come to this but unfortunately this is the way it has become.
usually if they are understaffed they just let a few representatives of the union go to a funeral of a colleague or family.
unfortunately staff numbers are very dodgy these days and in defense they would let people go if they had the numbers but they simply don't anymore.
a private forum would be no different because they too would infiltrate it and rat back.

bitter lemon is bitter for a reason
28-04-2011, 22:45   #2819
touareg

First of all would like to say RIP too a gentle man who always put a smile on people s faces . . you shall be missed dave . ..to cordub in cork ....negativity and contempt and hear say never brings anything positive to our job . ..there are still good people in our job at every level . .but like everything in life it all get s personal at some stage .. .. .
(2) thanks from:
29-04-2011, 02:37   #2820
cordub

Quote:
Originally Posted by touareg View Post
First of all would like to say RIP too a gentle man who always put a smile on people s faces . . you shall be missed dave . ..to cordub in cork ....negativity and contempt and hear say never brings anything positive to our job . ..there are still good people in our job at every level . .but like everything in life it all get s personal at some stage .. .. .
Your dead right that negativity etc , doesnt bring anything positive to our job and yes I know of and work with good people at every level too , but sometimes when things get personal we see some things in a different light , so onwards we trudge and do as dave would ,do with a smile and a joke and say feck em
Thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion