Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meeja Ireland

deelite wrote: »
    could you imagine what Suzanne is like in the bedroom!!!!!

Exhausting, I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Yes I wondering where Bob got the money for Charlotte but he gave Suzanne the cheque :confused:

I wonder will Suzanne hammer Nessa also

Remember he got paid off by the Dillons, I think it was 5,000 Euro so he could easily pay off what he took from Charlotte with that.

Oh she will tell her in no uncertain terms to stay away but Damien will be the one to truly suffer :(

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

That final scene was difficult to watch, even though I knew it was coming - very well done.
    Great episode overall - Bob stepping onto the bus was great. Very poetic. Hope he won't be gone for long...

Seems Robert proposes to Cleo... RTE guide also interviewing Jim Bartley (Bela Doyle) might be worth a read...

0003b53f-314.jpg

Article about the redesign of RTE:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0920/breaking30.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Epicurus

dr dillon & zumo share the same birthday? and 21 for zumo? he looks about 27!

I felt sorry for Zumo last night. Judith was having a nice family dinner in an expensive restaurant with presents everywhere whereas Zumo was alone in McCoys on his 21st. Not even his mother could be bothered to see him for the day; instead giving Barry a card for Zumo. Eileen didn't get a mention either

Bob though; what an exit. Nice moment with Charlie as well remembering Mags.
    who will entertain us now?

Esther and her continued quest towards getting Avi into bed. I presume thats where it's going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭endakenny

Given that Mark is still at home, it must be only a matter of time before he learns about what Suzanne is doing to his brother. Is this gonna drag on till Christmas?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

endakenny wrote: »
    Given that Mark is still at home, it must be only a matter of time before he learns about what Suzanne is doing to his brother. Is this gonna drag on till Christmas?

Am sure he will also learn what his brother done to his wife and why he is in his own way warning him off having anything to do with neassa

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

endakenny wrote: »

It would have to be a long story line - I mean an abusive partner doesn't stop overnight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭endakenny

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Am sure he will also learn what his brother done to his wife....
    What Suzanne has done his much worse. The difference between adultery and hitting someone with a snooker cue is that adultery is not a crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

suzanne reacted the way i THINK i would react in my head to a situation like that - for soap, it's for the viewers - but if that was real life, she should have just walked out & that is all.

i mean, if i caught my husband with another woman, i'd want to bate the pair of them... but i'd probably just walk away!

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

It saddens me that my recorder cut out just as Bob handed Zumo the money at the bus stop which means that I also missed the repeat...

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭Eyespy

Epicurus wrote: »
    Bit harsh from Bob about Louies children. They hate each other, yes, but Bob has lost a son; he watched as his partner lost her son.

Dolores is being wasted sitting around with Esther and Charlie drinking tea. She's too young and good looking to be wasting away like that. Put her back in with Wayne or develop an unhealthy obsession with Tommy Dillon. Do something.

Epicurus, I usually agree with you but I think Bob was on the money to lash out at Louie like he did. In fairness to Bob, he's been on the receiving end of stings from Louie for weeks and I think what's sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander.

I'm all for another of Dolores's unhealthy obsessions. She does them so well, :D the confession scene. "Bless me father for I have sinned father, *pure contempt in her tone* I've had an affair father, with a father, father" :D

tk123 wrote: »
    from the wiki
    "The series was originally focused on six families: the O'Hanlons, the Kellys, the Clarkes, the Doyles, the McCoys and the Bowens" ;)

:( Guess that's me out of the competition. I don't know where I got the Corcorans. :(

Eyespy wrote: »
    :( Guess that's me out of the competition. I don't know where I got the Corcorans. :(

I would have had the Corcorans as well if I'd entered.
    When Fair City began, the show was based around characters in four households: The O'Hanlons, The Kellys, The Clarkes and The Corcorans

http://www.rte.ie/about/pressreleases/2006/1127/faircitydec06.html

I can't believe Leo hadn't got the bottle to stand up for Bob - he let his weasel son talk him out of it - by the way why hasn't Dean told anybody Nessa is the reason Tracy left Carrigstown. And I think Carol was there for that scene - how come she hasn't remembered Nessa's face....

Ah Leo is sound and I do kind of get where Dean is coming from. *Long story, sorry* A couple of weeks ago my dog came home with a rabbit, dead of course yuck yuck. I managed to separate them and threw the bunny into the newly emptied wheelie bin. 3 days later my dad went out with a bag of rubbish, cue a Slither moment when the bin errupted in a mass of maggots. I had to empty the bin and wash it out. Vom* As Dean and Louie both had to get in and clear it up, I can see why Dean, who did try to help Bob sell his greens to Louie, withdrew support.

Was Neasa's Ritchie's Moll?

DeepBlue wrote: »
    /delurks

No, That girl was some prostitute. The thug who Tracy knew set it up so that she would flirt with Dean at the hotel and gave Dean some sob story that she was being harassed by some guy and asked if Dean would escort her to her room to give this other fictional guy the hint to leave her alone.
    Dean obliged while Tracy and Carol watched (unknown to Dean) and they both jumped to the wrong conclusion.
    I don't know if Carol eventually realised that she was wrong or not though.

Anyway that girl wasn't Neasa.

Thanks for that, I couldn't remember

Was that a golf club or a pool cue ?

I was thinking this is a lot like Tiger woods

It was a pool cue, the one she bought him as a make-up gift IIRC

suzanne reacted the way i THINK i would react in my head to a situation like that - for soap, it's for the viewers - but if that was real life, she should have just walked out & that is all.

i mean, if i caught my husband with another woman, i'd want to bate the pair of them... but i'd probably just walk away!

As a mum of three I would never lay a finger on my other half if he cheated on me. I would gracefully leave the house and let him and her raise the children that would be their honeymoon period over....:D

Epicurus wrote: »
    I would have had the Corcorans as well if I'd entered.

http://www.rte.ie/about/pressreleases/2006/1127/faircitydec06.html

Thanks Epicurus, that url looks about right. I knew I got it on the web but couldn't remember where. Why didn't you enter yourself?

Would have loved to but not going to be available on the day of the tour.

As a mum of three I would never lay a finger on my other half if he cheated on me. I would gracefully leave the house and let him and her raise the children that would be their honeymoon period over....:D

LMAO deelite :D
    I was pretty shocked at the escalating violence for the last few weeks from the plate of food, the incident with the seafood and the mirror scene to Sunday night's scene. Neasa was only an excuse to lay into Damian imo. And to think he unwittingly tried to console her after she was rebuffed by Louie. The disgust in Suzanne's face when she recoiled from him outside Vino's. I think Suzanne has emotionally moved on from Damian but I can't work out why she won't leave him. Sarah Flood has done an epic job playing a sleeping monster but God, Suzanne is loathsome. As horrid as Dominic was, I think the audience always felt some empathy with him, losing his business and his daughter and then lashing out at Tracey. At the end of the day, although initially rejecting the idea of counselling he did want to change who he was becoming even if Tracey couldn't trust him anymore.

I hope it's the end of Suzanne and Damian. I think they probably stayed together too long, maybe out of habit more so than any undying passion. Suzanne is way too high maintainence in every respect and seems to long to be in a different sphere, both professionally and romantically. She seems to be reaching for the stuff she was denied the first time round. Although Damian seems to think he should be punished for Neasa, getting attacked with a pool cue is too far. He said it all really when he told Neasa "You don't know what it's like waking up every morning beside her" To have that level of hopelessness that early in the day :(. Despite Suzanne reaching out to better herself, Damian has the most going for him. He has a close circle of friends especially his relationships with Wayne and Dean that Suzanne just can't compete with. At the end of the day in her darkest hour, the miscarriage, she was utterly alone in the house without family or friends.

I also find it slightly ironic that she's gravitated towards Louie, who himself lashed out physically at his family. I wonder how he'll respond when the sh!t hits the fan.

Sorry for the long post :)

Sunday
    Damien asks Leo for more work to avoid being at home. Zak admits to Judith that he has fallen out with Rachel. Suzanne learns from Mark that Damien has left the house early. Charlie blurts out to Bela and Esther that Zumo can't read. Bela is disappointed that Charlie has given up teaching Zumo.

Robert conceals the engagement ring he has bought for Cleo. Zak accidentally damages the vegetable patch in a dare. Zumo is furious to discover that Charlie blabbed his secret to Bela.
    Neasa leaves the Hungry Pig as soon as Suzanne walks in. Cleo wishes her real mother would be as understanding as Aoife. Bela reminds Charlie that Mags would have helped Zumo. Suzanne accuses Leo of taking advantage of Damien.

Judith and Tommy find his vegetable patch ruined. Bela discovers Zumo hammering on the door of his home, shouting for Charlie. Bela tries to reason with him. Suzanne fails to overrule Leo's invitation to Damien to go for a drink. Bela advises Robert of protocol for asking someone to marry you. He mischievously steals Charlie's glasses before he gives his speech and gives them to Zumo.

Zak covers his shame when Tommy praises him for helping with the vegetable patch. Aoife gives Robert her blessing and reveals her pride at gaining Robert as a 'son-in-law'! Charlie discovers what it's like not to be able to read in front of a crowd without his glasses. Zumo saves the day.

Damien is surprised when he sees how vulnerable Suzanne is. Charlie comforts Zumo who reveals how important it is for him to be able to read for his sister. They decide to try again. Damien agrees to do whatever Suzanne wants him to do.

Tuesday
    Charlie decides he is ready to give away some of Mags's things. Robert and Cleo are unimpressed with Aoife when she goes out without a disguise. Judith worries that Neasa and Caoimhe are setting a bad example to their brother and sister. Jennifer puts pressure on Deegan to go to a garda function with her.

Dolores is appalled to hear of Cleo's ongoing lies about Aoife. She tells her that she is ashamed of her. Charlie discovers that Mags kept a diary and gets upset when he reads it. Dean advises Robert to take Cleo to Paris and propose. Deegan encourages Dolores to contact Cleo's real mum Patricia. Deegan asks Ray to take Jennifer to the garda function.

Judith puts pressure on Vivienne to work for her as a practice nurse. Charlie reveals that Mags's memoir portrays him as being set in his ways. Robert proposes to Cleo and she says yes! Charlie, upset about Mags, turns Zumo away from his reading lesson. Charlie lies to Vivienne about Zumo's reason for calling to his house. Dolores fails to persuade Cleo to tell Robert the truth. Charlotte insists that Vivienne should take Judith's job offer.

Esther and Bela agree to help Charlie to see the positives in Mags's diary. He convinces Charlie to mark her anniversary by addressing the criticisms. Judith accuses Tommy of being too soft on his daughters. Jennifer is disappointed when she hears that she's going to the ball with Ray. Dolores and Deegan surprise Cleo by bringing her real mother to Carrigstown. She rejects her

Wednesday
    Dolores begs Cleo to give Patricia a chance. Judith pressures Tommy into assigning chores to Neasa and Caoimhe. Cleo reluctantly agrees to Robert's plans for dinner for Aoife. Bela and Esther decide Charlie must do something spontaneous. Ray plays along when Jennifer lies to Deegan she has plans to go out with Ray. Robert asks Dean to be his best man.

Neasa and Caoimhe manipulate their way out of doing housework. Deegan and Dolores bond over their respective problems. Charlie gets some advice on shoplifting from Zumo. Cleo tells Dean she can't think about marriage and is shocked when her mother arrives at her workplace. She rushes her out of the Hungry Pig. Cleo is unimpressed when Patricia claims that she is clean.

Charlie prepares for a raid on McCoys. Esther tells a furious Judith that her daughters are in McCoys. Cleo reveals to Patricia the lies she told Robert about her mother. Judith berates her daughters for taking advantage of Tommy. Charlie takes a packet of cheese and onion crisps from McCoys but pays €5 before leaving. He runs from the scene of the crime with Esther!

Charlie pretends he stole the crisps but his lie is exposed by Louie. Tommy orders his daughters to pay rent or leave home. Cleo introduces Patricia and reveals her deception to Robert. He rejects her. Ray finds he is the third wheel in his own home again. Cleo begs Robert not to break up with her but Robert shuts Cleo out.

Thursday
    Robert seeks Deans advice on what to do. Charlie decides he wants to ride a motorbike. Bela and Esther are doubtful. Ray is hurt to discover that Jennifer used him to get back at Deegan. Dean advises Cleo to declare her love for Robert. Charlie arrives in full leather biker gear and challenges Esther to ride the motorbike.

Esther goes off on the bike screaming, thinking that the person driving is Charlie.
    Robert tells Dolores how heartbroken and confused he is. Ray reveals to Dolores that he has feelings for Jennifer. The motorbiker is revealed as Tommy and Esther is disgusted with Charlie. Caoimhe and Neasa decide to purposely get jobs Judith would disapprove of.

Patricia reveals to Cleo that she is seriously ill. Charlie goes for a spin on the bike with Tommy. Neasa fails to get work with Esther. Robert tells Cleo he needs space to make his decision. Ray refuses to go out with Deegan when he learns Jennifer is going too, but is forced to go.

Cleo asks Patricia to stay in Carrigstown for a while. Charlie decides to hold a swing dance in the park. Caoimhe berates Neasa after she admits to sleeping with Damien. Robert asks a devastated Cleo for his ring back and for her to move out.

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Am sure he will also learn what his brother done to his wife and why he is in his own way warning him off having anything to do with neassa

I can't believe you are condoning abuse and thinking that sleeping with someone is worse than that. Shocking.

I also find it slightly ironic that she's gravitated towards Louie, who himself lashed out physically at his family. I wonder how he'll respond when the sh!t hits the fan.

Great point. That hadn't even occurred to me. I could see it cropping up a few years down the line, if she is with Louie (not impossible) and the new kids resent their step-mother.

The television centre, one of the oldest buildings on the Montrose site, will not be demolished, under the plans. However, the Radio Centre, library and the multi-storey car park will be knocked down, along with the Fair City set.

This is about the long-term RTE development plans. I presume they mean the Fair City set will be knocked down and replaced with something bigger and more suitable for High Definition broadcast.

Full story here:

The German ambassador will have a hernia.

This is about the long-term RTE development plans. I presume they mean the Fair City set will be knocked down and replaced with something bigger and more suitable for High Definition broadcast.

Full story here:

The German ambassador will have a hernia.

I had read that as well, I fear the ambassador shall relocate to Germany now ;):D

Has anybody won the Fair City Comp?

The winner will be revealed on the fair city website tomorrow.

angel01 wrote: »
    I can't believe you are condoning abuse and thinking that sleeping with someone is worse than that. Shocking.

Please show me where i condoned abuse.

Yes