Old Irish Banknotes - Ploughmans and Lady Lavery - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

22-07-2008, 16:50   #1
ApocalypseAces

Old Irish Banknotes - Ploughmans and Lady Lavery

Hey, im new to boards but have found it strange that there are no threads relating directly to the Ploughmans series of Banknotes.

I am a keen collector of all Irish banknotes and im in the process of getting my very own Ploughmans £5 sometime this week. My concern is that although i want to complete my full collection i fear i will never ever get my hands on a Ploughmans £10 banknote, its taken me almost 8 years to get the £5.

If anyone has knowledge in this field please discuss on this thread, as i say i can help with your concerns on these banknotes as i have them all, although i have very little solid knowledge with the worth of each note, again people can inform me of the full range of notes as they seem fit. I woulnt be that accurate in my estimations.

I know the Ploughmans series include the 1,5,10,20,50 and 100 pound banknote although after in depth study i found that all of the 20,50 & 100 notes have been reclaimed and accounted for.

Please add any knowledge, concerns, feedback or related topics here.

Cheers
Advertisement
23-07-2008, 00:12   #2
CowboyDreams

Mod: Chess
hi would you know how much the £1 ploughman is worth. thanks!
23-07-2008, 09:17   #3
ApocalypseAces

£1 Ploughmans

Hey Cowboy,
I bought a Ploughmans pound 6 years ago for €187, it has no cuts, tears or pinholes but has little or no rigidity or crisp in it, its soft and quite grubby looking. I am currently bidding on one of the cleanest plougmans note ive ever seen and its already fetching circa €350 and i imagine its gonna reach between €420 and €500.

If your looking to sell a note, id put it on ebay with good scans or photos and a detailed description. You will have no problem selling it for a good price.