Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
09-07-2008, 18:55   #1
boardsie08
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 299
How to stream US/UK TV programmes?

First of all not sure where to post this so if it's in the wrong place, I do apologise.

There's some US and UK tv shows which are uploaded onto their networks websites which US/UK peeps can stream and watch however, once the player detects you're not in the US/UK they won't let you watch them

I'm dying to catch up on the Celeb Master Chef which I missed on BBC (ok, so we can't all have taste!) http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00cghcp

I've tried Hotspot Shield to hide my IP however that's not working, are there any other tools/sites/software out there that would enable me to stream shows from other countries?

This has been bugging me for ages!
boardsie08 is offline  
Advertisement
09-07-2008, 19:02   #2
Feelgood
Registered User
 
Feelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 2,059
Hey dude,

I have actually been looking into this also as of late. I have found a solution though might be a bit costly but turns out you can get ALL american tv channels, HBO, etc etc.

Basically if you buy a Slingbox SlingBox, you can send it to Slingbox hosting companies in the states and they will setup a hosted connection to the American TV network for you. You will have a dedicated 3mb connection to your slingbox and you can stream all the US channels.

By the looks of things it works out at around $1000 a year for hosting, not including the price of the slingbox, though not really a bad price when you take into consideration the amount of channels you will receive. Works out around the same as the Sky premium package!.
Feelgood is offline  
09-07-2008, 21:36   #3
Cabaal
Category Moderator
 
Cabaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Authoritarian Inc
Posts: 20,081
You can use iPlayer on UTV connections when using their NI proxy, works great
Cabaal is offline  
09-07-2008, 21:48   #4
barnicles
Closed Account
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,825
Cabbal how do you do that
barnicles is offline  
09-07-2008, 22:14   #5
byte
Registered User
 
byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Town
Posts: 16,733
Just use proxy ni-cache.utvinternet.com Port 80 in your browser.

In Firefox, go to Tools, Options, then Advanced tab, click Settings, and choose Manual Proxy Settings.

I've found that the proxy fails occasionally.
byte is online now  
Advertisement
09-07-2008, 22:46   #6
barnicles
Closed Account
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,825
Thanks byte. Tried it in firefox 2 but it didnt work. . I have o2 and edge.
barnicles is offline  
10-07-2008, 08:31   #7
Cabaal
Category Moderator
 
Cabaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Authoritarian Inc
Posts: 20,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnicles View Post
Thanks byte. Tried it in firefox 2 but it didnt work. . I have o2 and edge.
It'll only work with a UTV ADSL connection,

I've found the proxy fails sometimes as well, tried it lastnight and no luck but yet I tested it last week when I got my UTV connection and it worked fine
Cabaal is offline  
10-07-2008, 14:00   #8
Yarnhall
Registered User
 
Yarnhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Posts: 92
That ni proxy has been in the crapper for the last week or so.
Yarnhall is offline  
10-07-2008, 14:33   #9
DecTenToo
Subscriber
 
DecTenToo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 115
I was talking to UTV support about it and the response was

Quote:
I do apologise for the inconvenience, however UTV had to shut down the proxy server indefinitely. Thus we no longer offer nor use proxy service.
You might want to clarify this with them but I have the feeling it won't be coming back.
DecTenToo is offline  
Advertisement
10-07-2008, 14:44   #10
Cabaal
Category Moderator
 
Cabaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Authoritarian Inc
Posts: 20,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by DecTenToo View Post
You might want to clarify this with them but I have the feeling it won't be coming back.
ah crap, lets hope its not dead
Cabaal is offline  
10-07-2008, 15:40   #11
-annex-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Galway
Posts: 160
http://www.samair.ru/proxy/
Go here and pick a UK proxy, enter it in the same place byte mentioned. The BBC video should then work (although it will likely be a lot slower than usual).
-annex- is offline  
10-07-2008, 18:20   #12
BastardPrince
Registered User
 
BastardPrince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: D2/D15
Posts: 8,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by boardsie08 View Post
First of all not sure where to post this so if it's in the wrong place, I do apologise.

There's some US and UK tv shows which are uploaded onto their networks websites which US/UK peeps can stream and watch however, once the player detects you're not in the US/UK they won't let you watch them

I'm dying to catch up on the Celeb Master Chef which I missed on BBC (ok, so we can't all have taste!) http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00cghcp

I've tried Hotspot Shield to hide my IP however that's not working, are there any other tools/sites/software out there that would enable me to stream shows from other countries?

This has been bugging me for ages!
HotSpot Shield works perfectly for me on Hulu... see here

what exactly is the problem with HotSpot?

EDIT: Ah i see, HSS gives you a U.S. IP which wont work for BBC...
BastardPrince is offline  
10-07-2008, 18:50   #13
Magnet: Rory
Verified representative
 
Magnet: Rory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 2,103
if you mask your IP address does that affect the content you recieve from Irish websites?

Last edited by Magnet: Rory; 10-07-2008 at 19:01.
Magnet: Rory is offline  
10-07-2008, 19:22   #14
mickger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Waterford City
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by BastardPrince View Post
HotSpot Shield works perfectly for me on Hulu... see here

what exactly is the problem with HotSpot?

EDIT: Ah i see, HSS gives you a U.S. IP which wont work for BBC...
The clips played but were stopping every few seconds. Any solution to that problem?
mickger is offline  
10-07-2008, 19:30   #15
BastardPrince
Registered User
 
BastardPrince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: D2/D15
Posts: 8,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rorser View Post
if you mask your IP address does that affect the content you recieve from Irish websites?
it should be pointed out that if you are using HotSpot Shield you shouldnt do anything else, as any information that you access with it enabled is viewable by HSS.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickger View Post
The clips played but were stopping every few seconds. Any solution to that problem?
what error were you getting when it stopped playing?
BastardPrince is offline  
Thread Closed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search