Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
21-03-2008, 14:58   #1
Conor108
Registered User
 
Conor108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 3,779
TV Tuner card - No audio!

I installed a Hauppauge (sp?) WinTV2000 tuner card and its fine with the video but I get no audio!

Theres a 'Line Out' socket on the card and I plug the audio cable in there and then into my Sound card, But still theres nothing! I'm not to sure what to select in the audio preferences either (Wave, Front, Surround etc.).

Does anyone have this and could help?
Conor108 is offline  
Advertisement
22-03-2008, 09:44   #2
subway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,660
wintv 2000 is the software, not the card.
find out what card are you using and what signal is conected to it? (analog / sky /ntl digital etc)

try unplugging the line out as you shouldnt need that connected anyway

pc spec and os would also be useful
subway is offline  
22-03-2008, 17:22   #3
Conor108
Registered User
 
Conor108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 3,779
Its a Dell Dimension 4600 with 1gb RAM, XP Home SP2.

I used to have it working but I can't get it now

Thanks for the reply
Conor108 is offline  
23-03-2008, 11:44   #4
subway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,660
you could start by checking the mute settings on your sound card.
until you post up the model of tv card i cant really confirm how it should be set up, but its likely that you need to set the output of it to either -
1) wave audio and specify your sound card as the device or
2) line out and stereo as the format.

failing that can you play back previosly recorded tv in the tv software?
or can you try recording a few minutes now and playing it back in another piece of software and let us know the results.
subway is offline  
23-03-2008, 16:23   #5
ethernet
Registered User
 
ethernet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dublinski
Posts: 3,269
Those TV cards are crazy yokes! I have a Hauppauge card as well. I found reinstalling the drivers, software and codecs solved any problems nearly every time. If you can dig up the model, there are usually step-by-step instructions on Hauppauge's site.
ethernet is offline  
Advertisement
23-03-2008, 16:48   #6
Ghost Train
Custom User Title
 
Ghost Train's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 26,921
you could try plug some headphones or amplified speakers directly into the line out socket, see if theres sound, that would tell you if its the soundcard or the tv card thats giving you the problem

sound like one of the basic wintv pci cards if it has a line out socket
Ghost Train is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet