Finding a location of a phone number - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
05-11-2007, 11:38   #1
Teller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Finding a location of a phone number

Got a missed call earlier (tried ringing it back but no answer) and thought if I knew the location I might know where it is. It starts with 01 5425...is there anyway I can search for the number? Golden pages, eircom pages don't let you search a phone number. Or even if anyone here knows where roughly in Dublin where that phone number could be from? Thanks for any help.
Teller is offline  
Advertisement
05-11-2007, 11:43   #2
Sizzler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Saddle City
Posts: 5,401
Its an ISDN block so in theory it could be anywhere in the 01 Area.
Sizzler is offline  
05-11-2007, 11:51   #3
i heart chewy louie
Innocent Man
 
i heart chewy louie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 21,429
Novel old skool idea I'm going to throw out there.

Call them back.
i heart chewy louie is offline  
05-11-2007, 11:51   #4
Teller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Thanks Sizzler....so there's no way of typing in the number to any phone book search the way you can type in the name of a business and get the number?
Teller is offline  
05-11-2007, 11:52   #5
Teller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Rigger View Post
Novel old skool idea I'm going to throw out there.

Call them back.

Tried loads of times. No was just wondering anyway too. Thanks for your help.
Teller is offline  
Advertisement
05-11-2007, 11:54   #6
loyatemu
Registered User
 
loyatemu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Greystones
Posts: 5,733
reverse telephone directory. only eircom have access to this kind of information and they won't give it out without a garda warrant.

one of the reasons it took them so long to bring out a CD copy of the phone book was because they wanted to make sure it couldn't be hacked into doing reverse-lookups (or so they claimed at the time).
loyatemu is offline  
05-11-2007, 11:55   #7
godtabh
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 15,266
I thought you can kinda figgure wont roughly were the number is i.e 628/624 Lucan area and so on
godtabh is offline  
05-11-2007, 11:58   #8
Teller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnsr View Post
I thought you can kinda figgure wont roughly were the number is i.e 628/624 Lucan area and so on
Yeah I thought that too but must not be the case.
Teller is offline  
05-11-2007, 11:58   #9
Lenny
Tallaght Scumbag
 
Lenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: out your back garden
Posts: 8,832
Send a message via MSN to Lenny
go to the smart telecom website,
and in the box wher eya can check if you can get bb, put in the phone number and it'l give ya the area of the phone number,
Lenny is offline  
Advertisement
05-11-2007, 12:00   #10
i heart chewy louie
Innocent Man
 
i heart chewy louie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 21,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnsr View Post
I thought you can kinda figgure wont roughly were the number is i.e 628/624 Lucan area and so on
I think it would depend on when they got their phone line.
i heart chewy louie is offline  
05-11-2007, 12:06   #11
godtabh
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 15,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Rigger View Post
I think it would depend on when they got their phone line.
Lucan has newer numbers for the new estates but it’s associated with Lucan (using Lucan as an example as I lived there) but assumed it was the same. Another example would be celbridge 627.

This is just a general observation but it would seem to me that it would hold up just as an estimate
godtabh is offline  
05-11-2007, 12:11   #12
Teller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenny View Post
go to the smart telecom website,
and in the box wher eya can check if you can get bb, put in the phone number and it'l give ya the area of the phone number,

Doesn't seem to work Lenny but thanks anyway.
Teller is offline  
05-11-2007, 12:29   #13
Karoma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: On the edge.
Posts: 15,650
moved.
Karoma is offline  
05-11-2007, 13:22   #14
MYOB
Registered User
 
MYOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 22,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnsr View Post
I thought you can kinda figgure wont roughly were the number is i.e 628/624 Lucan area and so on
Except half or more of the 628 block is Maynooth, and so on... its not like the UK where the numbers are very heavily locked down to specific exchanges.
MYOB is offline  
05-11-2007, 22:30   #15
Random
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17,717
Pop the number in here - http://www.numberingplans.com/?page=...is&sub=phonenr

Might help, might not.
Random is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet