Aldi Internet Radio - 16th Aug - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
13-08-2007, 20:46   #1
Johnny Storm
Registered User
 
Johnny Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Baxter Building
Posts: 3,600
Aldi Internet Radio - 16th Aug

Apparently a "radio" that uses your wireless internet connection to play internet radio channels. €100.

http://www.aldi.ie/special_buys/product_332.html

I've never heard of this species of yoke before. It seems pretty cool to me but I'm sure cooler and wiser heads will prevail. Your thoughts appreciated.
Johnny Storm is offline  
Advertisement
13-08-2007, 20:58   #2
Gran Hermano
Moderator
 
Gran Hermano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South of Town
Posts: 7,751
Buy it and if it doesn't work or do what you want bring it back
within a month for a refund. Usually you have 30 days with Aldi
to return for a refund without any hassle or quibbles.
Gran Hermano is offline  
13-08-2007, 21:43   #3
ro1798
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,310
i have one, the wireless radio thing.. not this model but they are a great idea... you get all channels that broadcast on the internet.... works great and is wireless or cable connected
ro1798 is offline  
13-08-2007, 21:58   #4
Tav
Registered User
 
Tav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Wouldn't be just cheaper to use winamp/itunes??
Tav is offline  
13-08-2007, 22:42   #5
FrankGrimes
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,680
The advantage of this type of device is that you can listen to the Internet radio while your computer is switched off.

I have a similar one called a Roku/Soundbridge M1000 (I think) and it's class - means I can just walk into the kitchen in the morning and switch on Internet radio. Add in MP3 playback when the PC is on (or if I add a NAS drive I could listen to MP3s while PC is off), and its not hard to see the benefits.

I use a wired connection to my LAN for mine cos I just don't find wireless to be reliable enough, and would think about adding one of these Tevion ones if I could confirm it also had a wired connection.
FrankGrimes is offline  
Advertisement
14-08-2007, 08:32   #6
taung
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 337
I believe that these radios have software provided by Reciva. Out of curiousity (and more than a bit off-thread), here is a list of the most popular internet radio broadcasts from Ireland, according to Reciva;

click here

Interesting to see that FM104 is bringing up the rear and Midwest/Highland are up near the top......
taung is offline  
14-08-2007, 09:04   #7
DonJose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,280
I'm happy with my FM Transmitter, costs a lot less than the gadge above, amazon uk have a good selection

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_ss_...o.x=13&Go.y=12
DonJose is offline  
14-08-2007, 10:06   #8
dal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonJose
I'm happy with my FM Transmitter, costs a lot less than the gadge above, amazon uk have a good selection

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_ss_...o.x=13&Go.y=12
It costs a lot less because it does something completely different.

Does anyone who has one know how long it takes to actually "boot up" (ie from when you switch it on to when the first station starts to play).
dal is offline  
14-08-2007, 11:30   #9
Zilog
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 183
I see PC World/Currys/Dixons in the UK offer a similar internet radio, the Logik IR100, sans the FM, for about £50 sterling, would work out about €80 if rip-off Ireland doesn't apply.
Has anyone noticed if the Irish stores have them on-offer in Ireland before I brave the M50? Looked at them last year, they were about €150.
Zilog is offline  
Advertisement
14-08-2007, 11:37   #10
quigo
Registered User
 
quigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portmarnock
Posts: 132
I have one one of these hooked to the tv

http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/tunecenter/

Not quite the same tech but does a similar job, the stations are ready after about 10sec of syncing. This probably isn't helped by being attached to the router by a 10m cable.

Like the look of the Roku SoundBridge more than the aldi one.
quigo is offline  
Thanks from:
14-08-2007, 11:40   #11
GerardKeating
Registered User
 
GerardKeating's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Connemara
Posts: 4,437
Send a message via ICQ to GerardKeating Send a message via AIM to GerardKeating Send a message via MSN to GerardKeating Send a message via Yahoo to GerardKeating Send a message via Skype™ to GerardKeating
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zilog
I see PC World/Currys/Dixons in the UK offer a similar internet radio, the Logik IR100, sans the FM, for about £50 sterling, would work out about €80 if rip-off Ireland doesn't apply.
Has anyone noticed if the Irish stores have them on-offer in Ireland before I brave the M50? Looked at them last year, they were about €150.
they were €110ish a few weeks ago, and dog slow changing station.
GerardKeating is offline  
14-08-2007, 11:50   #12
Vmaxer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerardKeating
they were €110ish a few weeks ago, and dog slow changing station.
I just rang Currys in Swords and the Ir100 is listed there at €129, rip off Ireland alright..
Vmaxer is offline  
14-08-2007, 12:13   #13
Vmaxer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 246
Though a trip up to Newry will get You the Ir100 for £49 and the have them in stock..
Vmaxer is offline  
14-08-2007, 14:03   #14
Johnny Storm
Registered User
 
Johnny Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Baxter Building
Posts: 3,600
FWIW the Logik IR100 seems to be mono, Aldi one is stereo.
Johnny Storm is offline  
14-08-2007, 14:13   #15
Zilog
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubsmax
Though a trip up to Newry will get You the Ir100 for £49 and the have them in stock..
Be a good opportunity to test that new bit of motorway alright, thanks!
Zilog is offline  
Thread Closed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search