|
|
|
|
| 27-06-2007, 20:08 | #17 |
|
![]() |
Lads, advice would be to do precisely nothing for the time being.
[spin doctor spinning up] There are no fingers pointing at "airsoft" as such, just fingers pointing at some 'imitation toy guns auctioned by the Guards to part-finance Gardai's infrastructural development' [spin doctor spinning down]
|
|
|
| 27-06-2007, 20:19 | #18 | |
|
![]() |
Quote:
However, a ban on these pieces of sh1te would obviously mean an end to our sport. Like it or not, anything that fires a projectile sub 1 joule no matter how utterly rubbish is lumped into the same area as airsoft at the moment. |
|
|
|
| 27-06-2007, 22:39 | #19 | |
|
![]() |
Quote:
![]() The media are too busy trying to connect Bertie Ahern with some kind of underhanded settlement with RTE, and Joe O'Reilly's murder trial, to give a flying feck about an opposition TD's political attention-seeking stunt. The gardai have said quite categorically "These are obviously only toys". Leave it at that. Do you not think they're MUCH better equipped to deal with defending THEIR decision to auction toys than us ?? The very LAST thing we need is some well-meaning fool going off half-cocked and drawing Jim O’Keeffe's attention to a fledgling sport ill-prepared to defend itself against ridiculous and unwarranted accusations. I can almost hear the politicians now - "WHAT ??? You mean theres more of these deadly weapons freely available ?! Holy God...call my PR guys now...we have to get on TV with this - we'll get great mileage from it!". Bah ! Last edited by Shiva; 27-06-2007 at 23:07. |
|
|
|
| 27-06-2007, 22:52 | #20 |
|
![]() |
I agree
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 27-06-2007, 23:07 | #21 |
|
![]() |
I have to agree with Shiva, the Gardai have made they're position on the matter clear. Despite what some might say they're not idiots. The items in question don't pose any major harm. The story isn't mindblowing so just let it drown with all the other mediocre articles out there.
|
|
|
| 27-06-2007, 23:37 | #22 | |
|
*Not actually a rabbit
![]() |
Quote:
If this attention-seeking politician keeps on about this issue, it could become a big threat though. |
|
|
|
| 27-06-2007, 23:50 | #23 | |
|
![]() |
Quote:
My feelings on this are that it will probably blow over with a few lines near the TV section in Newspapers (the tabloids at least). There are far more visible places for them to get stories about "Replica" firearms such as the many joke shops in Dublin (Dundrum, The Square, Jervis Street to name a few that I have seen them in). The reason that they have not latched on to these places is because at the moment the perception of "Replica" firearms does not sell copy as much as Political Scandal and such like. Fingers crossed though.... |
|
|
|
| 28-06-2007, 01:06 | #24 |
|
![]() |
F*ck...... cancel that trip to Kevin Street, lol
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhkfgbqleygb/rss2/ |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| 28-06-2007, 07:22 | #26 |
|
![]() |
Yeah it's being reported on Newstalk (national station) on their regular news bulletin. 106FM
|
|
|
| 28-06-2007, 08:14 | #27 |
|
![]() |
The ’BB’ pistols were presented in individual boxes with a jar of 500 pellet bullets each and two training targets.
[sarcasm] anyone here know what a pellet bullet is?? wow what an amazing invention a pellet that is a bullet..hell if i designed that i would not be importing them into ireland, i would be ringing the DOD in the US about how i have managed to make a pellet bullet that seems to magically project itself using a new force in nature previously unheard of in physics called pellet bullet theory selling it for a bazillion dollars...the pellet that is, er not a pellet, or, er, not a bullet..its a (cue dramatic music) pellet bullet... you see crazyrabbit you asked when the aliens would get involved when i said we were close to mentioning them before..well here it is straight out of area51..the new super pellet bullet...those darn aliens could take over the planet with thier amazing pellet bullet technology, sold in JARS no less!!!! [/end sarcasm] jesus, do these guys have a clue at all..nowhere did they mention POINT 2 of a gram or maybe the hugely dangerous POINT 25 of a gram of plastic, nope they had to get the word bullet there... we should name this type of response 'pellet bullet hysteria' |
|
|
| 28-06-2007, 08:59 | #28 |
|
![]() |
just typical scare mongering, nobody would care if they had had have said toy guns, they needed to get sensational to sell newspapers and actually have someone erad the article and think the governement is doing something about crime in general, wheras the night before a hand gernade was set off in a residental area seems the governement need to get a clue and tackle the actual crimes and give the colum inchs to something worth while, sorry about the rant and non-sensical nature of this post just really agrivates me
|
|
|
| 28-06-2007, 09:07 | #29 |
|
![]() |
Damaging Blow for Irish airsoft!!!
Both Herald AM and Metro have reported on this story both referring to the toys as GUNS! Metro's headline is so misleading and false. 'Red-faced Gardai in GUN sale U-turn'. As far as i'm aware there was no gun sale. an airsoft sale maybe. This is an outrage! We need to write to these papers and correct them, informing them of the sport as a whole and the regulations that go with it. Also the legality of buying the airsoft's. They never even mention the word airsoft!!! Can we please do something!
|
|
|
| 28-06-2007, 09:34 | #30 |
|
![]() |
might be an idea alright, but i think action should be left to the Irish adoption Agency
![]() Might also be a bad idea to highlight esp the Fine Gael reaction to this, might led to negitive impact on the sport. I do agreee that by calling them "guns" it really portrays it a bad light, but at the GS seem to know the diffrence between real steel and toys Also we have no idea what they are are, they might be spud gun type or even springers, but they could also be Co2 powered ones that break the limit? |
|
|