Hi all..
Lets just say this is a hypothetical situation.
I was parked beside a Petrol Station (car park of some old store) just sitting around, after placing (as a joke) a "Vote for Waterford" monopoly poster on a big Fina Fail political sign. Gardai saw one of my friends at the boot of the car (getting a phone) and drove in. There were three, but only two approached at the start.
First asked me for my driving license, and was about to question where my full-driver was when I pointed out he was holding a certificate of competance. Two of the cops then started saying it was a "copy" which I took as another word for "forge". When I informed them it was genuine, they wouldnt listen. They asked why I hadnt applied for a driving license, I told them I didnt as my Dad said not to bother as there was no hurry. Didnt seem to believe me and told me I have to apply.
Then checked and spotted the insurance was out a few days (little did I realise that "05-07" is not the date of expiry, but there is an exact date on the cert) and after some debate, asked me to present proof that I was insured to drive the car within 10 days.
Then asked I open the boot, which I did. On doing so, one Guard searched around the front. After a brief look at the boot, I was asked permission to take a further look - which he did, and found work tools belonging to my dad. Asked who he was and what he did, I explained he was an ex-guard and that he does odd jobs using tools like that in my brothers/sisters house. Took details down in his notebook and said he will be checking to see if he was an ex-guard.
He then went and asked the girl in the front seat to step out and searched the contents of the car, without permission. He found stuff such as a stanely knife (asked me about it, then told me to put it in the boot) which has been in the car ages, and a bill addressed to my grandmother. He asked the girls in the car my name, and pointed out "thats not with this says". My girlfriend read it, and pointed out it was my grandmother.
My male friend was asked to step out of the car, and asked him permission to search him. He agreed, and was asked did he have anything sharp. He had tools (plyers, marker and stanely knife) and said Yes, showed them and told him he was working in his grandfathers house helping him with repairs. They searched him and found two phones and made a comment "Two phones eh? Whys that"? he explained. Asked his grandfathers job, and how long he was retired - he answered. Third guard joined in after coming out of the van. We were both asked our jobs, and told him accordingly. (Chipper & AOL)
I was asked to empty my pockets, and show the contents. Nothing but some money and keys. He then searched me, without asking permission. Found nothing else. So, took down my details and told me he would be informing my father (as he is the owner of the car) of what happened. They also took down names, addresses and ages of two of the girls in the car. Same with my male friend, but was asked for his mobile number. My girlfriend is 18 next Tuesday, was told her mother would be called also and informed.
On spotting the poster, two of them laughed and said "a bit immature" while the other said it was "defacing political posters". I was asked to take it down and did (It was held on with tape). Third guard then starting getting angry and said that "because of people like you" they had to wear stab vests, and "Do you think we like wearing them" and "Crime has gone to an all new level". Also that someone could mug him and use the stanely to slit his throat (in reference to my friend). One guard told us it was an offence to carry these tools, unless it was our trade, in the car our on us. As a result, he would be taking the lad who had the tools in his jumper to court and "if convicted, you will have a criminal record". I apologised and said we meant no harm, and were not aware of the legalitys until now. I asked that he do not take it further. Third guard hears me and shouts "Do you think because your fathers an ex cop you can get away with this?" and I said "I never mentioned him until you asked, and am asking in general as we both have no record or any dealing with the guards in the past". He got in the van and turned it away. After asking us many times had we a record or any dealings before, one guard said "I will confiscate these tools and leave it as a caution.". I was then asked by the other "Is your Dad still up" and I said "No, he is in the pub and I will be collecting him shortly". He said "I will be calling early in the morning".
What ye think? Would be pretty shocked, but I can see (somewat) where they would be coming from. (All except one is over 18, had no alchol or drugs on them or in their system)

Your comments are appreciated.