Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
03-05-2007, 10:03   #1
Trotter
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,258
Navteq & Teleatlas - Tomtom One Europe

I got a free upgrade for my maps from Tomtom and first backed up my Navteq maps before putting the new Teleatlas ones on.

I found the Teleatlas to be very up to date on new housing estates etc, but poor enough on getting the old ones right!

For example, in Teleatlas 6.75, my small estate (11 years old) is marked as a series of roads but incorrectly named. The newest estate near me is fully marked and named very well.

In Navteq, my estate is named and marked correctly, yet the newest estate isnt marked or named.

Why oh why did they not just use an updated Navteq?


Anyway.. I reverted back to Navteq. At least it knows where I live.. even if the newest estates arent on it.
Trotter is offline  
Advertisement
03-05-2007, 10:33   #2
JHMEG
Banned
 
JHMEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Salt
Posts: 7,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter
Anyway.. I reverted back to Navteq. At least it knows where I live.. even if the newest estates arent on it.
But you know where you live, so is it important that the TA maps don't?
JHMEG is offline  
03-05-2007, 10:43   #3
Trotter
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHMEG
But you know where you live, so is it important that the TA maps don't?

Its more of an indication, I want to use maps that have all of the older established places included.
Trotter is offline  
04-05-2007, 19:17   #4
ElNino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter
I got a free upgrade for my maps from Tomtom and first backed up my Navteq maps before putting the new Teleatlas ones on.
How did you persuade Tomtom to give you the free upgrade? I bought my Tomtom 3 weeks ago so I am interested.
ElNino is offline  
04-05-2007, 21:18   #5
JHMEG
Banned
 
JHMEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Salt
Posts: 7,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter
Why oh why did they not just use an updated Navteq?
Navteq lost contract for TomTom One

During its Q1 earnings conference call today, Navteq announced TomTom One Europe will no longer be using Navteq maps from Q3 onwards. TomTom One being the best seller PND worldwide and its biggest market in Europe, this is definitely a large contract lost to TeleAtlas. It looks like the pricing environment remains very competitive between TeleAtlas and Navteq.

Questioned about the impact of this loss, Judson Green, President and Chief Executive Officer added: « Revenue was meaningful but not a 10% customer ».

At the same time Navteq announced it has signed with Medion a multi years agreement for its PND solutions.

http://www.gpsbusinessnews.com/index...cle&numero=150
JHMEG is offline  
Advertisement
04-05-2007, 22:47   #6
Trotter
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElNino
How did you persuade Tomtom to give you the free upgrade? I bought my Tomtom 3 weeks ago so I am interested.
I just sent them a message via the Tomtom home website and they asked me to scan the proof of purchase. They then made it available once I logged into Tomtom Home.

Regardless.. I went back to Navteq. I found it was more reliable for the older places.
Trotter is offline  
04-05-2007, 23:31   #7
ejmaztec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fecktov away from Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 22,542
I know that people can de-brand their mobiles, but what about de-branding a TomTom? Is there any legal way of buying and installing another company's software on a TomTom, simply for the reason of ditching anymore Teleatlas maps? Does anyone (i.e. techie) know anything about the compatibility situation?
ejmaztec is offline  
05-05-2007, 20:31   #8
JHMEG
Banned
 
JHMEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Salt
Posts: 7,637
There would be no problem, legal or technical, running other satnav on a tt. There wouldn't be many people at it, as ttn is considered one of the best.

Put it this way, there are far more people looking to run ttn on their device than tt device owners looking to run Route 66 etc.
JHMEG is offline  
06-05-2007, 13:52   #9
ejmaztec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fecktov away from Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 22,542
As I don't trust Teleatlas maps and TomTom has decided to ditch the only deal they had with Navteq, I can't bring myself to consider tt to be the "Best", but that's my opinion. I think that someone on this forum mentioned that a PND is only as good as the maps. I've contacted Navteq, asking them what the situation is re future updates direct from them. They've already got their maps to work with tt's PNDs, so it would be no skin off their nose to add independent releases for tt owners.
I think that it depends on the contract they had with TomTom, as to whether they're allowed to do it.
It could be a similar situation as to when Microsoft was asked to come up with an operating sytem for IBM, leading to MSDOS. After it was all done, Microsoft started making MSDOS available for any other computer manufacturers wanting it. Of course IBM complained, then looked at the small print, realised that Microsoft actually owned MSDOS, then further realised that they got screwed and the rest is history.
ejmaztec is offline  
Advertisement
07-05-2007, 11:27   #10
311
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Egzbakistan
Posts: 5,301
I've read through a lot of threads here and got the feeling that Tom Tom was not the unit to go for.
I logged onto tom tom's site and priced euro maps - €99
I logged onto garmins site for the same - €299
What is the point in buying a unit with maps that will eventually need updating ,when the price for doing so is ,so high.
Surely buying a Tom Tom would mean you can upgrade next year. Also there site seems very helpful and informative.

Garmin might be a smoother unit ,but the maps are ridiculously pricey
311 is offline  
07-05-2007, 14:41   #11
ejmaztec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fecktov away from Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 22,542
The TomTom €99 map cost is purely for Western Europe. Were you to buy a Garmin, all that you would have to pay to upgrade your pre-loaded European maps would be $75 (the US price quoted). These Garmin maps have a lot more coverage of Europe, in general, not just the Western part.
The $299 Program is, as far as I can see, a pc based program that you can load into your GPS enabled laptop.
ejmaztec is offline  
10-05-2007, 12:17   #12
Yung66
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Navteq v Teleatlas

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejmaztec
As I don't trust Teleatlas maps and TomTom has decided to ditch the only deal they had with Navteq, I can't bring myself to consider tt to be the "Best", but that's my opinion. I think that someone on this forum mentioned that a PND is only as good as the maps. I've contacted Navteq, asking them what the situation is re future updates direct from them. They've already got their maps to work with tt's PNDs, so it would be no skin off their nose to add independent releases for tt owners.
I think that it depends on the contract they had with TomTom, as to whether they're allowed to do it.
It could be a similar situation as to when Microsoft was asked to come up with an operating sytem for IBM, leading to MSDOS. After it was all done, Microsoft started making MSDOS available for any other computer manufacturers wanting it. Of course IBM complained, then looked at the small print, realised that Microsoft actually owned MSDOS, then further realised that they got screwed and the rest is history.
Have to agree!! Love my tt-1. Original v660 Navteq map is excellent with great coverage of roads throughout ireland and good real time performance. When tt emailed me with details of a new v675 update I was delighted to pay out the 99.95 for the updates. However at no stage did they indicate that it was a Teleatlas map, nor was there any information on the website about a changeover to Teleatlas. Boy did I get a shock when I installed it on my ONE. Roads and routes vanished, complex junctions became crossroads, bends became straight roads, roundabouts became more like squareabouts and it could'nt find it's way out of a paper bag. On top of all this its slow, lagging realtime by up to 2 secs. If you live in Ireland you muat have Navteq maps, Teleatlas is just crap. Therefore, do not buy a TomTom (Teleatlas). You will be sorry. Really hope Navteq will support the tt maps.
PS Anyone any suggestions how I can get my money back from these chancers? Or, does anyone want to buy a nearly new tt ????
Yung66 is offline  
10-05-2007, 13:41   #13
sharkman
Adverts.ie Moderator
 
sharkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,577
Did you buy UK & Ireland or the europe map , as the latter does not include updated Ireland .
sharkman is offline  
27-10-2007, 16:42   #14
Nephew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,333
I have a tomtom one with version 6.60 navteq maps, I also have a free upgrade available on tomtom home to the teleatlas 6.75 maps. I never bothered downloading the teleatlas map update as I read here the 6.60 navteq map has better coverage of Ireland.

Can someone tell me which has better coverage of Europe, I'm mainly concerned with Britain, the 6.60 navteq map or the 6.75 teleatlas map?

If I update my tomtom to the teleatlas map, I take it I can downgrade to the navteq map by backing up the navteq maps on my computer, format the sd card after I'm finished with the teleatlas maps and paste the navteq files over?

Considering tomtom have ditched navteq for teleatlas, I gather all of their future Irish updates will be of the inferior teleatlas maps. Would I be best off selling the tomtom and buying a satnav that uses navteq maps if I want the most detailed coverage of Ireland?

Thanks
Nephew is offline  
29-10-2007, 20:07   #15
dfdream
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 359
Navteq & Teleatlas - Tomtom One Europe

All,

I purchased a tom tom 720 recently with the new tele atlas maps for europe. The Irish map is so poor that I use the old navteq map instead. Ok the navteq doesnt have the latest updates but at least the old roads are perfectly aligned with where you are travelling and the townand names are much better and less un-named roads. If only there was a tom tom 720 (very happy with the device itself) and an upto date navteq map for Ireland. The general thought is that the rest of europe is fine. Maybe tom tom would give a new navteq map for Ireland or UK/Ireland to those that are not happy.

d
dfdream is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet