Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

28-04-2007, 21:58   #46
Webmonkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmywex
the breathaliysers see if there is any alcohol in the blood, if it turned up yes, it means the young person has been drinking, an offence
Not neccessairly. They could have drank in their private home and walked out on the streets.

Anyways thats besides the point - He done an offense by drinking in a public area. I think he has learned his lesson. If anyone is to blame it is those bouncers - All his friends got in except him for no particular reason. The guys that brought the drink even got in.
28-04-2007, 22:36   #47
cson

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webmonkey
If anyone is to blame it is those bouncers - All his friends got in except him for no particular reason. The guys that brought the drink even got in.
For doing their job? Bouncers are a breed of their own no doubt but thats what they are there for, stop trouble and keep underagers out.

So if anyone is to blame its your brother himself for getting caught.
28-04-2007, 22:39   #48
Webmonkey

This disco is a strictly under 18s - he is 15.
He is not a trouble maker he is just one that hangs around with the trouble makers and ends up getting caught. He doesn't seem to be able to help himself he is simply easy led - a thing that has to change for his own good.

We are not talking about night clubs, i talking about a youth disco.

Edit - this is the disco that was on the Star newspaper a few months ago if anyone interested. It is a hole of a place and should be shut down. It only kept opened to fund the local GAA. It causing more trouble than anything

Last edited by Webmonkey; 28-04-2007 at 22:41.
28-04-2007, 22:46   #49
cson

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webmonkey
This disco is a strictly under 18s - he is 15.
Fair enough, thought it was anight club he was trying to get into tbh. Its pretty common though for bouncers in youth discos to refuse kids that appear to be drunk/have taken drink. I remember when I was going to them a few years ago they used to search people and all.
28-04-2007, 22:47   #50
Webmonkey

They known to kick the children around too when kicking them out. Some mightn't even have done anything out of way only be in wrong place at wrong time.
Thing is he wasn't drunk, just a little tipsy and i amn't sure if he had drink even taken when he was going in, think that happened as a result of him not getting in.
28-04-2007, 22:53   #51
patrickolee

What's all this talk about 'underage drinking'... in my day we just called it 'drinking'!
28-04-2007, 23:03   #52
The Muppet

Send a message via MSN to The Muppet
I'm open ot be corrected on this but I doubt if the Gardai would be within their rights to brethalize a minor without his/her parents being present.

To all the self righteous spouting crap in this thread I can only assume
that (a) you are not parents of teenagers or (b) you have not reached 15 youself and judging some of the contributions I'd say b is nearer the mark.
28-04-2007, 23:04   #53
PeakOutput

Send a message via MSN to PeakOutput
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmywex
the breathaliysers see if there is any alcohol in the blood, if it turned up yes, it means the young person has been drinking, an offence
we have already discussed this if you had of read the topic it is not an offence for someone under 18 to drink alcohol
29-04-2007, 00:14   #54
axer

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Muppet
I'm open ot be corrected on this but I doubt if the Gardai would be within their rights to brethalize a minor without his/her parents being present.
Can anyone confirm this? Its what I would be thinking also.
29-04-2007, 00:35   #55
JC 2K3

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeakOutput
we have already discussed this if you had of read the topic it is not an offence for someone under 18 to drink alcohol
Are Gardaí not allowed to presume anything?

I mean what sane Garda is going to think:
"Oh look, it's 4 teenagers loitering outside a youth disco who look like they may have been drinking. I'm sure they were just in one of their houses a second ago drinking under the supervision of adults and I'm sure all of them had permission from their parents."

I don't see why Gardaí wouldn't be allowed brethalyse minors. I don't think it strictly says in the law that they can, but then again, it doesn't say they can't and it could be argued that a brethalyser test is simply an aid to observation.
29-04-2007, 01:57   #56
PeakOutput

Send a message via MSN to PeakOutput
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC 2K3
Are Gardaí not allowed to presume anything?

I mean what sane Garda is going to think:
"Oh look, it's 4 teenagers loitering outside a youth disco who look like they may have been drinking. I'm sure they were just in one of their houses a second ago drinking under the supervision of adults and I'm sure all of them had permission from their parents."
well the day i got fined i was with 5 other much more drunk people in public i got fined because i didnt see the copcar coming and still had my can in my hand the others who had blatantly just thrown there cans maybe 15ft away got away scot free because even though the gardai could make the logical connection that they are their cans legally they cannot.

Quote:
I don't see why Gardaí wouldn't be allowed brethalyse minors. I don't think it strictly says in the law that they can, but then again, it doesn't say they can't and it could be argued that a brethalyser test is simply an aid to observation.
im not saying they should not be allowed breathalise them but the point is it shows nothing they are doing nothing wrong by having alcohol in their system
29-04-2007, 05:03   #57
Chucky the tree

Quote:

I'd hope not. By the time the parents get there the drink could of out of their system, so it would be pretty stupid to have a law like that.
29-04-2007, 09:06   #58
The Muppet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky the tree
I'd hope not. By the time the parents get there the drink could of out of their system, so it would be pretty stupid to have a law like that.
So we don't have any stupid laws. Why would it be pretty stupid? What law did this 15 year old break?

I have never heard of them having the power to Breathalisze pedrestrains have you? Even if tehy do have that power I would be pretty sure that a Parent/Guardian would need to be present. If so the Garda was the one breaking the law.
29-04-2007, 09:27   #59
zAbbo

Quote:
So we don't have any stupid laws. Why would it be pretty stupid? What law did this 15 year old break?

I have never heard of them having the power to Breathalisze pedrestrains have you? Even if tehy do have that power I would be pretty sure that a Parent/Guardian would need to be present. If so the Garda was the one breaking the law.
It's an offence to be drunk in public ?

The Father should be more concerned about knowing where his son is at night and what he's doing, instead he's got issues with how son was 'done'.

Maybe if there was less lazy ass parenting in this country, we won't have as many knacks.
29-04-2007, 09:51   #60
The Muppet

Quote:
Originally Posted by zabbo
It's an offence to be drunk in public ?

The Father should be more concerned about knowing where his son is at night and what he's doing, instead he's got issues with how son was 'done'.

Maybe if there was less lazy ass parenting in this country, we won't have as many knacks.
The Gardai can arrested for being drunk in public without brethalizing.

Gardai pledge to enfoce the law, not break them or make up their own.

Are you a parent of teenagers?

Mind you don't have a nasty fall from up there.

Last edited by The Muppet; 29-04-2007 at 09:55.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion