Magnet broadband - Page 80 - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
02-03-2012, 16:54   #1186
Shougeki
Registered User
 
Shougeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by dregin View Post
Anyone else on Magnet's DSL notice a serious drop in their connection quality over the last week or so? My modem's now connection at ~6Mb where it was initially connection at 18... It just plummeted in the last week

I'm in D8.
Started seeing problems earlier in the week:

Sunday night: Internet down
Monday morning: Internet running very slowly, went to work.
Monday night: Internet down
Tuesday night: Internet kinda working. So slow, couldnt even begin a test on speedtest.
Wednesday night: Internet running at 2mb

Called magnet, they did some stuff, running at 9mb. Put on some kind of profile, back to 2mb, removed back to 9ish.

I was getting 19 or so last week.

And im pretty close to the exchange......

Also in D8
Shougeki is offline  
Advertisement
02-03-2012, 17:27   #1187
Mathiasb
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 400
Send a message via MSN to Mathiasb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shougeki View Post
Started seeing problems earlier in the week:

Sunday night: Internet down
Monday morning: Internet running very slowly, went to work.
Monday night: Internet down
Tuesday night: Internet kinda working. So slow, couldnt even begin a test on speedtest.
Wednesday night: Internet running at 2mb

Called magnet, they did some stuff, running at 9mb. Put on some kind of profile, back to 2mb, removed back to 9ish.

I was getting 19 or so last week.

And im pretty close to the exchange......

Also in D8


YES, I have the exact same problem. I'm in D8 also (on the quays). I've called magnet, the only thing they are willing to do is lower the speed. I went from 10mbps good (no packet drops, stable internet) to 8mbps with packet drops, called them again 2 days ago and they changed it to a "gamer profile" at 8mbit. However I'm getting 5.5 down, 0.5 up, and I still have packet drops.

Basically, it's crap. Obviously something's happened somewhere in D8 with regards to phone lines. I'm ~2250m from my exchange.
Mathiasb is offline  
02-03-2012, 17:28   #1188
Shougeki
Registered User
 
Shougeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 464
When i called, my problem was less than 100 yards from the exchange, and eircom did get involved, as they had access to the ticketting system
Shougeki is offline  
05-03-2012, 00:16   #1189
Treora
Registered User
 
Treora's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by krudler View Post
the router is the only thing connected to the line, was an eircom line previously and when eircom had it i'd get maybe 1-2 dropped connections a week, nothing really noticeable, but every day and almost the to minute is getting annoying, since 7pm tonight its dropped 3 times, not so much a bother when you're browsing, it is when you drop in the middle of a download and have to waste bandwidth starting it again or a game stops and people think you just ragequit, will give magnet another shout n see

That's just the quality of the magnet system. It is not useable for gamers unless you live inside an eircom switching station.
Treora is offline  
15-03-2012, 19:27   #1190
kiad
Registered User
 
kiad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 233
Anyone living in Monkstown/Dun Laoghaire have this? I'm looking to change (currently on Smart) but I don't want to get something that's going to be worse. There is a lot of online gaming on our connection so it needs to have a good ping.
kiad is offline  
Advertisement
20-03-2012, 10:38   #1191
SteJay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Waterford
Posts: 95
Does anyone know how to set up a netgear router on magnets just broadband

The settings are not the same as for there other packages

I got the eircom zyxtel router working but it's absolutely crap.needs rebooting every couple of hours after the wifi disappears

I put the same settings that worked on d eircom router into the netgear but the internet light remains red

The settings for just broadband are:

Vpi 8
Vci 35
Ppoe
llc

I have the magnet user and Password and the DNS servers

But with all these settings in the netgear it still doesn't Work.am I missing another setting?
SteJay is offline  
24-03-2012, 19:44   #1192
SteJay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Waterford
Posts: 95
Its ok now i ordered one of their own modems
SteJay is offline  
08-04-2012, 13:42   #1193
krudler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36,261
to cancel an account do I just email the sales email on the contact us page? or if I pm rep can they do it? moved house and the new place already has a magnet setup under my new housemates name so I dont need my own one anymore
krudler is offline  
10-04-2012, 09:51   #1194
Mathiasb
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 400
Send a message via MSN to Mathiasb
Quote:
Originally Posted by krudler View Post
to cancel an account do I just email the sales email on the contact us page? or if I pm rep can they do it? moved house and the new place already has a magnet setup under my new housemates name so I dont need my own one anymore
Fire off an email. If you haven't heard of them in a day or so, give them a call.

Or, if you want it taken care of ASAP, call them.
Mathiasb is offline  
Advertisement
10-04-2012, 20:22   #1195
Jpkidd
Registered User
 
Jpkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mallow, Co Cork
Posts: 17
Hi I'm living in mallow, co cork I was talking to some1 about magnet, I was thinking of getting it, They have 24mb for €40 is it any good nd do get anything like 24mb or is it just a ploy to get u to sign up. I had three bb but it was crap nd there customer service was as bad. Eircom is to expensive and it is limited. Any feed back from ppl around cork/ mallow area or any one in general would be brill.
Thanks
Jpkidd is offline  
30-04-2012, 13:35   #1196
waraf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,086
Wow - I was just about to change my BB provider to magnet today but after reading this thread I've decided to stick with my current provider and just upgrade my package. Better the devil you know and all that....
waraf is offline  
04-05-2012, 14:27   #1197
Magnet: Gary
Registered User
 
Magnet: Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 179
Hi All,

I have had a back seat for a while but I am now here if you have any burning issues to ask or get resolved - PM me or post here - I will be around most days, however as I also have a day job in Magnet response times could vary

Thanks

Gary


Waraf - We have many happy customers and the views in this thread are the views of individuals with unique issues -please feel free to explore our packages and speak with one of sales people for more info.

A quick note on our broadband services:

ADSL2+ and ADSL are very sensitive technologies and require a number of conditions to be fine which in many cases are out of magnets control.

Magnet have access to 40 Eircom exchanges around the country which house our own equipment to provide up to 24MB broadband over a pre cabled land line - this is called Local Loop Unbundling or LLU - A number of factors that affect speeds and connection quality are as follows: Distance from exchange (LLU has a max rang of approx 4km) and existing copper line quality - we have no control over how long a line has been in the ground or running over head.

Fibre to the Home - We sell this to specific addresses in housing developments in Dublin, Laois and Meath - this offers up to 100MB Broadband TV and Phone.

We also sell Next Generation Broadband which is an Eircom Wholesale product we provide this over a phone line and offers speeds of up to 24MB this is available to all customers in a NGB exchange.

I can assure all of you that we take on board all issues and problems and do our up most to resolve and improve customers situations and our own internal processes and procedures if needed.
Magnet: Gary is offline  
04-05-2012, 15:21   #1198
rampantglory
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: cork like
Posts: 513
Ive been with magnet for 4yrs at different addresses and various products.. I use the net mostly for gaming so consistency in my connection is of utmost importance and magnet have rarely let me down, i would always recommend there products,
Most ppl use forums to point out concerns and problems, ppl who dont have problems rarely speak out.
rampantglory is offline  
09-05-2012, 21:26   #1199
lukejr
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Limerick
Posts: 241
Magnet Down in Castletroy

Magnet is down in Castletroy, Limerick today. Just talking with support, I'm not alone. Support is looking into it, hoping to have it back tomorrow.

Router connected, but no Internet.


I've been with Magnet 3 years, first time had an issue.

Last edited by lukejr; 09-05-2012 at 21:29.
lukejr is offline  
07-06-2012, 16:28   #1200
savagecabbages
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 860
Magnet: your services are now live???

I ordered internet from Magnet yesterday, and got a text saying my "services are now live..."

Does this mean I'm ready to go? I was expecting it would take several more days to be activated?
I'm using my own Eircom Netopia router, and the .pdf configuration document has been emailed on. WHY may I ask, is the text in the settings section too small to read????? So I can't set up my modem for now. Any chance you could email the settings on? Or better yet a step by step guide?
savagecabbages is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet