Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

01-05-2006, 02:35   #31
Victor

- warnings about what to do if you smell gas Check
- warnings about level crossings Check
- warnings about food preparation and storage Negative
- warnings about underground electric cablesNegative
- warnings about drink driving Check
- warnings about speeding Check
- warnings about contraception Hell, no.
- warnings about swimming safe Check
- warnings about smoking Check
- warnings about fire safety Check. "John, did you put the cat out?"
- warnings about folic acid deprivation Negative
- warnings about radon gas Negative
- warnings about getting out of bed in the morning Negative
01-05-2006, 02:52   #32
Flukey

Send a message via Yahoo to Flukey
You forgot the middle verse. In full, apart from Judge's bit at the beginning, with the fox and Mr Crow:

1 Look for a safe place
2 Don't hurry, stop and wait
3 Look all around and listen before you cross the road. Remember,
4 Let all the traffic pass you
5 Then walking straight across you
6 Keep watching, that's the safe cross code

Safe place, stop and wait
Safe place stop and wait
Safe ground look around
Listen for a traffic sound
If traffic's coming let it pass
Until the road is clear at last
Then walking straight across the road
Keep watching, that's the code

Remember,

1 Look for a safe place
2 Don't hurry, stop and wait
3 Look all around and listen before you cross the road. Remember,
4 Let all the traffic pass you
5 Then walking straight across you
6 Keep watching, that's the safe cross code

That's the safe cross,
Know the safe cross code, know the code!

Part of the video of shown during the middle verse was filmed near where I live. Apparently it was done as far back as 1969.
01-05-2006, 02:53   #33
Flukey

Send a message via Yahoo to Flukey
Ah, memories!
01-05-2006, 12:03   #34
SprostonGreen

Be careful too, when out walking in the Glen of the Downs!
01-05-2006, 13:23   #35
seamus
Dental Plan!

Send a message via MSN to seamus
Ads about contraception would have been a little controversial in the 1980's, particularly coming from our national broadcaster. Though if anyone happened to have MTV in the late 80's you would have seen them.

I wouldn't say we're exactly awash with public safety ads. I remember plenty of the ESB ones and drink-driving/speeding ones from when I were a lad. Let's be honest here, common sense isn't all that common.
07-06-2006, 11:03   #36
Pigman II
Banned

Send a message via AIM to Pigman II Send a message via Yahoo to Pigman II Send a message via Skype™ to Pigman II
The Bedtime Routine

http://www.meldrum.co.uk/cgi/play.as...ifs/bedtime.ra
07-06-2006, 11:13   #37
Bambi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pigman II
There was lots of warnings back in the 80s

eg

- warnings about throwning frizbee's at ESB stations.

- warnings about letting your rabid dog out at night into a field of tasty sheep

- warnings about operating jcbs under electricity wires.

Unfortunately I had neither a frizbee, rabid dog or jcb so I grew up to be quite an irresponsible member of society.
Indeed, but dont forget that you could drown in two inches of water, and kid's if left unattended will immediately throw themselves into the nearest bucket/barrel/river/puddle

Actually it seemed our farm's were mostly populated by drowned kids and electrocuted culchies in tractor's

oh and your only protection agaisnt the homicidal maniac's who roamed the road's of this land in toyota starlets in search of fresh victims was a code invented by a dog with a black eye and a hand up its swiss.

dem was de days
07-06-2006, 11:15   #38
Bambi

Quote:
Originally Posted by luckat
Nanny state, it's true. In fact, nana state, you're in your granny's here.

Maybe they should just have one ad (cheaper, too), saying "DON'T BE A GOB****E!"

CAREFUL NOW would be catchier though
07-06-2006, 11:23   #39
Hobbes

Mod: Korean
That slurry one brings back memorys.

Sure didn't we have the "TV sponger" to warn us we would be squeezed to death if we didn't pay our TV license as well.

There has always been warnings on TV. Just as kids you probably never pay attention to them.
07-06-2006, 11:29   #40
Bambi

Did anyone mention the dangers of flying kites? dodgy business

There used to be some cartoon poster where they basically stuck the head of the phantom on a thunderbolt and he killed kids for flying kites beside esb lines. Served them right tbh

also the dastardly nick o teen
07-06-2006, 11:30   #41
Archeron

Quote:
Originally Posted by SprostonGreen
Be careful too, when out walking in the Glen of the Downs!
Good advice. If you're not careful fishing in the Glen of the Downs, your could catch your rod on someones beard and pull an entire tree house full of hippies down on top of yourself. Not funny.
07-06-2006, 11:35   #42
Rantorama

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyCrackHead

These days anyone who doesnt know that drinking and driving is dangerous, IS an idiot and probably should wrap themselves around a traffic light, hopefully not injuring anyone else.
Aye,it's getting to the 'don't dry your hair with a hairdryer while still in the bath' level of warnings.
07-06-2006, 12:24   #43
jor el
Closed Account

Does nobody remember "Charlie Says", there were loads of those ones, though I believe they were only on UK TV. Charlie says neve take sweets from strangers, never walk out on the road alone, never go off without telling a grown up where you're going, never play with matches... I bet he was a right barrel of laughs at a party.

There were loads more on RTE, like the one about falling asleep when smoking a fag and then burning the house down. There was a keep fit one too, "Fit enough to catch that bus", cue Mary Harney running for a bus and of course the cnut pulls off right in front of her, so nothing's changed there either. I always remember the one where the cyclist gives out about motorists not paying attention to cyclists. He even gets knocked off his bike by some fool opening a door without looking in the mirror. Then there's a reverse-ad on that with the motorise giving out about cyclists. It was the same guy doing both roles though.

There was one in the late 80s or early 90s, an AIDS warning from some mother who's son had died from AIDS. She had this thick Dublin accent and said something like "Pleaose, pleaose, always wear a condom, roih!". With the current rise in cases of STDs in Ireland, and particularly in Dublin, they could do with bringing her back on the TV again. Pleasoe, pleaose, don't go roidin' some skanky whoare you just met up wid. Remember the ruale, guard yer toale.

If anything I'd say there were more health and safety ads in the 80s than now. These days it's all pro-biotic-biffidus-e-bollix-friendly-bacteria ads. And you have every moron in the country believing that it's perfectly healthy to scoff down a supersize McDonalds while veging out in front of the TV as long as you wash it down with lashings of friendly bacteria.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rantorama
Aye,it's getting to the 'don't dry your hair with a hairdryer while still in the bath' level of warnings.
Natural selection at work? All the stupid people will either electrocute themselves, wrap their car round a tree, stick the toaster cable into the socket with match sticks or forget to let the cat out.

Unfortunately it doesn't normally work that way and the majority of people dieing in these accidents are doing so through no fault of their own (getting hit by a drunk driver/bus, dieing in a house fire that someone else started). Meanwhile the stupid people go on living.

Hmm, that's quite a rant.
07-06-2006, 12:35   #44
Bambi

stick the toaster cable into the socket with match sticks

lol i was just about to bring this one up, another classic

or the one warning drivers that grannies had no sense of distance perception anymore and would throw themselves in front of cars at every opportunity, also kamkaze kids who lay in wait behind parked car's fro the unwary motorist

there was also the guy who electrocutes himself in work and then his mate goes over and touch's him and gets killed too. I used to imagine a never ending line of manual labourers frying themselves due to this unfortunate marriage of electricity and concern for ones fellow man

life was tough back then
07-06-2006, 13:30   #45
billy the squid

Send a message via Yahoo to billy the squid
Vigelance will keep rabies out of Ireland.

There were also plenty of AIDS adverts as well, there was one with two people playing cards and one of them gets the AIDS card.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion