BBC Live Streaming - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
24-04-2006, 14:31   #1
LizardKing
Registered User
 
LizardKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Dublinia
Posts: 1,410
BBC Live Streaming

Is there anyway to fool the BBC live stream to believe you are a UK viewer.

It gives the message "This stream is available to UK users only"

Any tweaks or tips to get past this , could I use a anonymous proxy or somit ?
LizardKing is offline  
Advertisement
24-04-2006, 18:13   #2
eirebhoy
Registered User
 
eirebhoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 13,913
Yep. Just go to the proxy list here:
http://www.publicproxyservers.com/

Look for one from Great Britain. In Internet Explorer:

Tools -> Internet Options -> Connections -> LAN Settings -> Tick "Use proxy server..." -> Enter the address and port that you found on the list in the above site.

You will have a very slow connection, sometimes it won't work. If it doesn't work just look for another proxy.
eirebhoy is offline  
25-04-2006, 10:50   #3
Slaanesh
Moderator
 
Slaanesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: Barred
Posts: 1,684
Mod: College
Woohoo, got it, excellent. Go on Ken, 2-0.
Slaanesh is offline  
25-04-2006, 11:55   #4
stevejazzx
Registered User
 
stevejazzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: dublin 6w/12/central/
Posts: 3,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by eirebhoy
Yep. Just go to the proxy list here:
http://www.publicproxyservers.com/

Look for one from Great Britain. In Internet Explorer:

Tools -> Internet Options -> Connections -> LAN Settings -> Tick "Use proxy server..." -> Enter the address and port that you found on the list in the above site.

You will have a very slow connection, sometimes it won't work. If it doesn't work just look for another proxy.

try proxy.com took me a half hour to find one....it s worth it..i watching an interval now! people coughing etc ...great
stevejazzx is offline  
25-04-2006, 12:18   #5
LizardKing
Registered User
 
LizardKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Dublinia
Posts: 1,410
What Proxies are you using , will they work in Firefox too ??
LizardKing is offline  
Advertisement
25-04-2006, 12:40   #6
stevejazzx
Registered User
 
stevejazzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: dublin 6w/12/central/
Posts: 3,146
eh page 9 proxy.com
found good proxy remeber port is 8080 distorting, should work in firefox
ip 94.80.112.101

ken just jumped the cue, hes playing sh*t after a good start he's down 4-2

Last edited by stevejazzx; 25-04-2006 at 12:43.
stevejazzx is offline  
25-04-2006, 13:25   #7
stevejazzx
Registered User
 
stevejazzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: dublin 6w/12/central/
Posts: 3,146
take a look
hehehehe this is great live snooker at work...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2006-04-25_131234.jpg (141.1 KB, 958 views)
stevejazzx is offline  
25-04-2006, 20:30   #8
digiman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Donegal/Sydney
Posts: 3,580
Does anyone know if this would work if you are behind a proxy already that is Irish. I tried the one that you said stevejaxx and it just times out. If it helps I am behind a proxy in DCU.
digiman is offline  
25-04-2006, 22:23   #9
celticfc
Moderator
 
celticfc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 19th Hole
Posts: 2,800
Send a message via AIM to celticfc Send a message via MSN to celticfc Send a message via Yahoo to celticfc
I cant get that to work either, however the windows media feed does work for me, albeit in narrowband quality. Any ideas as to whats wrong?
celticfc is offline  
Advertisement
26-04-2006, 01:12   #10
stevejazzx
Registered User
 
stevejazzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: dublin 6w/12/central/
Posts: 3,146
before you log with proxy entered clean your interent files with ccleaner
the ip above works its been working all day for me
ps choose win media player couldnt get to work with real player, oh go via link from video audio page as opposed to direct link from main screen
stevejazzx is offline  
26-04-2006, 11:54   #11
uisneach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Its tricky business trying to get this live streaming to work. Ive been trying since the World Championships started, went through a lot of different uk proxy servers and no luck connecting. Tried even connecting directly to the stream itself over the windows media mms:// protocol
mms://wmlivegeo.bbc.net.uk/wms/sport/sport5buk_s1 (table 1)

The Beeb have a list of over 100 uk isps and if the ip you are connecting under isnt part of that ip range, you are out of luck.

stevejazzx, that IP doesnt seem to work anymore. Anyone have any other IPs that work?
uisneach is offline  
26-04-2006, 15:26   #12
stevejazzx
Registered User
 
stevejazzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: dublin 6w/12/central/
Posts: 3,146
yep that ip is F****ed now, proxy.com ones seem to work will posy one if i get a chance
stevejazzx is offline  
26-04-2006, 16:52   #13
gimmick
Moderator
 
gimmick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cork
Posts: 19,806
Sorry to be a bother now, but can anyone give a step by step to use proxy servers in order to get the snooker

http://www.publicproxyservers.com/
gimmick is offline  
27-04-2006, 18:01   #14
deman
Registered User
 
deman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Suomi
Posts: 1,634
Send a message via MSN to deman Send a message via Yahoo to deman Send a message via Skype™ to deman


I find it soooooo difficult to watch. Very jerky and rebuffers itself every 2 seconds for about 10 secs each time.

Why is this? Should I select a different proxy server or what?
deman is offline  
27-04-2006, 19:23   #15
legologic
Registered User
 
legologic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 361
@digiman... I can't get any live-streams to work through the DCU proxy as staff or student. I stopped trying long ago.

Last edited by legologic; 27-04-2006 at 19:28.
legologic is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet