Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

06-09-2010, 10:20   #106
Philthy

Some minor improvements

The train service has improved and was a godsend until I started driving to the Red Cow and getting the Luas. I'm glad its there as an expensive back-up though. The parking in the train station is also great.

On the subject of parking, the unofficial boycott of pay-parking seems to have died down but the town is still fairly quiet.

I can't wait for the Aldi to come, my house isn't quite full of crap just yet! Supervalu has opened a garden centre (to my knowledge...haven't actually bothered to cross the threshold yet)

As regards eating out in the town, has anyone tried Dennis's Pizza and Pasta café yet? Behind the chippers facade lies a fabulous little Italian restaurant. I may never eat anywhere else again! There is so much on the menu, everytime I try something new, I nearly faint. And the guy who owns it is nice, even if he does talk a little too much

Adrian Dunne's is the best chemist in the midlands too. If you get your prescription there, they give you 10% off purchases for the month. Still think there are too many chemists in the town though.

Has anyone been to Scarlet's Night Club? I still haven't really gone out in Port properly except for the odd birthday or work gathering. Where are all the kids at these days? And which pubs have gone downhill?
10-08-2011, 17:34   #107
Bobby

I live in Port. The water has a high percentage of limescale in it. doesnt taste very nice and id imagine if you drank a lot of it you would be sick. So I use a water filter or get bottled water.
10-08-2011, 17:36   #108
Bobby

I love the chinese restaurants in town and the kebab house.

Love Tinas and the New Good year and Jasmines.

Wouldnt touch the Italian and dennis can be good too
11-08-2011, 11:14   #109
Joeynegro

Not a big fan of Jasmines.

Like the other ones though
15-08-2011, 09:56   #110
rsta

Yeah the water is awful isn't it. i use one of those Britta jugs.

I don't like tina's chinese at all! Must be one of the very few. I much prefer the jasmine, very nice and the staff are lovely.

Best indian is the Shalimar, i used always go to the one up the lane beside the anvil pub, but i think its closed down now? haven't been in since shalimar opened...

Dennis restaurant is fantastic! He does delivery too.

Anyone been into Aldi yet? I've not bothered, i'm closer to Lidl in anyways.
15-08-2011, 10:39   #111
Joeynegro

I have been to Aldi. its ok not pushed on it. The bakery in Lidl is superb. Love their apple turnovers and chocolate croissants.

Havent been to Shalimar as Im not big on Indian food but the Kebab House is lovely. Would highly recommend it.
23-08-2011, 15:05   #112
Arjan

Bus from Stradbally to Portarlington

Hi everyone,
am desperate to find a mode of transport between Stradbally to Portarlington on Saturday and Sunday during the Picnic!
I need to go back and forth in the morning and evening and the taxi company offered €120 for the 4 rides... is there any bus service you know of??
30-08-2011, 10:41   #113
rsta

Arjan, how many of ye lookin for a lift? And what time in the am and pm are u wanting the lift?
I may do it for €100!

No bus services that i know of.
30-08-2011, 11:04   #114
Arjan

Grand job

Hi Rsta,
looking to head down around 11am saturday morning from the Picnic to Portarlington and returning around 5pm. Approximate!
Similar for the Sunday. 100€ sounds like a better offer!
01-09-2011, 15:13   #115
rsta

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arjan View Post
Hi Rsta,
looking to head down around 11am saturday morning from the Picnic to Portarlington and returning around 5pm. Approximate!
Similar for the Sunday. 100€ sounds like a better offer!
Ah i wouldn't be going back to Porto til much later than 5pm... sorry i'm no help to you afterall.

Have you tried all the taxi services in town? The best are 1800572227
23-05-2012, 11:51   #116
slaneylad

hi, im currently working on a website about the river Barrow. I'm looking for information on portarlington. i have a good bit of the towns history. I'm now looking for things to do/see in the area. i am mainly looking for things like gardens and houses that would be open to the public. any info would be appreciated. thanks
22-09-2012, 19:24   #117
ruby007

Thinking of moving to Patrick St area in Portarlington, just wondering what its like and if street parking is safe at night??
08-10-2012, 20:44   #118
snakehunter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philthy View Post
The train service has improved and was a godsend until I started driving to the Red Cow and getting the Luas. I'm glad its there as an expensive back-up though. The parking in the train station is also great.

On the subject of parking, the unofficial boycott of pay-parking seems to have died down but the town is still fairly quiet.

I can't wait for the Aldi to come, my house isn't quite full of crap just yet! Supervalu has opened a garden centre (to my knowledge...haven't actually bothered to cross the threshold yet)

As regards eating out in the town, has anyone tried Dennis's Pizza and Pasta café yet? Behind the chippers facade lies a fabulous little Italian restaurant. I may never eat anywhere else again! There is so much on the menu, everytime I try something new, I nearly faint. And the guy who owns it is nice, even if he does talk a little too much

Adrian Dunne's is the best chemist in the midlands too. If you get your prescription there, they give you 10% off purchases for the month. Still think there are too many chemists in the town though.

Has anyone been to Scarlet's Night Club? I still haven't really gone out in Port properly except for the odd birthday or work gathering. Where are all the kids at these days? And which pubs have gone downhill?
Had a horrendous encounter with Dennis' Pizza and Pasta tonight. Ordered 3 pizzas for delivery from a menu received in the letter box today. They got the order wrong and the 'Italian sausage' and 'thin potato' slices on one of them was nothing more than bangers and chips. I took one bite and gagged. It was revolting! I phoned them up to complain and the guy (an Itallian fella) tells me that his menu says something else to the menu I have and that he's done nothing wrong so I must accept the order. I went around there and showed him the mistake and he started getting abusive with me as if it was my fault the order was wrong!!! I was close to lamping him one! He then tells me never to call the shop again! The nerve! He doesn't have to worry about that though, I would rather eat dog sh*te on a roll than his manky pizzas.
09-10-2012, 09:23   #119
Philthy

Quote:
Originally Posted by snakehunter View Post
Had a horrendous encounter with Dennis' Pizza and Pasta tonight. Ordered 3 pizzas for delivery from a menu received in the letter box today. They got the order wrong and the 'Italian sausage' and 'thin potato' slices on one of them was nothing more than bangers and chips. I took one bite and gagged. It was revolting! I phoned them up to complain and the guy (an Itallian fella) tells me that his menu says something else to the menu I have and that he's done nothing wrong so I must accept the order. I went around there and showed him the mistake and he started getting abusive with me as if it was my fault the order was wrong!!! I was close to lamping him one! He then tells me never to call the shop again! The nerve! He doesn't have to worry about that though, I would rather eat dog sh*te on a roll than his manky pizzas.
Its gone downhill since he let the lads from the Roma start working there, you have to check who is on in the kitchen. I asked for a pizza on the set menu but without the aubergine once and they took me up wrong and put artichoke all over it. Wherever the hell they found artichoke in Port, I'll never know
And it was cold. That same day, I ordered a fresh cod and chips for my dad over the phone with my order and when I got there, they said they had no fresh cod so they put on a square cod. He was not impressed, there is no comparison between them. And the pizza was stone cold because it had been left on the warming plate with the box ajar while they remembered to put on the chips.

I still prefer Dennis' pizza to Mario's though. Their base tastes like something out of a packet, very basic. Just check you have Dennis and not the chipper lads, they'll deep fry anything!!!

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion