Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

02-07-2004, 19:15   #1
mike65

[article] RTE Announces New Shows

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independe...issue_id=11088

Quote:
D'unbelievable line-up as RTE's not Shortt on shows

RTE are hoping the quirky charm of Ryan Tubridy, the madcap humour of Pat Shortt and the anarchic sense of humour of Hector O hEochagain will help in its battle to win viewers over the coming months.

New shows by the trio are among the highlights of the station's 2004/2005 television entertainment and music schedule unveiled yesterday.

Also featured is a new series of music and chat hosted by singer Daniel O'Donnell, which will be part of what RTE described as it's "stated commitments to more than 200 hours of entertainment programming annually". The remainder of the schedule features the return of Pat Kenny and the Late Late show; Gerry Ryan in a new six-part series, Ryan Confidential; the return of the Panel, a light hearted look at recent current affairs hosted by comedian Dara O'Briain; Close Encounters, a magic show hosted by Keith Duffy; and a New Year's Eve countdown, hosted by former Late Late show host Gay Byrne.

Popular radio presenter Ryan Tubridy, in addition to hosting next month's Rose of Tralee Festival for the second year, will also host a new Saturday night chat show Tubridy Tonight.

Hector O hEochagain, who last year brought an infectious vitality to Only Fools Buy Horses, will screen the result of several days of filming with such diverse subjects as Taoiseach Bertie Ahern, actor Colm Meaney, former Boyzone member Keith Duffy and Nick Leeson the former Barings Bank trader who brought down the Singapore bank.

Pat Shortt, best known as one half of the D'unbelievables, is to star in new comedy series Killinascully set in the fictional town of the same name.

Despite Ireland not yet qualifying for the Eurovision Song Contest, RTE will air another series of the popular You're a Star.
Wow, not.

Mike.
02-07-2004, 21:18   #2
article6

Send a message via AIM to article6 Send a message via MSN to article6
Re: [article] RTE Announces New Shows

Quote:
Originally posted by RTÉ
Pat Shortt, best known as one half of the D'unbelievables, is to star in new comedy series Killinascully set in the fictional town of the same name.
Didn't that have an abortive first run some time last year? As I remember it, the humour was mainly recycled from his live shows, which were out on video anyway. Yawn.
02-07-2004, 21:25   #3
aidan_walsh

So of all their new shows, eight are new series of last years shows, or regurtations of shows that failed years ago.

Thank God I don't pay the TV license... (Thats my parents problem)
02-07-2004, 21:32   #4
Raskolnikov

'a magic show hosted by Keith Duffy'

Oh dear God . . .
02-07-2004, 21:47   #5
BuffyBot
Administrator

Now that sounds compulsive viewing!
02-07-2004, 23:05   #6
sceptre
Administrator

Send a message via MSN to sceptre Send a message via Skype™ to sceptre
Quote:
Originally posted by Raskolnikov
'a magic show hosted by Keith Duffy'

Oh dear God . . .
That may be a typing error (isn't this the thing Keith Barry presents?)

And just because no-one else has said it...

Is this definitely this year's rather than RTE sending out last year's press release by mistake (yes, I think I may have asked this question twelve months ago as well)? Some show presented by wee Daniel, Gaybo justifying his 247 grand "work for no-one else" annual payoff by presenting the New Year's show, Ryan Tubridy doing what he does, more You're A Star (don't worry, everyone will spell it wrong), Gerry Ryan in some short series that no-one will watch, Hector being mad, Pat Kenny every Friday (there's a shock), Rose of Tralee coming up soon and RTE making a stated commitment to a week's worth of entertainment every year.

There you go, I've covered everyone's complaints I think. They will show all the Bond movies again yeah? Because some people haven't seen them (even on ITV's repeated showings). Please let me know if you know one.

Kudos to RTE though. they still don't cut movies (or at least hardly ever). We get the extra bit in Temple of Doom, the extra two ****s badly dubbed in Die Hard 3 (and the extra knife slashing) on UK telly and on all UK/Irish DVDs, no "get the fish outta here" in Beverly Hills Cop and lots of language in Coming To America. And I'll always like them for that, even if it's also the cheaper option. If they got their schedules in order, stopped moving shows around and started showing them at the EPG programmed times rather than 30 minutes later they'd get a lot more deserved brownie points from all of us.
02-07-2004, 23:22   #7
mike65

sceptre you're a far too generous soul! If RTE TV burned down it would be days before most here noticed.

Mike.
02-07-2004, 23:45   #8
irishgeo

Quote:
Originally posted by mike65
sceptre you're a far too generous soul! If RTE TV burned down it would be days before most here noticed.

Mike.
Thats harsh, now if you said TV3 , with the amount of american programmes they have pre programmed to broadcast it would be weeks before you noticed.
03-07-2004, 09:11   #9
Pigman II
Banned

Send a message via AIM to Pigman II Send a message via Yahoo to Pigman II Send a message via Skype™ to Pigman II
This is how I read that article.

//

D'unbelievable ......... <skip rest of paragraph> ...............

RTE are hoping the quirky charm of Ryan Tubridy, ......... <skip rest of paragraph> ...............

New shows by the trio are among the highlights of the station's 2004/2005 television entertainment and music schedule unveiled yesterday.

Also featured is a new series of music and chat hosted by singer Daniel O'Donnell, ......... <skip rest of paragraph> ...............

Popular radio presenter Ryan Tubridy, ......... <skip rest of paragraph> ...............

Hector O hEochagain, ......... <skip rest of paragraph> ...............

Pat Shortt, ......... <skip rest of paragraph> ...............

Despite Ireland not yet qualifying for the Eurovision Song Contest, RTE will air another series of the popular You're a Star.

//

So nice of RTE to lead in their copy with the names of their 'talent' in order to save me some time reading 80% of it. So just for that I reckon all this montrose bashing is slightly unfair.

Furthermore RTE have just given Sile Seoige the Friday 'nationwide' slot .... which automatically makes up for all that aforementioned crap and is definetly an improvment on that boring old geezer who usually does it. As such I'll not hear a bad word against those WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL people at RTE!

Last edited by Pigman II; 03-07-2004 at 09:20.
03-07-2004, 09:57   #10
mike65

http://sileseoige.bravepages.com/

Mike.
03-07-2004, 11:36   #11
Elmo

Daniel O'Donnell was his show not supposed to be on this summer?

Why do RTE always do that advertise shows for the coming season and not show them untill january.

Dara O'Brien is the only show I will look forward to, I think Buired alive shows him as one of Irelands Top Chat Show Host. He could be Irelands Answer to Parkinson.

As for Hector, please do another series of AMU, RTE's Only fools buy horses was a dismal affair.

About time Jerry Ryan's Confidental was return for another series, one of his better attemts at TV.

But it just looks like more CHAT CHAT CHAT to me.

Where's the Drama.

will it just be The Clinic hang on to life on its own yet again for another series. (I like the Clinic but I think there could be more of a variety of Drama show other then it and Fair City).

Any I guess these shows wont air until Nov or Jan 2005.

Quote:
Furthermore RTE have just given Sile Seoige the Friday 'nationwide' slot .... which automatically makes up for all that aforementioned crap and is definetly an improvment on that boring old geezer who usually does it. As such I'll not hear a bad word against those WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL people at RTE!
Indeed, Grainne must be so annoyed that her younger sister is getting more viewers then she ever got.
03-07-2004, 14:09   #12
emertoff

Like Dara O'Briain but Ryan Turbidy is just like an annoying teenager who keeps making smart-arse comments. Are they sure in RTE that he's not just someone on transition year work experience? Mind you, fair play to him, at least he disproves the theory that only good-looking people succeed in TV.
03-07-2004, 15:36   #13
Cork

The Mandrians of Mountrose seem to be pinning their hopes on Ryan Tubberdy.

Gerry Ryan back on TV (Again!!!!).

No wonder that this stations viewing figures are falling year after year.
03-07-2004, 15:52   #14
Pigman II
Banned

Send a message via AIM to Pigman II Send a message via Yahoo to Pigman II Send a message via Skype™ to Pigman II
Quote:
Originally posted by emertoff
at least he disproves the theory that only good-looking people succeed in TV.
I thought George Hook had already proven that?
05-07-2004, 11:24   #15
ChipZilla

A lineup of talent like that makes you wonder what you pay a licence fee for...

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion