Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

25-06-2003, 13:43   #1
MDR

UTV and Eircom announce flat rate internet moves (RTE)

from RTE.ie

UTV steals the march on the competition .... AGAIN .....

Quote:
Two companies have announced their intention to launch flat rate internet access, or FRIACO, products on Friday.

Eircom says it will launch a wholesale product on Friday, which will allow its retail division, as well as other operators, to launch flat rate internet access products. The wholesale rate will be €14,780 per port per year.

The company says its retail division will 'shortly' announce details of packages for residential and business users

UTV Internet has also announced two new flat rate internet access products, which will be available from Friday.

The company says both are available throughout Ireland to residential and business users and include all call charges.

UTVip Lite offers 30 hours internet access per month for €9.99 a month, while UTVip XL gives at least 180 hours access for €24.95 a month.

Today's moves coincide with regulatory initiatives which clear the way for flat rate, or FRIACO, services in Ireland.

Last edited by MDR; 25-06-2003 at 15:51.
25-06-2003, 13:48   #2
Giblet

180 hours isn't great especially seen as we have to take a telephony package too.
I was expecting 300 hours.
25-06-2003, 13:56   #3
MDR

6 hours a day isn't enough ?

fair enough ....

sounds like you really need broadband (I assume you can't get it)
25-06-2003, 14:07   #4
Mr_Man

180 Hours

A little disappointing in that Scott had been talking about 300 hours when asking for feedback earlier.

M

P.S. For existing UTVip users there will be an email later to-day asking if you want to migrate to the new offering.
25-06-2003, 14:10   #5
shinzon

hmm

Why is it that martin utv et all come in here looking for feedback on what the consumer wants, we give it to them them basically **** on us all and go and do whatever they want anyway, whats the point of feedback if ye dont take it.

Sorry but again this is another example of UTV getting peoples hopes up and dashing them to bits.

So lets roll on the arguments that UTV are gods, at least they interact with us BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH

Regards

Shin
25-06-2003, 14:11   #6
gandalf

Send a message via Skype™ to gandalf
180 hours is fine for dial up use.

If you need more then broadband is the way to go tbh. As for whinging about taking the telephony as well so what if its saving you money, jesus lads your whinging now just for teh sake of it.

Gandalf.
25-06-2003, 14:38   #7
Mr_Man

180 Hours

180 Hours may be fine for some people but there are other heavy users who find it a limitation. As for broadband, of course I would take it in a shot - if it was available - but its not.

The fact that you pay 3.6c per minute if you exceed the 180 hours (for peak time) is also a pain. I agree that UTV have asked for our views seem to have ignored them, and followed the party line just like the other drones ESAT and Eircom.

M.
25-06-2003, 14:45   #8
Scruff

[whinge]
dont ye mean:
180 hrs is fine for dial up use.
If you need more then broadband is the way to go.
Unless that is you are going to download more than 5gb\month then ye'll have to pay even more dosh to get a buisness package.
(Presuming ure not a warez monkey cause then ure just a bollix cause only warez monkeys would download more than 5gb a month)
[/whinge]
(not directed at anyone, 180 hrs will probably be enough for me but...)

Last edited by Scruff; 25-06-2003 at 14:49.
25-06-2003, 14:48   #9
theciscokid

i thought flat rate... was day and night for a fixed fee?
25-06-2003, 14:49   #10
bk

UTVip Launch Flat Rate (FRIACO) service

UTVip have updated their website with details of their new flat rate (FRIACO) based services

See Here For Details

Details:

UTVip XL - 180 hours per month for EUR 24.95
UTVip LITE - 30 hours per month for EUR 9.99

You will be charged standard UTV call rates if you go over the limit.

You must also take UTVip's CPS telephone service with these products (not really a problem, it has very good prices).

It only supports single channel (64K) ISDN

Last edited by bk; 25-06-2003 at 14:54.
25-06-2003, 14:49   #11
theciscokid

already a thread about it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...hreadid=102527
25-06-2003, 15:04   #12
PiE

Does seem a bit low tbh...

"...while UTVip XL gives at least 180 hours access for €24.95 a month."

Doesn't say that on utv website. If I wasn't getting DSL next week I'd be majorly miffed. Then again, €24.95 is probably cheaper than the others will be.
25-06-2003, 15:17   #13
Lemming

Send a message via MSN to Lemming Send a message via Yahoo to Lemming
Quote:
Originally posted by theciscokid
i thought flat rate... was day and night for a fixed fee?
Yes. You can connect at any time day or night for the monthly fee that you are paying.

But I'd like to just add to this by saying that this does NOT mean that you can stay connected to it 24/7. There is a WILDLY large difference between what 24/7 always-on and 24/7 flat-rate means.

A lot of people don't seem to realise this "minor" little fact and expect to be able to leave a dial-up connection on 24/7 which is neither practical nor feasible in any sort of term planning.

Last edited by Lemming; 25-06-2003 at 15:23.
25-06-2003, 15:27   #14
bk

I'd just like to say to Malcolm and all the other folk at UTVip, congratulations.

While I know some ppl will have a few problems with the service (180 hours not being enough, single channel ISDN only and bundled CPS), I think for the most part these products are very well priced and will attract a lot of users. The XL product is EUR 5 less then I expected and the EUR 10 product is brilliant, I know many light users who will love this.

I hope UVTip will make CDs for this and it would be cool if you could distribute them through the likes of Tesco, Xtra Vision and Dell. You would get loads of customers that way.

Just a few points UTVip might take on board.:

1) Not enough hours.

For people who will complain about 180 hours not being enough, perhaps you could have some sort of top up subscription. For example:

For an extra EUR 5 - 10 per month you can get X extra hours per month.

This could apply to both your LITE and XL packages. A bit like the daytime top up package you had. This wouuld give people maximum flexibility.

2) No Dual Channel ISDN

It would be great if you could look into this again. Perhaps you could charge one channel at normal call rates and the other channel as part of the 180 hours.

Or perhaps dual channel could use double the amount of time (from the 180 hours) when used.

3) Usage meter

It would be a good idea if you could have somewhere on your website where customers could check how many hours they have been on so far this month.

BTW Malcolm, I couldn't find anywhere on your website, that has details about your standard internet service that supports dual channel ISDN, perhaps you could update the sight with setup details etc. I hate having to use Esat or Eircom when I set people up for internet access.

Cheers,
Brian
25-06-2003, 15:35   #15
Tellox

Im actually dissapointed,I was expecting a real flat rate internet on the 25th.

Luckily though,I have DSL

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion