Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  

29-04-2012, 22:13   #76
bawlbag3

ye have alot of misguided points being made here on both sides of the fence lad. the fact of the matter is
1. The company was told to pay the bonus by the labour court on the basis that both sides enter into discussion on pay cuts
2. company looking for in the region of 15% paycut, the workers not willing to accept anything close to that
3. mediation suggested a paycut of 6% and the bonus be paid in the next paycheque, which was rejected by the union
4. CRH made 700 million profit last year............CRH made this profit, not Irish Cement Ltd.

In my opinion, there are 2 Irish Cement plants still in operation only to supply prospective customers in the Benelux region and the UK, which had been the case until this strike. Those customers are now being supplied from other CRH plants on the continent, meaning that the ultimate loser is Irish Cement.

I applaud the lads and yer resolution in seeing this through.....but just think of every other stakeholder involved in this for a second also...the hauliers, contractors, customers and suppliers who are losing business!! CRH only care for Irish Cement as it could prove a convenient supplier to other CRH plants on the continent......only for that, they might as well shut Limerick down

That is my six pence worth
(2) thanks from:
02-05-2012, 11:46   #77
Enigma IE

They are picketing outside the CRH plc Head Quarters, Belgard Road, this morning.
02-05-2012, 11:51   #78
paddy40

irish cement strike

how come the roadstone workers are not out with you afterall it is all the one company and are yous not the same union yous need the quarries out with you for strong support
02-05-2012, 16:55   #79
The faceofcement

I know its great to see workers with b---s, it brings a tear to my eye,,,
02-05-2012, 20:47   #80
indamicks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enigma IE View Post
They are picketing outside the CRH plc Head Quarters, Belgard Road, this morning.
and outside the dail eireann ,where there was meatings whit TD,s .
i think it could be the start of the end
TD,s are sick of C.R.H lies
02-05-2012, 20:52   #81
indamicks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chong View Post
Ooooh cant wait, whats next ? You already had a marquee, a bbq , jesus the anticipation is killing us....

pffffft
well your anticipation is over .they met in dail eireann today whit a lot of TD,s backing the workers thanks for your support
02-05-2012, 21:08   #82
seachto7

Guys and gals. No offence, but I found this thread really hard to follow as a result of really really poor spelling. Seriously............
(4) thanks from:
03-05-2012, 00:19   #83
Gallee

Quote:
Originally Posted by seachto7 View Post
Guys and gals. No offence, but I found this thread really hard to follow as a result of really really poor spelling. Seriously............
Couldn't agree with you more. Seems like the same guy opening new accounts and posting with the spell check turned off.
Thanks from:
03-05-2012, 00:32   #84
indamicks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gallee View Post
Couldn't agree with you more. Seems like the same guy opening new accounts and posting with the spell check turned off.
sorry il try to my dyslexia fixed by tomoro .
Thanks from:
03-05-2012, 07:29   #85
seachto7

Quote:
Originally Posted by indamicks View Post
sorry il try to my dyslexia fixed by tomoro .
well, the least you could do, posting on a public forum, is to use the spell check!! It's bloody hard to follow!
03-05-2012, 18:11   #86
indamicks

Quote:
well, the least you could do, posting on a public forum, is to use the spell check!! It's bloody hard to follow!
your the first to complane it cant be that hard everyone else understood me
03-05-2012, 18:24   #87
Insect Overlord

Send a message via Skype™ to Insect Overlord
Let's try to stick to the topic from here on, please.
03-05-2012, 20:22   #88
seachto7

Mod, where do you stand on getting abusive private messages off posters on this thread?
(2) thanks from:
03-05-2012, 21:24   #89
Insect Overlord

Send a message via Skype™ to Insect Overlord
Quote:
Mod, where do you stand on getting abusive private messages off posters on this thread?
Dealt with via PM.

This thread is causing the whole Midwest mod team far too much hassle. We've already cleaned it up twice and it's still a wreck. Locked, and staying locked.
(4) thanks from:
Thread Closed