Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Legalize Cannabis Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

MagicSean wrote: »
    You are of course entitled to your opinion. hopefully the people i help probably think otherwise and their opinion matters more.

when you say people should just accept anything the courts/goverment/politicians do without question, id say your opinion is pretty much worthless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Cool, a piss higher competition.
    Let me just squeeze the tip of my lad to get a few more bars of pressure..........

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Ciaran0

When all's said and done, the positives of decriminalising cannabis would outweigh the negatives. :) Far too many people in this country are undereducated when it comes to drugs unfortunately.

Actually, I do have one problem with Ming's logic at the end of the speech in the OP. The facts may be all correct that the Netherlands have far better statistics than Ireland, but correlation doesn't imply causality. The legalisation of cannabis didn't necessarily improve heroin addiction rates.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's not a human right according to any court I've ever heard of. Perhaps you need a reality check as to what basic human rights are because not being allowed get high is nowhere near the atrocity you think it is.
    I never said anything about any court, I said I think it should be a human right to have the freedom to try drugs.

Your dismissive argument of "you should get into politics and do something about it" is nonsense too, I have a full time job. I elect people to do this stuff but as with all political doorstep promises they seem to forget they made them once they've gotten the power that they wanted.

Maybe you could, but you claimed it was for health reasons. And then you added the law against homosexuality in as being passed for health reasons, just so you could try bring them to an even level.
    I think you might be confusing me with another poster, or just confused I don't know what you mean by that.

The main reasons would be the medicinal benefits to some serious illness, the pain relief effects, the potential revenue to te government and the damage it would do to dealers. These are the resons it will eventually be legalised to some extent. "I can do what I want" is not a valid reason at all.
    You dismissed all these reasons already.
    Daddio wrote: »
    Rotterdam city center is not populated by pot-addled and befuddled amnesiac wanderers on a Friday/Saturday night, but by the usual little groups of drunken teenage girls wearing too little, the odd gang of lads acting the gob****e, and the loners who have had one tequila too many and stumbling their way to the last tram.
    That was pretty shocking alright. I decided to get out of Amsterdam last time I was there and went down to Rotterdam. There was mobs of kids fighting each other right in the centre of town, I decided to et out of there turned around and got the metro only to find the fight broke out on my train then, you wouldn't even see that craic in Dublin. Also very hard to find a coffeeshop.
    Shouldn't this thread be 'Decriminalise Cannabis'

Whats this legal craic about?
    Fully legalise, decriminalisation doesn't stop the dealers.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I need it for Crohns disease, needs to be made legal.

• Registered Users Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

Ush1 wrote: »
    I need it for Crohns disease, needs to be made legal.

It is people like you i feel really sorry for. People that need it. It should be made out right legal. No question about it. But to make you contact drug dealers and commite a crime to get what you need is simple wrong.

I hate society sometimes.

Hope you get well soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭keithclancy

ScumLord wrote: »

That was pretty shocking alright. I decided to get out of Amsterdam last time I was there and went down to Rotterdam. There was mobs of kids fighting each other right in the centre of town, I decided to et out of there turned around and got the metro only to find the fight broke out on my train then, you wouldn't even see that craic in Dublin. Also very hard to find a coffeeshop.

Fully legalise, decriminalisation doesn't stop the dealers.

Rotterdam is well known as a sh*thole. Same as any town thats a busy port.

Go out in Cobh on a Friday/Saturday night and theres all sorts of sh*t going on.

Saying that theres some nice parts of Rotterdam too.

The Hague has Zuiderpark .. thats a hole.

Amsterdam has the Transvaal district with a few dodgy neighbourhoors.

Theres parts of Paris/Berlin/Dublin/Cork/Rome/Milan/Brussels/Antwerp that you just don't go to.

Weed like anything can be abused, i've seen a few lads here that are totally washed out because of the stuff.
    I've a load of Dutch friends and don't know one of them that smokes. I know a few Irish and English that do though.
    I wouldn't be on for it to be legal, decriminalised is fine so it doesnt waste police time, available on prescription, great.

But legal, no .. seen too many people waste their lives on the stuff.

Given that Ireland in general has a massive problem with moderation, I just can't see 'legal' weed working.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Yup, while Rotterdam has its nice areas for going out and having a quiet beer or two, the main nightclub areas are chaos - and it's certainly not down to people smoking weed!

Anyway, I don't want to sound pessimistic nor do I want to put down the important hard work and passion of the legalize cannabis groups, but I feel it's a long way off in Ireland. Governmental politics all over the world is not about belief or even sensible logic, but about how you appear to the majority of the electorate. I couldn't see any of the major parties making public pushes to legalise cannabis for fears of 'rocking the boat'. Having said that, it would be an even longer way off if there aren't people out there putting it on the agenda.

Rotterdam is well known as a sh*thole. Same as any town thats a busy port.

Go out in Cobh on a Friday/Saturday night and theres all sorts of sh*t going on.
    Cobh wouldn't be a port in the same way Rotterdam or Dublin would be, Rotterdam's one of the largest ports in the world and it really is a lovely city, but at night there seemed to be huge gangs of literally hundreds of young people fighting each other.
    Saying that theres some nice parts of Rotterdam too.
    Other than that violence it's a really nice city.

I wouldn't be on for it to be legal, decriminalised is fine so it doesnt waste police time, available on prescription, great.

But legal, no .. seen too many people waste their lives on the stuff.
    I don't see the point in decriminalisation if your trying to combat crime. It just going to give the criminal gangs easier access to more people. Full legalisation means companies growing it, shops selling it and taxes flowing back to the government. Amsterdam has decriminalisation but it also has the coffeeshops that collect taxes on it. Just decriminalisation means no tax will be collected, criminals still grow it and criminals still sell it.

Medical cannabis is a no brainer, it should have happened all ready and it's just cruelty on the part of the government to not allow sick people to use the drug.

Legalisation goes beyond that and takes recreational cannabis users out of the hands of criminals and is a real financial attack on organised crime.

Cobh wouldn't be a port in the same way Rotterdam or Dublin would be, Rotterdam's one of the largest ports in the world and it really is a lovely city, but at night there seemed to be huge gangs of literally hundreds of young people fighting each other.

Drugs and Hookers, Cobh is rife with it.
    Theres been times where the Gardai there have had to lock themselves in the station and wait until enough units can turn up from Cork City.

I don't see the point in decriminalisation if your trying to combat crime. It just going to give the criminal gangs easier access to more people. Full legalisation means companies growing it, shops selling it and taxes flowing back to the government. Amsterdam has decriminalisation but it also has the coffeeshops that collect taxes on it. Just decriminalisation means no tax will be collected, criminals still grow it and criminals still sell it.

Decriminalisation stops the Police wasting their time on people consuming it.
    Medical cannabis is a no brainer, it should have happened all ready and it's just cruelty on the part of the government to not allow sick people to use the drug.

True, if you have cancer or something then why not.
    I have a mate with Chron's disease, weed does nothing for him except make him feel sick, he prefers beer. Doctor said its bad for him but sure at least he's not totally miserable.
    Legalisation goes beyond that and takes recreational cannabis users out of the hands of criminals and is a real financial attack on organised crime.

Nah, the Cops here still target the growers here.

Weed makes people stupid in the long term thats from my personal experience and it does affect people psychologically.

Smoke away, but I for one would vote no for it to be legalised, mainly because then the state is saying its 'ok' and would become responsible for all of the problems that come with it.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Legalising Cannabis will not keep out the Criminal elements .That's a certainty and when soft drugs are available the Hard drugs are never far away .That's another certainty .There are vested interests here pushing the boundaries to bring in legislation legalising Cannabis .They might have huge stocks somewhere to download gradually on to the markets .If they get their way then Ireland will become another South American Barrio or closer ; Naples see the Camorro documentary on the RTE Player online. Parts of Ireland might resemble parts of Naples 20 years from now .

Decriminalisation stops the Police wasting their time on people consuming it.
    It doesn't, it just stops people getting arrested for small amounts. Guards time will still be taken up processing arrests and criminals will make more money out of the drug.

Weed makes people stupid in the long term thats from my personal experience and it does affect people psychologically.
    That's not true in my experience, I know plenty of proffesionals that smoke weed.
    Smoke away, but I for one would vote no for it to be legalised, mainly because then the state is saying its 'ok' and would become responsible for all of the problems that come with it.
    I don't see that happening at all. By all accounts consumption goes down with removing restrictions to drugs.
    paddyandy wrote: »
    Legalising Cannabis will not keep out the Criminal elements .That's a certainty and when soft drugs are available the Hard drugs are never far away .That's another certainty .There are vested interests here pushing the boundaries to bring in legislation legalising Cannabis .They might have huge stocks somewhere to download gradually on to the markets .If they get their way then Ireland will become another South American Barrio or closer ; Naples see the Camorro documentary on the RTE Player online. Parts of Ireland might resemble parts of Naples 20 years from now .
    That's just not true. Illegal cannabis is worth way more than legal stuff. It suits people involved in the illegal sale of drugs to keep them illegal. In California it's the illegal growers that opposed law changes the most as they won't make as much money from selling it and they'll have to put up with genuine competition that they won't be able to intimidate out of the market.

It doesn't, it just stops people getting arrested for small amounts. Guards time will still be taken up processing arrests and criminals will make more money out of the drug.

Ugh, no, it does, its stops the police wasting their time on people consuming it. Explain how it doesn't stop the Police wasting their time on consumers if they don't have to charge them anymore ?
    That's not true in my experience, I know plenty of proffesionals that smoke weed.

Me too, and long term it doesn't work out, know a few people with mental health problems, sleeping problems, short term memory loss.

I also know a few people that gave it up and they've said they wish they never smoked the stuff in the first place, they felt like they wasted years of their life and their thinking was totally clouded.

Also its not exactly a social thing to do people just don't socialise anymore, they'll sit on their hole at home smoking weed and watching episodes of star trek while eating cheese on toast.
    I don't see that happening at all. By all accounts consumption goes down with removing restrictions to drugs.

Based on what ?

Regardless, you have your experience, I have mine, long term its bad for you.

Ugh, no, it does, its stops the police wasting their time on people consuming it. Explain how it doesn't stop the Police wasting their time on consumers if they don't have to charge them anymore ?
    Well there will be a cut off, so depending on the amount Police may have to get weed measured. Even if they don't arrest the person they still had to use up resources to make sure the person had a accepted amount. It will also mean they have reduced methods of actually finding the gangs supplying as the end user will no longer be under any obligation to rat out the person that sold them the drug.

For me it would be brilliant but for society at large it does little and it won't affect the bottom line for criminals.

Me too, and long term it doesn't work out, know a few people with mental health problems, sleeping problems, short term memory loss.
    Sleeping problems do occur. Cannabis basically replaces the role of the chemical that helps you sleep. It's all fine and dandy getting to sleep when your smoking but once you try and stop you will find it hard to sleep for the first two weeks. That's with constant regular use, it doesn't happen if you smoke a spliff every now and again. The rest just isn't true. Cannabis doesn't really cause metal problems in the majority of people and the short term memory loss isn't as pronounced as people say it is. I've learned how to use very advanced software like After effects and photoshop and I have no problem remembering how to use the programs. I and just about everyone I know have been smoking for more than 10 years, when should we expect these problems to kick in?

Also its not exactly a social thing to do people just don't socialise anymore, they'll sit on their hole at home smoking weed and watching episodes of star trek while eating cheese on toast.
    More incorrect assumptions. Smokers stick together and because you can't just go to the shop and buy it you have to be part of a loop of people that know where to get it.

Based on what ?
    Amsterdam has one of the lowest uses of cannabis in Europe, Portugal has seen reductions in drug use since they decriminalised all drugs. Portugal isn't unique there either, every country that has decriminalised drug use has seen reductions in drug use.
    Regardless, you have your experience, I have mine, long term its bad for you.
    I haven't seen that happening with any smoker I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Smoke away, but I for one would vote no for it to be legalised, mainly because then the state is saying its 'ok'

Alcohol is legal and it's quite clear that the state does not endorse it's use.

Whether or not something is legal is not the same as whether the state or society approves of it.
    and would become responsible for all of the problems that come with it.

It is in fact completely the opposite. The state would be saying that people who smoke are themselves responsible for their actions, just the same as they are for smoking or drinking.

Well there will be a cut off, so depending on the amount Police may have to get weed measured. Even if they don't arrest the person they still had to use up resources to make sure the person had a accepted amount. It will also mean they have reduced methods of actually finding the gangs supplying as the end user will no longer be under any obligation to rat out the person that sold them the drug.

For me it would be brilliant but for society at large it does little and it won't affect the bottom line for criminals.

Nah, for the 10 people they don't have to hassle then they can catch a$$holes that turn honest hard working peoples houses into grow houses.
    Sleeping problems do occur. Cannabis basically replaces the role of the chemical that helps you sleep. It's all fine and dandy getting to sleep when your smoking but once you try and stop you will find it hard to sleep for the first two weeks. That's with constant regular use, it doesn't happen if you smoke a spliff every now and again. The rest just isn't true. Cannabis doesn't really cause metal problems in the majority of people and the short term memory loss isn't as pronounced as people say it is. I've learned how to use very advanced software like After effects and photoshop and I have no problem remembering how to use the programs. I and just about everyone I know have been smoking for more than 10 years, when should we expect these problems to kick in?

Course it does, it changes your mental state, anything that changes your mental state on a regular basis can affect your mental health.
    More incorrect assumptions. Smokers stick together and because you can't just go to the shop and buy it you have to be part of a loop of people that know where to get it.

Exactly, if its decriminalized/legal like it is here then you can go to the shop and just buy it, no more social aspect to it.

You can just buy it, then wake up in the morning and have a nice bit fat joint to get you started for the day.
    Amsterdam has one of the lowest uses of cannabis in Europe, Portugal has seen reductions in drug use since they decriminalised all drugs. Portugal isn't unique there either, every country that has decriminalised drug use has seen reductions in drug use.

I think your talking about the survey that said the Dutch are amongst the lowest in Europe (based on surveys in schools)

Amsterdam has always been known as having a much higher rate of cannabis users than other cities, (1997 National Average 15.6%, Amsterdam 36.7%)
    I haven't seen that happening with any smoker I know.

I have, and here its completely open, the reason the Dutch don't smoke it is because they see here openly what it does to people.

When you see polititions and drug dealers both wanting to keep probation then you have to really ask what is going on?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Yeah its better to go out and get hammered drunk and get into fights every weekend. That will def free up the guards time!!
    Course it does, it changes your mental state, anything that changes your mental state on a regular basis can affect your mental health.

Like coffee, paracetemol, ciggarettes, beer, green tea..................shall I got on. Do you want these substances banned too??

Exactly, if its decriminalized/legal like it is here then you can go to the shop and just buy it, no more social aspect to it.

Would you prefer people went to some dodgy dealer that is both untaxed and untregulated and buy it there or would you prefer this dealer was put out of business by have a legal alternative??

frag420 wrote: »
    Yeah its better to go out and get hammered drunk and get into fights every weekend. That will def free up the guards time!!

Don't see the relevance, the Alcohol thing is a completely seperate issue, Ireland just seems to have a problem with the amount consumed, thats a much deeper socio economic issue though thats pretty off topic.
    Like coffee, paracetemol, ciggarettes, beer, green tea..................shall I got on. Do you want these substances banned too??

No, I said decriminalised
    Would you prefer people went to some dodgy dealer that is both untaxed and untregulated and buy it there or would you prefer this dealer was put out of business by have a legal alternative??

See Above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

Cant see a good enough reason to see why it shouldnt be legalised, in a controlled manner. Not really into the stuff myself but if people enjoy smoking it or whatever then they should be allowed to do so. It would take powers away from criminals and bring more taxes for the government. Kind of a no brainer really. As for the other wider implications for society I dont see how it could be any worse than those of Alcohol or tobacco.

Just grow your own if your that mad for it, its not that hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I'm sure Bill Bailey does that and he seems to be doing ok for himself :pac:

well you cant exatly smoke 'weed' out 'on the town' at present now can you :rolleyes:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,138 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

WumBuster wrote: »
    Cant see a good enough reason to see why it shouldnt be legalised, in a controlled manner. Not really into the stuff myself but if people enjoy smoking it or whatever then they should be allowed to do so. It would take powers away from criminals and bring more taxes for the government. Kind of a no brainer really. As for the other wider implications for society I dont see how it could be any worse than those of Alcohol or tobacco.

Regards wider implications for society, I don't really think there are any as most (if not all) people who want to smoke weed already smoke it.

Everything changes your mental state, to remember something new your brain has to change it's layout and become something different than it was. So there's nothing bad about changing you mental state it's a healthy thing for a brain to do. If your changing that state by damaging it and killing cells that's different but cannabis doesn't do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Must remember to avoid sex so.....

Dopamine: Elevated levels of dopamine in the brain produce extremely focused attention. This chemical causes each spouse to focus intensely on the other at the exclusion of everything else around them. A release of dopamine is associated with craving and dependency in addiction, which may be why it can help produce a healthy attraction and dependency between the spouses.

Norepinephrine: This chemical generates exhilaration and increased energy by giving the body a shot of natural adrenaline. Norepinephrine has also been linked to raising memory capacity. Whatever stimulus is being experienced in the presence of this chemical is “seared” in the brain. This helps explain how a couple in love can remember the smallest details of their beloved’s features.

Testosterone: Testosterone is known as the hormone of sexual desire in both men and women. For men, however, it is the key hormone of desire, triggering feelings of positive energy and well-being.

Oxytocin: The flood of oxytocin at climax acts as a natural tranquilizer, lowering blood pressure, blunting sensitivity to pain and stress, and inducing sleep.

Serotonin: This natural chemical is released right after climax, bringing on a deep feeling of calmness, satisfaction and release from stress. Anti-depressant drugs like Prozac are designed to increase levels of serotonin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

well you cant exatly smoke 'weed' out 'on the town' at present now can you :rolleyes:

can't really smoke anything can you? unless you plan on bringing brownies to the pub that won't change.

well dont be complaining that smokers are being anti-social then :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I never said anything about any court, I said I think it should be a human right to have the freedom to try drugs.

It's a restriction on a recreational activity.Nothing more.
    Your dismissive argument of "you should get into politics and do something about it" is nonsense too, I have a full time job. I elect people to do this stuff but as with all political doorstep promises they seem to forget they made them once they've gotten the power that they wanted.

You should use your vote more wisely then.
    I think you might be confusing me with another poster, or just confused I don't know what you mean by that.

You dismissed all these reasons already

No I didn't. i dismissed the exaggerated claims. Nothing else.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭clonadlad

A very good watch.