Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

woman tries to jump consultants waiting list.

• Registered Users Posts: 376 ✭✭_petulia_

I had an outpatient appointment in Galway last week and I was shocked and frankly, bloody disgusted by the attitude of a lady who tried to skip the waiting list. She walked into a packed waiting room full of public patients, everyone of whom, including myself, had been on the waiting list and we'd had to wait our turn on a long list to see a consultant.

She just walked in and demanded to be seen by a consultant. She had no referral and her GP hadn't written to request a consultation for her, she just seemed to feel that she is more important than everyone else. The real kicker was that she is Polish and started ranting that if she was in Poland she would be seen straight away and about how much better the Polish health service is. Well feck off back to the mother country love.

As if that weren't enough, judging by the row she was having with the nurse, the cheeky bitch had pulled exactly the same stunt the day before and the same nurse had explained the way things work to her the previous day. People with that attitude really piss me off. I've known people who've had to wait 3 years to see a consultant.

Has anyone else come across this before.

No, I've never encountered/heard of someone acting this stupid in a hospital before.

People who behave like this, regardless of nationality, just make an already bad situation worse.

But the real problem here is the size of the public waiting lists. She may have went about it the wrong way but she had a point, it is crazy to expect people to wait so long for treatment.

If you want to be angry about something OP, I suggest you be angry about our very poor public health service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭angry kitten

Dudess wrote: »
    Bet the story is bullsh1t.
    It's completely true. A lot of people in Ireland, regardless of nationality, wait a ridiculously long time on waiting lists. It is disgusting that someone decides that the waiting list doesn't apply to them. It is offensive to see somebody from another country try to do so, especially while ranting about how much better the health service is in their country. So yes, if she doesn't like it, she can pay to private or feck off back to Poland. I also don't give flying f**k if I'm considered a racist.

Nina_G wrote: »
    No, I've never encountered/heard of someone acting this stupid in a hospital before.

People who behave like this, regardless of nationality, just make an already bad situation worse.

But the real problem here is the size of the public waiting lists. She may have went about it the wrong way but she had a point, it is crazy to expect people to wait so long for treatment.

If you want to be angry about something OP, I suggest you be angry about our very poor public health service.
    I'm angry about both.

Oh right, I thought it was just about the Polish woman trying to jump the queue.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Watch out this kitty has claws!

FYP!
    It isn't clever or original to misquote another persons post.

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

Assuming this happened, I would have been angry if she had been seen ahead of me. According to the OP she wasn't so I don't understand the anger

After witnessing that I would have been amused that someone could be so silly and maybe a little turned on if she was hot.

If you get angry every time someone acts the eejit you must spend a lot of time in that state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

It's completely true. A lot of people in Ireland, regardless of nationality, wait a ridiculously long time on waiting lists. It is disgusting that someone decides that the waiting list doesn't apply to them.

You want to ban private health insurance?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Racist!!!!

It's both clever and original to misquote another persons post.

FYP

It's completely true. A lot of people in Ireland, regardless of nationality, wait a ridiculously long time on waiting lists. It is disgusting that someone decides that the waiting list doesn't apply to them. It is offensive to see somebody from another country try to do so, especially while ranting about how much better the health service is in their country. So yes, if she doesn't like it, she can pay to private or feck off back to Poland. I also don't give flying f**k if I'm considered a racist.

Polish is a nationality not a race. Check out dictionary.com. It tells you what words mean. Also private is not a verb.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

It isn't clever or original to misquote another persons post.

Ah, in fairness sometimes it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

In many countries on the continent, you just go to whatever specialist you need, and you go the same day, paying a fairly reasonable price. All this referral and waiting list stuff is unheard of.

Last year, I went to my local doctor in the country I was working, with chest pains. I'd already had them a few times back home and had been sent away from the GP without them even looking at me. This doctor told me I was being sent for a chest X-ray just to be on the safe side. I asked when that would be and if it was worth waiting for a referral as I only had a couple more months in the country. He looked at me like I had two heads and said, 'you can go now'. Before I went, I had an ECG, performed by a nurse, in the doctor's surgery, no waiting around at all. After that, I went straight to the hospital where I was seen after 5 minutes, they gave me my images on a CD which I took back to the doctor and he read them for me. All on the same afternoon. 2 GP visits, an ECG and chest X-rays, all non-emergency. For a total cost of about 60 euro.

I don't understand why the healthcare system in the UK and Ireland is so complicated, drawn-out and anxiety producing. Months and months of waiting for letters and scans and test results, when it could all be done in the same week elsewhere. So maybe this Polish woman, if she was real, didn't understand why on earth everything has to be so complicated.

amacachi wrote: »
    You want to ban private health insurance?
    I've got no problem with private health insurance, I had it myself for years, but when I emigrated years ago the policy lapsed and I can't get cover for a previously existing condition. I'd love to have it again, although with the expense of private health insurance on the increase I'd say there'll be many people getting rid of their private policies.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

biko wrote: »
    This won't end well angry kitten.
    Is this some continuation of your "Queue jumping/bad customer service" thread before the weekend?

This is your one and only chance Biko,if you don't come back here with a dead mouse,some milk and a tray of cat litter for ****ting in, you're banned for ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

did you notice if she had a "protein shake" on her person and was she lifting her arms up and down very fast while holding cannon balls (when asked what they were she said her husbands balls, in my country polish men are polish) did the veins in her neck look like fuel cell rods,

sometimes when they are like this they get angry. kurwa, skurwysyn.

IzzyWizzy wrote: »
    In many countries on the continent, you just go to whatever specialist you need, and you go the same day, paying a fairly reasonable price. All this referral and waiting list stuff is unheard of.

Last year, I went to my local doctor in the country I was working, with chest pains. I'd already had them a few times back home and had been sent away from the GP without them even looking at me. This doctor told me I was being sent for a chest X-ray just to be on the safe side. I asked when that would be and if it was worth waiting for a referral as I only had a couple more months in the country. He looked at me like I had two heads and said, 'you can go now'. Before I went, I had an ECG, performed by a nurse, in the doctor's surgery, no waiting around at all. After that, I went straight to the hospital where I was seen after 5 minutes, they gave me my images on a CD which I took back to the doctor and he read them for me. All on the same afternoon. 2 GP visits, an ECG and chest X-rays, all non-emergency. For a total cost of about 60 euro.

I don't understand why the healthcare system in the UK and Ireland is so complicated, drawn-out and anxiety producing. Months and months of waiting for letters and scans and test results, when it could all be done in the same week elsewhere. So maybe this Polish woman, if she was real, didn't understand why on earth everything has to be so complicated.
    The nurse had explained to her the previous day, that she would have to get her gp to write to the consultant and push for her to be seen urgently or failing that, she could come in through A and E. She just didn't want to wait. She said something about wanting a letter for Social Services.

Darsad wrote: »
    I dont see anything wrong with expecting to see a consultant when you need to . The problem is we have always dipped the knee to the medical profession and paid far to much to them in the process. Perhaps she is used to dealing with the medical profession where they are not treated and act like gods . If they were not a vested interest whose numbers are controlled ie protected by themselves , then we would have plenty more and less waiting lists.

The Irish Medical Council has a lay majority, we are the only country in Europe where the medical profession is not self regulated.

Still, why let facts get in the way of some begrudgery.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Had a little bit of a similar situation last week waiting to see the doctor at a pregnancy clinic. (well waiting for herself to see the doctor)

The doctor was about an hour behind schedule and everybody was informed by the receptionist that there would be a delay. This however went over the head of one couple there (from a certain community who are described as moving a lot)

Everytime somebody was seen they would get up and shout 'we're next we're next', the receptionist explained to them that everybody was being seen in the order they arrived in and that knowbody who arrived after them would see the doctor before them.

They just couldn't understand it and continued shouting everytime somebody was called in, the receptionist even told them after every patient was seen how many more turns they needed to wait. i.e. '4 more to go' '3 more to go' etc.

Anyways they went up to the receptionist when 3 places away from being seen and demanded to be next because its not fair for travellers to wait so long, they were seen next.

Unfortunately some people are too stupid to understand the concept of having to wait and the reasons why they cant get instant access to medical professionals for free, but they do understand if they are enough of a pain in the arse they get what they want.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

The nurse had explained to her the previous day, that she would have to get her gp to write to the consultant and push for her to be seen urgently or failing that, she could come in through A and E. She just didn't want to wait. She said something about wanting a letter for Social Services.

How do you know the nurse explained all this the previous day ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I had an outpatient appointment in Galway last week and I was shocked and frankly, bloody disgusted by the attitude of a lady who tried to skip the waiting list. She walked into a packed waiting room full of public patients, everyone of whom, including myself, had been on the waiting list and we'd had to wait our turn on a long list to see a consultant.

She just walked in and demanded to be seen by a consultant. She had no referral and her GP hadn't written to request a consultation for her, she just seemed to feel that she is more important than everyone else. The real kicker was that she is Polish and started ranting that if she was in Poland she would be seen straight away and about how much better the Polish health service is. Well feck off back to the mother country love.

As if that weren't enough, judging by the row she was having with the nurse, the cheeky bitch had pulled exactly the same stunt the day before and the same nurse had explained the way things work to her the previous day. People with that attitude really piss me off. I've known people who've had to wait 3 years to see a consultant.

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭Janedoe10

I would be angry too if some one tried to hop a queue .. It does not matter what nationality they are .
    U don't know what the reason she wanted to see consultant however desperate times call for desperate measures .. I know a person who i s left to f***ing die before our very eyes because of our "first" class medical system can't figure out what's wrong meanwhile she is coughing up blood and in agony for 5 weeks because not all the tests are back . They won't have any one to treat soon . Her familys hands are tied as this regional hospital has refused To transfer to the centres of "excellence" as they say it's too soon . "too soon " for what . ? Her mam is threatening on going direct to the main medical team to ask what the delay is . Xxxx is too sick to care at this stage .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I find that story a bit incredible, but there are silly people everywhere. Wasn't there any security at the clinic? In any clinics or hospitals I've been in too many, unfortunately), the security would have intervened at once and made her leave.:)

Why do you mention she was Polish, by the way. Do you think no Irish woman could ever be such a bitch?:rolleyes:

You really mustn't draw too many conclusions from analysis of a sample of one.

You last sentence is intriguing - three years to see a consultant? I'm in Finland now and saw a consultant last week, after a wait of about a month, and have been told I'll be called for a heart operation within 4 months. We have a law here, called the Treatment Guarantee, which sets time limits within which treatment must be provided, or else the health authority must pay for it in a private hospital. No one would have to wait longer than six months to see a consultant.:D

I suppose if I was in an Irish clinic I'd be tempted to point that out, but what would be the point?:confused:

mattjack wrote: »
    How do you know the nurse explained all this the previous day ?
    Because the nurse said 'I explained all this to you when you came in yesterday' in response to the womans insistence on being seen on Friday.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Because the nurse said 'I explained all this to you when you came in yesterday' in response to the womans insistence on being seen on Friday.

were you related to her.

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    I find that story a bit incredible, but there are silly people everywhere. Wasn't there any security at the clinic? In any clinics or hospitals I've been in too many, unfortunately), the security would have intervened at once and made her leave.:)

Why do you mention she was Polish, by the way. Do you think no Irish woman could ever be such a bitch?:rolleyes:

You really mustn't draw too many conclusions from analysis of a sample of one.

You last sentence is intriguing - three years to see a consultant? I'm in Finland now and saw a consultant last week, after a wait of about a month, and have been told I'll be called for a heart operation within 4 months. We have a law here, called the Treatment Guarantee, which sets time limits within which treatment must be provided, or else the health authority must pay for it in a private hospital. No one would have to wait longer than six months to see a consultant.:D

I suppose if I was in an Irish clinic I'd be tempted to point that out, but what would be the point?:confused:
    I've no doubt an Irish woman could be capable of the same thing. I've only experienced the Irish and UK health services and I've got to say the Irish system is, in my opinion much better. From what I've seen an awful lot of money has been spent on private hospitals during the boom years, now we're left with underfunded public hospital services that can't cope with the volume of patients. I think that the horrendously long waiting lists will only get longer as more people can't afford to pay for private health insurance.

were you related to her.
    No, I'm not related to the nurse or the Polish lady.

I've no doubt an Irish woman could be capable of the same thing. I've only experienced the Irish and UK health services and I've got to say the Irish system is, in my opinion much better. From what I've seen an awful lot of money has been spent on private hospitals during the boom years, now we're left with underfunded public hospital services that can't cope with the volume of patients. I think that the horrendously long waiting lists will only get longer as more people can't afford to pay for private health insurance.

I think an Irish woman would be as capable of it as a Polish woman tbh. I don't see what nationality has to do with this.

Janedoe10 wrote: »
    I would be angry too if some one tried to hop a queue .. It does not matter what nationality they are .
    U don't know what the reason she wanted to see consultant however desperate times call for desperate measures .. I know a person who i s left to f***ing die before our very eyes because of our "first" class medical system can't figure out what's wrong meanwhile she is coughing up blood and in agony for 5 weeks because not all the tests are back . They won't have any one to treat soon . Her familys hands are tied as this regional hospital has refused To transfer to the centres of "excellence" as they say it's too soon . "too soon " for what . ? Her mam is threatening on going direct to the main medical team to ask what the delay is . Xxxx is too sick to care at this stage .

You're right, I don't know what her reason for trying to skip the waiting list is. She had no idea what treatment I or any of the other patients who were waiting that day were undergoing with the neurologist. It isn't like skipping the queue at the doctors, every patient that is referred to a consultant is there because their gp feels they need to be seen by a specialist.

Nina_G wrote: »
    I think an Irish woman would be as capable of it as a Polish woman tbh. I don't see what nationality has to do with this.
    Nationality came into it in this case as the lady herself made an issue of it when she criticised the Irish system while trying to jump the waiting list. If she hadn't been ranting on and on about the superiority of the Polish system I would have had no idea what her nationality is. I doubt there would be many Irish women who tried to skip the waiting list arguing about the superiority of the Polish health service.