Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post Pictures Of Your Catch. (Mod note in OP 14/05/2015)

• 13-07-2006 3:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭vibez

Lads,

just thaught id have a continue tread from myself and mclough. If anyone is out at weekend and have a camera handy take a few pics get them posted.

heres my latest.....

14-06-06_2143.jpg

11-07-06_2239.jpg

11-07-06_2217.jpg

11-07-06_2212.jpg

11-07-06_2053.jpg

I caught these lot on 3 different flies, 2 were on a brown sedge, 3 were on an olive. I hit 2 also with a midget but lost them :(

I took few days of work so hopfully will get a few more days in and more pictures posted!!

cheers

MOD : Post your fishy pictures here. Limted chat is acceptable. If you want clarification on a method or venue start a new thread or use the area threads. Alternatively PM the poster. Some might give more info than others ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭jd

Good idea-I'll sticky it..
    jd

gar.jpg

Garfish June 9th 06 Kilmore Quay..

and

100_1751.JPG

Codling the same day

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭grudgebringer

Hey JD, good catch. I've never caught anything in the sea (mackerel off the pier don't count :cool: )

I spent an hour and a half today down the local grand canal, caught 10 small roach, it got too damn hot and they stopped feeding - had to go then though. My hard drive failed so I'm on a new computer, lost all my old images :( , when I have some new ones of my catches I'll postem for people to ridicule :rolleyes: :D

Slan

Conger and Ballan. Chieftain , Cobh, july 15

img_0190.jpg

img_0192.jpg

And bass this morning,July 16, Wexford Harbour!
    img_0201.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭jamescrombie

Little Bream or Rudd from the Grand Canel in the Midlands

197871861_ad3eca22fc_o.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

Thats definately not a Rudd, more like a roach/bream hybrid i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭vibez

Fair balls JB...

I was out again last tue, stayed out for the night. fished a newish lake in Cavan very hard to access so had a good feeling about it. it was my first time doing proper course fishing (for roach etc). good day all around caught about 30 roach 10 perch 5 pike, 1 bream, the pikes were only tiny things 3-5 pound. My god we had some job taking out the hooks.

heres a few pics of the trip....

My first Bream:

bream.jpg

All the gear myself and mate had 2 lug through a mile of uneven marshie land:

19-07-06_1645.jpg

the little jack that took my bait at 4am, not a great pic...

19-07-06_0356.jpg

I didnt get a chance to take a pic of the rest but next time i defo will.

cheers ;)

Grey Gurnard, off Wicklow, July 25 06
    img_0245.jpg

img_0247.jpg

Thats definately not a Rudd, more like a roach/bream hybrid i think.

I concur, certainly looks like a roach/bream hybrid, not a bit of rudd in it though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

a-trakPerch.jpg

A Decent enough Perch I got while trolling spoons in Blessington last weekend.

(no Pike although this little fellah made up somewhat)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭vibez

dats a cracker of a perch

fair play ;)

Well done, seems like so long since I've seen any perch over 3 inches long. They all died out where I can remember 10 years ago or so they were abundant and quite big too....it's nice to see decent size ones being caught again....none in the canal I fish in at all, I haven't caught one in a long time, last one was probably in Lough Ramor in Cavan, I love 'em, best memory of catching one is catching one on a deadbait when I was fishing for Pike many moons ago in the canal in Clondalkin, he was in or around 3 Ibs, an absolute whopper :eek:

Some surprise too to be fishing for Pike on deadbait and come up with a Perch!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

one of my smaller fish... a nice tub gurnard

gurnard7gg.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭jimbo 22

White trout weighed in at 3/4 lb.

Pic taken first week of July

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭inigo

Does mackerel count?? It's my first ever catch... :o

inigo wrote:
    Does mackerel count?? It's my first ever catch... :o

if you have a photo post it

Was coarse fishing for perch and roach in wiclow last weekend on a fairly big lake when I got a massive bend in the rod with the below brown trout.

A great suprise as the stretch is not at all known for trout and I was using maggots.
    Picture quality isn't great as again I was on my own and he was still fairly lively and I wanted him back in the water asap.

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭inigo

OK! Dun Laoghaire west pier on 16-09-06.

1st ever fish I got in the sea was the 2 small ones: imagine how I felt when I got 2 at the same time! I know it's only mackerel, but it felt good!

An hour or so later I got the bigger one: around 14" and 300g without entrails (with head). It game me some sport: I thought it was the umpteenth time I got tangled in the kelp...:D

seeing as everyone is showing mack's... here's 20 mins work with a single hook and float....
    050810165722yq0.th.jpg
    caught through the season last year.. all got used as bait for bigger fish :D:D
    and then there is my first sea trout 7lbs 7oz
    seatroutec0.jpg

its either quantity or quality with me :D:D:D:D

What happened to you Steve? You managed to shave that morning!!:D

aye.. i did :D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭SpringerF

so close..........so close....................so close

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

a fine mornings tenching returned a total of 10 between two with a combined weight of 30lb i think --- cant remember actually...and there is one tench missing from the picture!

all caught in the space of 3 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Some Browns from last week.

2rmbpsz.jpg

Pike caught on a copper spoon last weekend in Mullingar.
    Came like a sack of spuds to the boat though, only started scrapping when she saw the net:)

Settle a bet lads, as I forgot the scales and my mate blanked he (enviously) puts it at around 8lbs, I say a low double!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Caught a 65kg tuna on Friday.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

sorry for the delay, caught off Mauritius, 65kg yellow fin tuna

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭arctictree

Traumadoc wrote:
    sorry for the delay, caught off Mauritius, 65kg yellow fin tuna

Wow - thats some fish! What was the fight like???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

20 kilo hammerhead in Lanzarote last week,pic to follow..