Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Taxi refuse to travel 3 miles.Guards refuse to help

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Seloth wrote: »
    sigh Sofiztikated read the enite thread before making a fecking slash...and actually they have to!,A friends dad once asked and they refused ended up breaking his arm and the guards got in **** for it...I guess its if your in more of a bad state((But have to if you feel your indangered

I did read the thread.

You were out, wanted to get home, taxi wouldn't go due to dangerous conditions, you believed some bull**** urban legend about how Gardi are supposed to bring you home if you ask, they swiftly told you to piss off.

They may escort you home if they believe you are a danger to yourself or others, but more likely a night in the cells.

Why didn't you organise a way home before you went out, especially seeing as it was so bad on the roads?

And Jesus, your posts make my eyes bleed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,568 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...and heh tbh a friend said to me they apparnetly got rid of it :rolleyes:...bleh who knowns heh.

But eyah tere abd enough here tood,My Dad whos farm is 20 mins awya near another town had to abandon his jeep a good bit from it on his way from here too there as they were too bad...apparently there were quite a few as well...while the rain yesterday cleared it up...yesterday..Its now forzen over again heh.

With the greatest of respect to you (and best wishes of the time of year that it is) I find it hard to understand some of what you typed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

:rolleyes: Another thread about someone who went on their yearly night out and complains non stop about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

oK the 2nd part is bad but the first part is heh as in a laugh and tbh is to be honest,which is commonely used on this and many other forums.Sorry though,I do have terrible typing skills :o

Why didn't you organise a way home before you went out, especially seeing as it was so bad on the roads?

Because I never thought that the taxi service would refuse to give me service.

Jesus Sofiztikated,you seem to be taking this really personally
    Another thread about someone who went on their yearly night out and complains non stop about it!

I just made one complaint :P,rest of the posts are me defending myself :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Jesus OP be lucky you didnt have to cycle home drunk.Thats an experience I don't ever want to have to re-live.

As always when drunk,seemed like a great idea at the time.

Actually I was just reminded about storys people told me of when they drove tractors and such in clubs and all that back in "ye old Ireland"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Actually I was just reminded about storys people told me of when they drove tractors and such in clubs and all that back in "ye old Ireland"
    I live in Tipperary:oI'll say no more....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Seloth viewpost.gif
    ...and heh tbh a friend said to me they apparnetly got rid of it rolleyes.gif...bleh who knowns heh.

But eyah tere abd enough here tood,My Dad whos farm is 20 mins awya near another town had to abandon his jeep a good bit from it on his way from here too there as they were too bad...apparently there were quite a few as well...while the rain yesterday cleared it up...yesterday..Its now forzen over again heh.

Biggins wrote: »
    With the greatest of respect to you (and best wishes of the time of year that it is) I find it hard to understand some of what you typed.

Its Ulster-Scots I understand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Exactly 1 year ago to night ( Christmas Eve 2008) my friend's brother could not get a taxi to take him home from a country pub, decided to walk and was 100 mtrs. from home when he was knocked down, he is now paralyzed from the neck down.

One thing I always got my kids to promise me when they were going out for the night was that they would not walk home.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Fair enough the guards not taking you home, but not giving yourself and a friend a place to kip is bolloxology of the highest order.

I have a friend who is a guard and he was saying something similar happened in the station he was posted to first. Two guys couldn't get to either of their places because of ice. The guards let them into the station, sat them down and fed them tea and biscuits all night and let them kip in one of the cells, then they drove them home the next morning. It might be outside the rules (and I know they can't take every homeless person off the street) but if one or two normal people got in a bind, and they're not taking the piss, let them crash in a cell. Sure the fire brigade offered to let me stay in their station if they couldn't find a taxi for me when I was in the same situation.

Also, a friend with a house offered his spare room to some random (non-mental looking) guy who lost his phone, friends and money. The guy refused, but people can be nice. And I'd have expected the guards to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

snowman707 wrote: »
    Exactly 1 year ago to night ( Christmas Eve 2008) my friend's brother could not get a taxi to take him home from a country pub, decided to walk and was 100 mtrs. from home when he was knocked down, he is now paralyzed from the neck down.

One thing I always got my kids to promise me when they were going out for the night was that they would not walk home.

Same thing happened to a relation of mine. He fell down on a back road and the driver of a truck thought it was a black plastic bag and drove over him.

This time of the year is always horrible getting taxis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

So her I am stuck docn town when my friend said try the guards...so I walk over and ask them is there anything I can do cause neither taxi base will bring me out and I cant getme out and they said "Sorry cant help you"

This a bit of a b***ks tbh.

I know this is AH but the truth is the Guards are not insured to take you home. Apologies for the straight laced post. I'll leave now:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭west101

if you are in tramore on a night out the tramore taxis wont take you to waterford but if youre in waterford the waterford taxis will take you to tramore. Surely this has to be against regulations for the tramore taxis.

Buceph wrote: »
    Fair enough the guards not taking you home, but not giving yourself and a friend a place to kip is bolloxology of the highest order.

In all fairness though I never would have expected the taxis not to drive out this far,Tis my first winter of being able to go out if thats any excuse so never had to get a late taxi at this time of year.

What the Guards and Fire Brig did was very nice in your post:D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

It was quitesilly for me too go out,both the parents realy didnt like the idea of me doing it but hey,I thought to myself Your only young once:D.

There were people outside after sliding on the pavements on their bums and chests.

and heh tbh a friend said to me they apparnetly got rid of it :rolleyes:...bleh who knowns heh.

Hmmm, yet you expect a taxi driver in a bog standard saloon to take you take you home on the same roads. methinks thou protesteth too much to take much notice of!